We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 nights - Nice Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights on the club level. The room (3005) was spacious with a great view of Coit Tower and the bay. Overall, the staff were helpful, the room was clean, and the accommodations were modern and comfortable.

We used the club room on the 32nd floor extensively as there was no mini bar (empty fridge) and no water provided in the room. The club room was well staffed with free non alcoholic beverages (honor bar) and snacks throughout the day. If you stay on this level you should definitely utilize.

The real plus of this hotel is the location. Very convenient to Chinatown, downtown, and next door to Union Square.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room and the convenient location of our hotel. As part of our green initiative, we have removed all bottle waters from our guestrooms. We encourage our guests to bring their own water bottle and refill it at our hydration station on each guest floor. Your compliment on our staffs and accommodation is much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,333 - 2,339 of 4,923 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was having building work going on during our stay. The room that we were put in at first was very small and had an awful view. Our first night we were kept awake by building/construction work going on just outside the hotel. I complained the next day and luckily we were upgraded to a room with a view of Union Square which was much bigger. The gym is amazing with great views of the city. The location is ideal. Right outside Union Square and Macys!

Room Tip: The room with a view of Union Square was much better than the standard room they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leo138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just finished a quick family trip to San Francisco. As usual, had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hyatt. Immaculate rooms, attentive staff. Special recognition to David and Jimmy on the evening shift in the Grand Club, who continually go above and beyond to ensure an excellent experience for guests. We will be back again and can't wait!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you had such an awesome time with us and I'll be sure to share your compliment with David and Jimmy! Can't wait to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely rooms excellent reception staff made welcome . Excellent location though at moment huge construction work nearby,though we were there at weekend and didn't effect us .We arrived at 8.am and staff did all they could to get us a room asap as we d had a overnight flight .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BOBPLANE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I was in and out very quickly - one night stay. Everything was perfect. Highly recommend this to anyone that wants a downtown location in the city.

I did the regency club - very nice. Got to watch a football game with snacks in the afternoon and had breakfast available but I did not partake.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Nesster05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location, right next to Union Square, the rooms are big and clean, very quiet for its central location, but i feel it was a little bit pricey.

Basically at walking distance of restaurants and shops,

Try to get a room with a view to the square, it's amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank elkeopina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is our 2nd time staying at the Grand Hyatt San Fran since last summer. Our room #2923 has a city view but not directly facing Union Square so the noise level from all the construction below and the winds hitting the glass doors have reduced dramatically. Of course, one can still hear the sirens but don't forget we are right in the heart of Union Square and the location of this property cannot get any better. Within a block, you have Macy's and Saks Fifth Avenue, within 2 or 3 blocks, there is the Westfield Mall with Bloomingdales and Nordstroms. Walk 10 mins and you are at Chinatown and what is even more convenient is that it is only a 3 min walk away from a laundromat. There are so so many great restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel along with many Walgreens and little grocery type stores that also sell liquor.

Our room is great with automated black out drapes and sheers; coffee maker; bar sized fridge; ample lighting;flatscreen TV; free wi fi in room which is very quick this year; and a room safe.
The two double beds (not queen sized unfortunately) were very comfortable (a bit on the softer side) but made a lot of creaking noises as you get up from it though. We especially enjoyed the duvet and there is also an extra pillow and woolen blanket in the closet.

The air conditioning in 2923 was fantastic as it worked like a charm and quiet. We always kept it on at 74 to 75 at the lowest level (one bar) for comfort in the evenings because we found anything lower than 74 was quite cold but in the afternoons with the sun beaming on the glass door, we would keep the AC at 71 (one bar) to cool down the room a bit. We love how quiet the AC is in our room.

There was a lot of counter space and a small closet which you could leave one or two valises. The Grand Hyatt thinks about everything as there is an order sheet in the room for you to have any amenities delivered complimentary. Ex: corkscrew; hair brush; razor; toothbrush; woolite; and the list goes on. How great is that!

As for the dining on site, we always enjoy the hotel's happy hour from 5 to 7pm at One Up lounge where excellent Mondavi wine, Canvas, especially bottled for Hyatt is only $4/glass. Our favorite is their merlot which is an excellent choice. Beers are also $4 during happy hour and only their flatbreads are $7 while all other appies are regular priced.
Again, our favorite server at One Up Lounge is Linda, who even remembered us from our last year's visit! We are really impressed with her efficiency, friendliness, and welcoming smile. Thank you Linda!

We also enjoyed the hotel's buffet breakfast a lot and that is because the quality is top notch. It isn't your store bought muffins and pastries like what one would get at some of the other hotels like Embassy Suites, Springhill Suites, and Residence Inns.
We especially enjoyed the Hyatt's french pastries, the little brioches, which were flaky, buttery, and they tasted better than some of the ones I had in Paris, France!
The buffet consists of 3 types of scrambled eggs--plain, cheese with ham, and egg whites with spinach and tomato; bacon, sausages, cheeses, oatmeal, cereals, bagels and breads, french pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit salad, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, and strawberries, and our other favorite is their flapjacks/pancakes. We have never tasted better flapjacks than here at this hotel because they are ever so light and fluffy. It is like eating "clouds"--absolutely delicious!
Those little pancakes at Sears Fine Foods do not even compare or measure up to these at the hotel!
The bottomless coffee is very good and fresh with OJ juices but it is not freshly squeezed.

Our stay is amazing at the Grand Hyatt and no wonder the hotel is s

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful as long as it isn't directly facing Union Square as there is a lot of cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
4,646 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £138 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing