We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely located in Chinatown” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grant Plaza Hotel
Ranked #151 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Lyndon Station, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nicely located in Chinatown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Nice, older hotel. Older. Rooms were quite small but clean. A little TLC wouldn't hurt. Although there is some street noise, the rooms are quiet. There is no air conditioning, but there was a fan in our room. Decent enough, budget friendly place if you want to be in Chinatown.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 2CAPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    242
    288
    105
    100
See reviews for
100
323
86
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our Honeymoon. We drove a rental car from Tahoe. The parking was a little expensive, but it is everywhere in the city. We parked and used Muni and cable cars to get around. The hills in town were very steep all over. No AC in the rooms,but not many places had it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadams76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in room 303 with twin beds for 3 nights. The hotel is centrally located in Chinatown within walking distance to the Powell Street BART station. It is also possible to walk from the hotel to Fisherman's Wharf. The room and the bathroom are smallish but for the price of approximately $110 a night, this place is really value for money. There's no fridge, air conditioning or coffee maker in the room but the hotel offers free coffee in the lobby between 6:30 and 9:30am every morning. There's also free wifi in the room which was nice. The hotel staff were helpful. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Free D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I recently stayed here with my family for 3 nights. Firstly, if you decide to make your own way from the airport then be prepared for a bit of a trek! This hotel is in China Town, which is about 10 minutes walk from the station, and on a very steep hill (made even worse by having to pull your luggage behind you!). My partner and I were fine, but no so great for my mother!

The hotel in is a fantastic location, and most places are easy enough to walk to. If you do require a taxi, do not book one through the hotel. We were quoted $30 for a taxi to Fishermans Wharf. The next morning we waited for ages for our pre booked taxi to show up. As we had Alcatraz tickets, we were short on time so decided to flag one down instead. Not only did we have one within seconds, it only cost us $15 including a tip!

The rooms were ok although in need of some TLC. The beds were fairly comfortable which I was surprised at. Our shower was also decent- running really hot which is needed after a cold day in San Fran! My mothers experience was a little different. Her shower was luke warm and barely had any power. When we asked the guy on reception, he said he'd get it looked at whilst we were out for the day. When we returned he said it had been fixed. We tried it in the room and couldn't get it to work so the guy from reception came back up with the maintenance guy. After a bit of messing around, they could get it to work, however told us there was a 'knack' to it. We tried for awhile and couldn't get it working so my mother and sister ended up using the one in our room. The reception guy was quite rude with us as we couldn't get the 'knack', and not apologetic at all.

When we checked out, we were charged a few dollars more than what I had booked online. When I asked about this, no answer could be given, and even though I showed them the price I'd reserved, they still proceeded to charge me extra??!

Overall the Grant Plaza experience wasn't a good one, but we weren't in the hotel for a long amount of time. The location couldn't be much better and is the main selling point to his hotel. The rooms were as you would expect for the price, but would've been a little nicer though if you felt like you mattered to the staff instead of a bit of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Room was clean but very basic. No a/c (not needed in sept), sheet was torn, desk staff couldn't recommend a restaurant outside of Chinatown. Location cannot be beat. Desk was very friendly.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Bed – 0/5. small uncomfortable and needed a pillow between us to stop rolling in
Room amenities – 1/5. nothing really- chair
Internet – 4/5 easy connect and mostly fast and continuous
Towels etc – 3/5 good condition, but like most hotels a little small
Room size – 1/5 small and risk bumping into stuff trying to get into bed.

The Grant pPlaza is a budget hotel and you get what you pay for in the main, however the bed is very very poor... i would stay again if they had new beds.

Room Tip: we faced onto chinatown/Pier st and it was VERY noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueBloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

The pros are that the hotel is located In a really great spot where you can walk anywhere, this is the only good thing about the hotel besides the friendly staff. Yes the hotel is very affordable but the price you pay in discomfort is a lot worse. The cons are that the rooms are, not pleasant, old furniture old bathroom, no fan or air con so it's very hot 99% of the time, noise is ridiculous coming from the street, you can't sleep if the windows are open because of the noise and you can't sleep if you close the windows because it's too hot or from the paper thin walls that block out nothing, you can hear anything and everything. Then the elevator is dodgy and just is waiting for an accident to happen, it shakes and rocks like crazy and is bad enough to make my fiancé walk the stairs with her luggage from the 6th floor. Overall we got no sleep, we're too hot and would choose a hotel within a similar area but would gladly pay more to avoid places like this. No disrespect to the staff who were lovely but the hotel sucks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#126 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Chinatown
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#200 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill Hotel
#146 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Music City Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Plaza Hotel

Property: Grant Plaza Hotel
Address: 465 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grant Plaza Hotel is a limited service boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. It is recommended by many travellers as one of the best valued hotels in San Francisco. The hotel is conveniently located at the gateway to Chinatown, 3 blocks from Union Square, and within easy walking distance to many fine restaurants and theaters in this exciting city. It is also only 1 block to the famous San Francisco Cable Car line, the Bank of American Building in the Financial District and the 5 stars Ritz Carlton Hotel in Nob Hill. It caters to both business and pleasure travelers, and is the perfect place for a vacation getaway. The Hotel has just a completed renovation in 2015. The comfortable guestrooms are appointed with contemporary furnishings, and have recently been renovated for guest convenience with hairdryer, electronic keycard lock and free (WiFi) high speed internet access. The professional and attentive staff at the hotel will ensure that all guests are well taken care of. If you're seeking comfort and affordability all in one, this is one of the best value hotels in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Grant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Grant Plaza
Grant Plaza Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing