We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont' stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Im a DIAMOND GP member. I used to stay here but not anymore. Why? Because its noisy. Nearly all are connecting rooms and when hotel is full you can hear that person do EVERYTHING. Noise comes through door since there is huge gap. Also walls are thin. Gap under front door is thin. No turndown service. Housekeeping sloppy. They want to get through rooms as fast as possible, Room service is bad and pricey. Have to call for ameneties. Noise from union square. Noise fro wind. Clientele level is riff raff. Stay at Four Seasons instead.

Room Tip: Stay non connected room away from Union Sq.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jinnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,319 - 2,325 of 4,822 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just spent two nights at this gorgeous property and hated to leave. The room (a suite) was lovely and comfortable, great shower (with one of the things in the corner for shaving legs) and the bed was super comfy. For those with access, the Grand Club Lounge, was wonderful for drinks in the evening (it's nice to be trusted with an honor bar) and "continental" breakfast (but SO much more than typical continental). Another home run with Hyatt.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sgkorwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent 2 nights here and the location was perfect as I like to walk a lot when I'm traveling. It was really easy to get around union square from here. We were minutes away from the cable car and other public transportation too if you want explore other neighborhoods like North Beach, etc.

The rooms were clean and the staff was pretty nice, but that shouldn't matter too much right? You won't be spending much time in your room anyway!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is recently renovated. Lobby, bar and common areas are all terrific. Room was nice and plenty large enough for 2. Seems like some rooms have great views, although ours on the 5th floor was non existent.

Part we liked best was across the street from Union Square. Cable cars were around the corner, BART station 3 blocks away or so as was the F line street car (both walking distance)

It really is a perfect spot to stay at to explore the city.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank snackbar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel or its staff. This was a very special romantic weekend, and everything needed to be perfect. As it turned out, it was even better than that. The room was spacious and very beautiful and the service throughout the hotel was impeccable. Had we left the room, the location would have been convenient for everything. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RBC997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the lovely compliment! Glad your romantic getaway was flawless and you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll be sure to share your review with the entire staff! Hope to see you come back soon for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed there for 3 weeks in June &July.

Hyatt's location is perfect for touristic vacation. It is in the middle of everything. You can easily reach to touristic places, shops and restaurants. When you are tired, you can go back to Hotel quickly to relax.

Rooms are large with nice view, elevators are fast, breakfast is delicious, bed is comfy..

But staff is best. Manager, frontdesk, bellmen, doormen, cleaning ladies, all staff of OneUp restaurant.. I hope I did not forget anyone.

Everyone tries their best to make your stay special and enjoyable. 3 weeks stay is very long and for problems arise, they were always available for solution.

Thanks a lot for everything.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMH_Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us for 3 weeks! It is great to hear you enjoyed the hotel accommodation and convenient location. We are truly proud to have such a great group of associates who care for our guests and deliver excellent service on a daily basis. Your compliment is very much appreciated and I'll be sure to share your comment with the entire staff. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent two nights in San Francisco to kick off an eight day California vacation. I looked at a lot of hotels before choosing the Grand Hyatt. The best things about this property are its location just up the hill from Union Square, the modern, clean feel to the property and the professional staff, doormen, etc. The room itself (10th floor, cityview, 2 beds) was a little small, though nicely furnished. I found the beds to be too plush, not firm enough. The bathroom door was a sliding door that didn't have a lock - not ideal when there are kids in the room!

For those who don't know San Francisco, if you take the BART from the airport (SFO) its about $9 and you get off at the Powell Street station and then walk uphill to Union Square, not an easy climb with luggage, cross Union Square and then go up another 50 yards to the hotel entrance. The walk was maybe 10 minutes, but Powell is pretty crowded most of the day. The cable car lines all run near the property, but the lines at Powell are ridiculous.

Anyhow, I was expecting a little something more from the Grand Hyatt. It had some nice aspects, including a nice sitting area in the lobby and a good happy hour in a nice restaurant/bar area ($4 wine glasses, beer pints), but all in all I think I may have been a little happier in a boutique property.

Room Tip: Our city view room on the 10th floor was nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matrepok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,715 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4,545 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
2,987 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £158 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing