We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #36 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alessandria, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is perfectly located in union square, in my opinion one of the best starting point to visit the town. We had an executive room at the 32nd floor which was big enough. The room is modern and quiet (just some noise from the street). Personally I found very pleasant the executive lounge and the view you can enjoy from there. Of course the rate are not low, but in line with the category and the city.
We always had breakfast at the executive club, which for us offered enough.
The parking with valet is quite expensive (63usd) as well as the self parking (41 Usd).
Probably not the best solution but a good one.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knock_around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,971
    1,614
    503
    158
    96
See reviews for
973
1,295
224
1,238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband, daughter and I just stayed at the Grand Hyatt SF and I would like to comment on the service we received for staying there with our child. We had requested a crib in our room when booking, and without even asking we showed up to a room fully set up for a baby! We had a diaper genie, dish soap, bottle brush, snacks, change pad, baby soap and a rubber duckie to help us with our stay. This was much appreciated as some of these items I hadn't even though to bring. I found out afterwards that this was part of their V.I.B (very important baby) program and I must say it was great! One small complaint is that the fridge was very small, so storing food for our daughter was a little tight. We enjoyed the view from our room (fabulous view of the bay - beautiful at sunset), and the breakfast bar in the morning was a quick and easy way to get started. Hotel was conveniently located and the wifi was very fast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerskate8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
The V.I.B. program has recently launched and it is great to hear such positive feedback from you. We understand how much guests have to bring when traveling with young ones, with some of the basic baby amenities already available at our hotel definitely make it easy for the parents. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights on the club level. The room (3005) was spacious with a great view of Coit Tower and the bay. Overall, the staff were helpful, the room was clean, and the accommodations were modern and comfortable.

We used the club room on the 32nd floor extensively as there was no mini bar (empty fridge) and no water provided in the room. The club room was well staffed with free non alcoholic beverages (honor bar) and snacks throughout the day. If you stay on this level you should definitely utilize.

The real plus of this hotel is the location. Very convenient to Chinatown, downtown, and next door to Union Square.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room and the convenient location of our hotel. As part of our green initiative, we have removed all bottle waters from our guestrooms. We encourage our guests to bring their own water bottle and refill it at our hydration station on each guest floor. Your compliment on our staffs and accommodation is much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was having building work going on during our stay. The room that we were put in at first was very small and had an awful view. Our first night we were kept awake by building/construction work going on just outside the hotel. I complained the next day and luckily we were upgraded to a room with a view of Union Square which was much bigger. The gym is amazing with great views of the city. The location is ideal. Right outside Union Square and Macys!

Room Tip: The room with a view of Union Square was much better than the standard room they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Just finished a quick family trip to San Francisco. As usual, had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hyatt. Immaculate rooms, attentive staff. Special recognition to David and Jimmy on the evening shift in the Grand Club, who continually go above and beyond to ensure an excellent experience for guests. We will be back again and can't wait!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you had such an awesome time with us and I'll be sure to share your compliment with David and Jimmy! Can't wait to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRAWLEY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely rooms excellent reception staff made welcome . Excellent location though at moment huge construction work nearby,though we were there at weekend and didn't effect us .We arrived at 8.am and staff did all they could to get us a room asap as we d had a overnight flight .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOBPLANE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I was in and out very quickly - one night stay. Everything was perfect. Highly recommend this to anyone that wants a downtown location in the city.

I did the regency club - very nice. Got to watch a football game with snacks in the afternoon and had breakfast available but I did not partake.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nesster05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,826 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing