We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed five nights recently and really enjoyed our time there. Not overly in love with the lobby. It is a little sterile and not very welcoming. But the rooms are good and the Club and its staff are great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelbugtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,767)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,227 - 2,233 of 4,768 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Checked in a bit early, our room was not ready. Offered a City View room or could store our luggage until our Bay View room was ready. Wanted the view so went out for the afternoon, came back to the hotel, waited for our bags to be brought up. Nice room, quite basic, lovely view. Bathroom looked brand new - sink nearly as big as the bath! No fan in the bathroom so after showers the whole room and all windows steamed up.
Went to bed and could hear the guests in the the rooms over the corridor talking and laughing. The windows in the rooms weren't sealed correctly and the road noise and the consturction noise in the morning was very loud and woke us up. I know its a city environment but up on the 23rd floor we didn't expect it to be so loud.
Conceirge was very helpful.
Overall was ok but would think twice about staying here again

Room Tip: Bay View room, higher floors for better view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ad4nad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had booked a room for 4 nights on club floor but when arrived at 10 pm we were told that all club rooms are full and they can give us a club room only next day but allowed us to use club lounge. Next day when we went to reception in the morning we were told that they would give our club room only after 3 pm with no gurantee of city view which we had requested and which was there in our present room. The most shocking thing they told us was that we had to empty out our present room by 12 noon,keep our luggage in their storage and then shift to our new room. This absurd process would have wasted our entire day so we decided to stay back in our present room only. This was least expected from a Grand Hyatt property. The safe locker in the room was almost on ground level. Every time I had to sit on floor to open/close it. The breakfast in club lounge was upto 10 AM. At 9.55 the staff would tell the the guests that in next 5 min they would remove everything and at sharp 10 they would actually do it. The result was that guests would fill up their plates 5/10 min before 10 beyond their needs and then waste the food. This was horrible experience. Now some good things. Location was excellent right next to everything in San Francisco.The room was clean,looking newly renovated. The concierge staff was very helpful. The Union Station area is better place to stay than Fisherman Warf.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor have got much better view though it costs a little more. I did not care for ba...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BalkrishnaShroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than ideal experience. We will definitely use your comment as an example to retrain our staffs on handling similar situation. A private message has been sent to you for more information about your experience. Look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Spent 4 days here during a business conference. Great location for all activities within and nearby the city center. Room was modern and very clean. Service was attentive where ever I ran into staff. Easy walk to many tourist attractions.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TCWASHDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

So much nice things to say about the Hotel and staff . Our 2 nights stay was enjoyable . Everyone is friendly , great food and clean property . We will be back . Thank you Grand Hyatt and staff . We would like to send a special thank to Jessica - Front desk Manager and In room Dining crew.Great Job !

Try the One Up restaurant new menu too .

Room Tip: !Try to request a corner room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gottogonow2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spent two nights at the Grand Hyatt in San Francisco at Union Station. Great location, beautiful accommodations and excellent staff. The concierge was outstanding and suggested terrific tours and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marsha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Grand Hyatt is pretty well located for all the things you may want to do while in the big city. It is easily accessed from SFO via the BART, however take the elevator up to Powell street rather than the stairs when lugging a 53lb suitcase. The Grand Hyatt has gone through an make over recently and are adopting the "Personal" check in. No more long reception bar. Frankly, when we arrived they were swamped and unfortunately did not have enough "Personal Check In Folks" to assist us. However, they did get it going and we were checked in and up to our room. We requested the highest floor possible, but only ended up on the 23rd floor. Even so, our Bay View was awesome.

We decided to bounce downstairs to the OneUp Lounge and partake of a beverage and a quick munchie.. drinks were fine, but the food was average at best. On the food front, we did get a pizza via room service which was actually pretty decent, albeit $36 bucks. When we ordered a pizza delivered from Uncle Vitos down the street, it was less expensive, but no where near as tasty as our room service pie. We stopped in the lobby a couple of times for breakfast sammys and Starbucks which were quite good as well.

Our rooms were always fresh and clean when we returned to them after a long day of sight seeing and partying. We got some robes and a razor since I had forgotten mine delivered to our room at no charge. The lobby was a nice area to sit back and share a bottle of wine with our friends, with very interesting art pieces through out. What was interesting in our room was the sink in the bathroom. Very retro modern and was not as functional as a normal sink. We seemed to always sloosh water around the sink area

The staff all were friendly enough and the door man who looked like a walking fridge was always very helpful and quick with a hello every time we left and came back. He was one big guy!

Room Tip: As for a high floor to stay away from the noise of construction
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jensoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
4,493 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,687 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,976 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £162 - £593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing