We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location and lobby”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The locations is great with tons of shopping and restaurants near by. Also close to various transportation and they had taxis lines up every time I needed one. Gorgeous lobby and meeting rooms on the 36th floor are impressive with majestic views. Service was very good. Rooms were nothing special but good and the automatic shades were kind of cool (once I figured them out). I would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Joey S,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and the view from the top floor. Your business is much appreciated and we would love to have you visit us again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,116
    1,681
    538
    167
    110
See reviews for
1,066
1,365
235
1,308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Have stayed hear many times, mostly in the '99-'05 timeframe, stopped because the rooms and decor were both dated & worn. The remodel (not sure exactly when done) has brought this hotel, which is in a fantastic location, up to snuff. The bed was super comfortable with quality linens, god lighting and desk space, remote controlled blinds, nice big flat screen tv; even though I was only there one night, was very comforable. As everyone else has said, this is a great location for SF shopping, getting to BART or Cable cars to go everywhere. One note, the regency club hours are a bit minimal... wish it was open all day, like most international Grand Hyatt properties; also, I understand and appreciate the need to conserve water, but the flow from the showerhead was really weak and since it came out of a handheld, had to press nose to pipe to get under it to scrub all the shampoo out.

Room Tip: nn17 & 18 rooms have views overlooking Union Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

As others have mentioned, this is an excellent location. I've stayed in the nearby Westin (great history, but dated) and Hyatt.

A work colleague booked our meeting at this hotel, and I was really impressed.

At just $185/night, the rooms were a bargain. The decor was modern and clean, with some amazing artwork in the lobby and bar. My room was spacious with a large, comfortable bed. My only minor complaint was that the water pressure could have been a little stronger, but it was fine.

The bar was above average for a hotel, and the live music was a nice bonus. The drinks were a little pricey, but not unreasonable for SF.

The highlight was the views from the meeting rooms on the 36th floor. Amazing 360 views.

While my loyalties are normally with Starwood hotels, I'll definitely stay here next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear TwoWas,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the artwork recently installed at the hotel. The view from the 36th floor is definitely one of the best in the city and glad you had a chance to check it out. We appreciate your business and we hope Hyatt will gain your loyalty over time. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyogo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Nothing to have as a downside. Was not a bargain, but San Francisco hotels are pricey any way. A short walk from the BART stations Powell St and another one. Wondered whether it would be easier to get into town by taxi with big suitcases, but didn't need to worry about that. Pulling along big suitcases was no problem for the short walk from the station, and there's a lift from the station floor to the street on ground level, so you won't have to carry it, and the BART wasn't too crowded either. Room was nice an spacious enough, had a great view overlooking the Square, just as the reception staff promised with a great warm smile. Plenty of nice places to pick up breakfast at beside, and a lot of shops and restaurants open till late at night in a very safe looking neibourhood. One small regret is that I didn't get more of Ghirardelli's chocolate squares at a great bargain at Walgreens! Did the Big Bus hop-on-hop-off as well, that we started from the Square as well. China-town was just a few blocks away and just a short stroll.
All in all, I think it was the 'niceness' of the staff that made this hotel a really nice place to stay. They really made me feel welcome without overdoing it or being too posh about it. They even have yoga mat rentals (for free I think, but don't quite remember), if you want to join the San Francisco locals with keeping fit.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor, but the view was still great. Could see far off towards the Bay, since i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim-tam-tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear tim-tam-tam,

We appreciate you took the time to write us a review. Sounds like you had a fun time exploring San Francisco and experienced the different neighborhoods near the hotel. I'm particular happy to read your comment about our staffs and glad you enjoyed the view from your room! We can't wait for you to come back and visit us in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The best location in SF -

Pros.
- The property is located in Union Square
- Remodel of the property just finished and it is stunning
- The rooms are huge for SF standards
- Every room will have a view
- They have one of the best Grand Hyatt Lounges in Americas
- Staff is outstanding at the front desk
- Usually pretty solid in pricing and well worth its value
- City parking garage across the street (Parked overnight on a Sat. for only $18!)
- Gym is on the 28th floor (or something like that) and is huge!
- Some of the best views from a hotel in SF (Maybe minus Fairmont SF and Westin)
- Way better than any Marriott property in SF

Cons.
- The bathroom sinks are useless and get water everywhere
- Room shades are fun, but not practical
- Elevators can be slow at times, but they have improved
- It is an uphill walk slightly for a half a block to get back (but hey its SF)
- Rooms can get a bit loud from outside
- Front door staff is a bit lazy

Overall, what a great property! The remodel is amazing, I was trying to get a suite but no dice as they were all sold out - but I saw the inside of one and just amazing. Upgrade to a Grand Hyatt Lounge access room - man that lounge is fantastic and has jaw dropping views.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better - get a Grand Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reinventtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear reinventtravel,

Thanks for the detailed review! Great to hear you enjoyed the view from your room and the amenities offered at the Grand Club Lounge! We appreciate your feedback on some of the concerns you had and will definitely share with the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cow country, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked two rooms here for myself and a friend and my 23-year old daughter and her friend.
They stayed two nights and we stayed three. I'm a big Hyatt fan so I always try to stay at a Hyatt because the service is always top notch and the locations are typically great.

We checked in early Friday morning about 10 AM--much earlier than the 3 PM p.m. check in time. The staff placed us in rooms on the 26th and 27th floors. The view was fantastic! The only issue we had with the rooms with that the air conditioning was not sufficient. I had engineering come up twice and it was never really resolved although they did offer to move us to another room.

This property has a great location right in the middle of Union Square--with tons of shopping and restaurants nearby and Starbucks right across the street. This is a perfect city for walking and we sure did a lot of it while we were there for four days.

This Hyatt has a very nice wine bar and the package we booked included a buffet breakfast which was delicious. The staff is very accommodating and everyone's pretty friendly. This may be our new favorite hotel in San Francisco!

Room Tip: Ask to be placed on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palepinkribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I'm a local - living just North of 'the city' as locals like to call it and stayed in town one night because my business meetings would run long. Had been awhile since I had stayed here and they have redecorated. Uber modern - vessel sinks - pretty to look at, not so convenient if you need counter space to lay out your grooming supplies - ladies you know what I mean. But not a big deal. As all the previous travelers state - get a high room for two reasons: street noise (SF is a busy city and this is a very busy area) and views. Don't bring a car if you can help it. Why? For one thing this area is very pedestrian friendly with tons of restaurants/shopping w/i walking distance, secondly the traffic is a bear downtown and third it will cost you $62/night for valet and $41/night to self-park. The rooms are fine - nice touch is that all controls are right at your headboard - electrically controlled sun shade, lights, etc. Plenty of plug ins for electronics. Big picture windows. Union Square is just down the street, with a huge Macy's as well as many, many other shopping opportunities. Starbucks located in the hotel for your morning fix. Nice choice for staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKD1BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Grand Hyatt San Francisco for your overnight stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our remodeled guestroom and the amenities offered. I must agree with you parking in downtown San Francisco can be expensive, so public transportation is definitely a great alternative way. We appreciate you took the time to write us a review and hope you could stay longer on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,903 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,166 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#53 of 229 in San Francisco
4,340 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing