We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and rooms..hotel note: cleaners should not start banging on door at 8.30am”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for x5 nights on my honeymoon and we were very happy with the level of service and room size. Excellent location too.
Our only criticism was the pillows...way too soft we stayed on level 3 and asked twice to be placed on a higher floor. The cleaners started vacuuming outside our door and asking for cleaning at 8.30am!!! Way too early.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melbs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,465 - 2,471 of 4,875 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were very happy with our recent stay at the Grand Hyatt. We spent the extra money to get the "city view on a higher floor" and were happy with Room 2803 - very neat city view. The hotel lobby was ALWAYS very busy, no matter what time of day. I would highly recommend doing the web check-in and web check-out (which we did, and it was very easy and efficient).

The bed was relatively soft, so it wasn't the best night of sleep, but the pillows were amazing, and the overall level of the room was great...very modern and updated. Extremely clean.

Transportation in the area was pretty easy...we took a bus a few blocks from the hotel to get down to the Alcatraz tour pier, took a trolley car on our way back, and were close to the BART to go to/from the airport. We even took a Metro to AT&T Park for a Giants game, and then just walked back, which wasn't bad.

Although we didn't use it, we checked out the hotel's gym, which was GREAT!!! We wish we had a gym like this to use...amazing view from the gym too, as it was on the 2nd floor from the top. You can also go up to the top floor for a wonderful view of the city.

Great stay, and we felt it was a good value for the level of hotel, especially as compared to other area hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floors are worth the added expense...great views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jayme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

When looking for a place to stay there are usually a few brands that you can count on to provide a nice upscale room in a great location. Hyatt is one of those brands. We booked a king room with a city and bay view. The room was very clean and was furnished in a modern tone. The rooms are not large but they are adequately sized. We had some amazing evening views of the city and the bay.The hotel also has a nice bar area that is very relaxing. We did not dine at the hotel because we met some friends for dinner near the wharf. We also left the next day very early to make a drive to Lake Tahoe so we did not have breakfast at the hotel. I felt this hotel is in a great location no matter what you want to do in SF. The only complaint I have is one regarding a hotel staff member. My wife left her cell phone in our room and we realized this about 50 feet from our room when we were leaving. One of the cleaning staff saw us leave the room and then when we asked to be let into the room to get her phone, the staff person refused and told us we needed to go to the front desk. I was kind of irritated because she saw us leave the room with our luggage. If we were not the room tenants, what were we doing in that room? She could have called the front desk to verify that we were the guests in that room and that would have saved me the trip down many floors and then back up again. But by midday I changed my mind and realized she was just doing her job. It was clearly our fault for not making sure we had everything with us when we left the room. I will definitely stay here again when in SF.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This. Hyatt is direct on Union Sq and has a good overall quality. The standard rooms are small but clean and kind of modern. The side with the bay view is great, wake up in the morning with sunshine, the bed quality is excellent . The lobby is a negative point, very small and not that many seats too. Not convenient for some talk meetings. The service is good but not over friendly. Overall a good business and (premium) tourist hotel. It can be pricy in the hot season and when the city is booked well. The gym is good and has a great view of the bay.

Room Tip: Higher floors with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hahee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

First time in San Francisco and this hotel exceeded our expectations. Great location and the room was beautiful. It had a nice view and the restaurant was good. The customer service from the staff was excellent, very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Room was great with breathtaking city view. Room service was excellent - most of all we enjoyed the delicious breakfast - the location is so central with Union Square a few steps away -- would definitely choose Hyatt when back in San Francisco

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 689nesrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The check-in was fast and friendly, the lobby was modern and tasteful, and the rooms were classic and comfortable. The views from the top floor (all conference rooms) was worth the elevator ride - don't miss the chance! The location was close to shopping, a park and a cable-car stop. The room had electric shades that could be dropped to make the room totally dark or you could leave them open for a view of the city lights. The only thing that was less than excellent was the work-out facility. Stationary machines in the actual work-out room, but to lift weights, stretch or do yoga you were in the hallway where the elevators opened up.

Room Tip: I would not recommend getting a room with a connecting door as it is easy to hear the other person t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradobetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,742 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
4,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
3,016 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £141 - £642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing