We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjpyed my stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #40 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjpyed my stay here”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed at the hotel in December last year. The hotel was rather packed as it was Christmas season. However, service was still good and check in was quick and efficient. On Christmas morning, we found a stocking with chocolates and candies on our door. It was a very sweet gesture. The location is really good. Room was huge, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowwies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,116
    1,681
    538
    167
    108
See reviews for
1,066
1,365
235
1,307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Earth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Do not expect Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton or Mandarin standards here. Also do not mistake the much better Hyatt International hotels with it´s inferior American counterparts. This is a huge hotel primarily catering towards tourist and conventioneers. Rooms are pretty basic and and on the small side but clean, contemporary and recently refurbished with windows that can be opened. Hyatt beds are usually to soft for me, so if f you prefer hard beding you will be disappointed. Housekeeping did a good job to clean the room. Otherwise service is between OK and non-existing. Location is great for sightseeing and much better than Fisherman’s Wharf IMO. Noise level was tolerable on the 27th floor but I needed earplugs to sleep trough. If you get a good deal on the room rate or a room on one of the higher floors facing towards the north or east you will be fine. But if you pay 400 $ per night for a 4th floor room facing the Sir Francis Drake Hotel you might feel ripped-off.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoshiDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt recently. Excellent location, centrally located. The One Up restaurant serves a great breakfast with excellent servers. Upon request for chicken sausage, which was not part of the breakfast buffet, the server and chef quickly heated up the sausage and brought it to our table. The room in general is nice with padded bedding with good housekeeping staff. But the bathroom can use some improvements: 1. not enough hooks - with only 2 hooks and no towel bars, you need to get creative where to put your change of clothes and hand towel, your bath towel etc. 2. the bathtub has no handle or treading to help steady yourself as you step in and out - an accident waiting to happen ! Electrical outlets are scarce. We only found 2 electrical outlets in the room. The electrical outlets for a floor lamp and a desk lamp were both (mysteriously) behind some paneling !?? In this era of devices, 2 outlets may not be enough to recharge your phone, your computer, your iPad, your camera, etc. Better bring your own power strip !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chenx019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed the central location of our hotel and the service provided. We appreciate your comment about the lack of hooks and the potential hazard of the tub, it will be reviewed by our management team. Besides the electrical outlet next to the TV, there are 2 outlets located on the inside of each night stand. The location of these outlets maybe difficult to locate and we apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger - Norway
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Not excellent, not bad – just what you expect from a Grand Hyatt Hotel.
Big rooms and very corporate. We got a room with a nice view towards Alcatraz, which was nice.


The hotel has a very good location. As a tourist, I will recommend staying around Union Square and not Fisherman’s Wharf – which is better for a stroll daytime

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knutegutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here two nights in conjunction with a conference at the Moscone Center. There was a line at check-in, but it went quickly. Instead of the normal registration counter, there are several individual stations to register. My 20th floor room was nice with a view of the city and bay in the distance. It was quiet and clean with free wifi. I am glad I read on a previous review that the room had black-out shades and where to find the controls (on either side of the headboard), because otherwise I would not have known. There is no standard guidebook in your room to the hotel and area - instead everything is provided through the TV which has a mouse on the remote. I did not eat at the hotel, but did have a nice dinner a block away at the Cheesecake Factory located on an upper floor in Macys. While you are waiting for your table you can walk outside and view the area and Union Square. There was a Korean festival going on in the Square and it was quite colorful. If you are into shopping, all the major players are clustered around and close to Union Square. We also had breakfast right around the corner from the hotel at Lori's Diner - a 1950's style diner. What's not to love about a diner with a full-size Edsel in the middle of the restaurant. Cheap and good. The hotel is also a very short walk to Chinatown and the tons of shops and eateries there. I am glad our convention had shuttle service to the Moscone CC, because otherwise it would have been a little hike. All in all, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for a better view and less street/construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozark214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed five nights recently and really enjoyed our time there. Not overly in love with the lobby. It is a little sterile and not very welcoming. But the rooms are good and the Club and its staff are great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Checked in a bit early, our room was not ready. Offered a City View room or could store our luggage until our Bay View room was ready. Wanted the view so went out for the afternoon, came back to the hotel, waited for our bags to be brought up. Nice room, quite basic, lovely view. Bathroom looked brand new - sink nearly as big as the bath! No fan in the bathroom so after showers the whole room and all windows steamed up.
Went to bed and could hear the guests in the the rooms over the corridor talking and laughing. The windows in the rooms weren't sealed correctly and the road noise and the consturction noise in the morning was very loud and woke us up. I know its a city environment but up on the 23rd floor we didn't expect it to be so loud.
Conceirge was very helpful.
Overall was ok but would think twice about staying here again

Room Tip: Bay View room, higher floors for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ad4nad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 228 in San Francisco
2,900 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,160 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#53 of 228 in San Francisco
4,335 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing