We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the shades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoy the shades”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four nights on business. The staff was friendly, courteous and attentive. The black out shades were wonderful - and worked. The bathroom was clean and the rooms offered ample plug-ins for charging your equipment. It is an easy place to stay connected with the office, or tune all that out and enjoy the city. There is lots of storage options - you can really unpack and move-in the room!

The location is nice - but at the time of my stay (June 2014) there was a great deal of construction in the immediate area. Not in the hotel and no reflection on the hotel at all, just worth noting in a review if you are looking at staying in Union Square are it will be loud and streets crowded.

This location was far enough away from Moscone for me to be able to get some fresh air and experience a bit of the city - but very close to everything and anything the city has to offer.

All in all I enjoyed my stay and the amenities of my room. I would say this is a pretty sexy hotel - an excellent place for couples wanting a getaway!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,116
    1,681
    538
    167
    110
See reviews for
1,066
1,365
235
1,308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Following a warm greeting by one of the front desk staff and following the efficient check in I got to my room on the 24th floor
The room was modern well equipped with a fantastic view with some nice touches like the jug of milk ,lemon wedge , books on the shelf , electronic window blind .
Bed was comfortable I had an adjoining door ,there was some brief noise from the people next door , the bathroom was clean and stylish
I liked the bar with the elegant staircase leading to it ,good service and nice reasonably priced food and drink
The hotel is in a very good location being just off Union square ,everything you need is in walking distance
From the doorman ,front desk staff,bar staff ,and house keeping everyone I came into contact with was friendly and helpful ,this is a really excellent and well run high class hotel
I look forward to my next visit

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tcasLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. Sounds like check in was a breeze and you had a great time exploring the Union Square neighborhood! Your compliment on our staffs is much appreciated and I'll be sure to share your kind words with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Very good location, near union square. A little bit noisy at night as you are in the town center, but if you are in a higher floors then this should be fine. Breakfast was average with croissants & Danishes being dry, but scrambled eggs tasting nice. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The rooms in this property were spacious and had lots of preprogrammed buttons for lighting, shades and such.

My room was on the 32nd floor. Each room has a sliding glass door that opens slightly to allow fresh air in. My door didn't seal properly so he sound of Union Square far below came in to my room rather loudly. Other than that than it was a wonderful stay.

If you are there for meetings, the elevators don't go to the meeting room levels. Also, the elevators can get overwhelmed with people if there is a meeting at has just let out. But, I would definitely stay here again.

I took the BART in from SFO and the hotel is an easy walk from the Powell stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Here on a trip with my partner, thought this hotel would be nice. It is nice, no doubt, but it severely lacks soul and the staff also seem very indifferent about everything. Do not get me wrong. They are in no way rude. Just lacking some happiness.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Detlef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Flew down for a long weekend in SF. Grand Hyatt Union Sq was perfect! We upgraded to the club level and that was an awesome plus. Location to BART, great Union Sq shopping, and easy access to Waterfront and Pier 39 was all awesome. Hotel was very nice and inviting and rooms very spacious and luxurious. Never had to wait for a cab out front and hotel staff was excellent. We won't stay anywhere else on our next trip and highly recommend to all who visit SF.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled you had such a great time! Glad you enjoyed our ideal location and the Club level. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the3rdrock
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Check in / out: coldly efficient. No smiles. At all.

Mezzanine lounge: good business lunch menu, restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. Bar staff were hopeless. Mostly hanging about polishing glasses avoiding customer eye contact. On one evening we asked them for a 2nd round of drinks and they said wait. 45 mins later we gave up and left the table.

Rooms: smallish "upgraded" room facing union sq with construction so a bit noisy. Barely any amenities - had to call for bathrobe, slippers, shower cap, you name it. And they never brought the slippers. Major cost cutting ?

Conference staff on the top floor and the ballroom seemed stressed and verging on rude. On one occasion they mixed up lunch orders for two groups - the waiter actually took my half eaten plate out of my hand and said: you can't have that.

FAb views from the top and the Club. Not sure id pay us$100 for access to the club but we were given 50% discount which was ok - and better value than the ridiculously priced room service menu for breakfast - even by 5* hotel standards.

Gym was ok - pretty basic but just about acceptable.

Good location, newly renovated, but just over priced and disappointing staff in my view compared to other Grand Hyatts. Westin Market St round the corner was a much better experience overall.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bonoglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,905 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,166 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#53 of 229 in San Francisco
4,336 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing