We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but suited our needs”
Review of Grant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grant Plaza Hotel
Ranked #150 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
ballarat vic
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but suited our needs”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were 2 families travelling ( 3 in one and 4 in the other) had no problems with this hotel at all. Good nights sleep, easy to get around and access the BART, we dont really interact with the staff much as we were never there and put the do not disturb signs on the doors during the day and getting fresh towels when we needed them as living out of suitcases the staff probably couldnt access the rooms anyway, they are small but we are only there to sleep, for the price we paid I would definately stay there again. Used the lockers for 50 cents to store our luggage before flying to NYC. However the reviews regarding staff stealing are a little unnerving and the hotel needs to look into this before it destroys their business. I informed my bank when I was travelling and we used moneycards and CC towards the end of the trip. We stayed on the top floor and they gave us rooms next to each other.

Room Tip: these are small rooms, so if you are planning to spend a lot of time in your room, this isnt the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karsBallaratVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    244
    290
    106
    100
See reviews for
101
326
87
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed for a total of 4 nights in October 2013 - first for a night in room 404 and then off for a 7-days tour before coming back and stayed for 3 nights in room 303. Wanted to store 1 (of our 2) bag since we are returning days later but the charge is USD10 per day. No choice but to carry both bags along. They do have lockers but its meant for storage within the day i.e. 50 cents till 9pm of the same day.

As for location, Grant Plaza Hotel (on the corner of Grant Avenue and Pine) being in China Town is within an enclave of Chinese food and shops. Walked further north and you will find many Italian eateries. We ate quite a few times at a Wonton Noodle shop in Pacific Avenue; did our laundry at a coin operated self-service laundry at the corner of Bush and Stockton and across from the laundry shop is a convenient store that's pretty well stocked.

Room is small (as expected) with 2 single beds, a writing desk, a closet, flat screen TV mounted on the wall facing the beds, one window for the fire escape while the other had the street view. Bathroom is attached and it has a sink, a WC and a stall for shower. The shower stall is extremely small measuring probably 3ft x 3ft - I am not a big guy and yet my elbows knock the walls constantly. We were concerned by the fact that the room didn’t have any aircond. How wrong we were – we should be concern that there is no heater as the room gets pretty cold. Bring along a pair of flip flops as the tiled floor of the bathroom gets to be very cold in the morning, at least while we were there. WiFi is free and signal is strong, even in the room.
As far as sleep quality goes, the mattress sags slightly but that by itself is okay but the creaking floor boards from the room above is the bigger bother. Even if you don't move, shifting your balance will cause the floor board to creak.

Check-in was easy, gave our reservation confirmation, passports and credit card and in return, got our electronic room keys (2 pieces) and 2 maps of the area. Check out is just as efficient. And have a go for their coffee. They served it daily from 7 to 9am (I think!) and it is STRONG and is very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKYSeremban_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I'm a frequent review reader but rarely write any myself however thought I needed to now. I was willing to give this hotel a great review, given the price and location BUT my money was stolen from someone working at this hotel. This is the ONLY place I used my card details and on the third day there I got urgent emails from the bank about suspicious transactions. Sure enough someone had attempted to take $1000 but was declined (thankfully because the limit is $1000 and given the exchange rate to aus dollars it pushed the transaction over this limit, just), so this person proceeded to steal $50 and three sets of $100. This money was used on a Starbucks account, of all things. Given this happened to two other reviewers of this hotel within the two months preceding our stay, I have little doubt there's a thief working at this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Number_0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A Budget hotel which gave you what they said they would. No Air conditioning, small room, opaque window onto a well. Not what we would have chosen had there been anything else available but with Americas Cup and the Oracle Conference there was little alternative in the city. A very convenient location for transport and getting arround in general.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

After reading trip advisor reviews we were not expecting anything great but were pleasantly surprised. The location is excellent, very handy to shopping and restaurants and we walked to it from the Montgomery St BART station. We asked for a quiet room and got one. The desk staff were helpful with directions and advice. The rooms were clean and had plenty of hot water. We thought the price was reasonable by San Francisco standards. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woody6049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Station, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Nice, older hotel. Older. Rooms were quite small but clean. A little TLC wouldn't hurt. Although there is some street noise, the rooms are quiet. There is no air conditioning, but there was a fan in our room. Decent enough, budget friendly place if you want to be in Chinatown.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 2CAPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our Honeymoon. We drove a rental car from Tahoe. The parking was a little expensive, but it is everywhere in the city. We parked and used Muni and cable cars to get around. The hills in town were very steep all over. No AC in the rooms,but not many places had it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadams76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#201 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#142 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Music City Hotel
#123 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Plaza Hotel

Property: Grant Plaza Hotel
Address: 465 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grant Plaza Hotel is a limited service boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. It is recommended by many travellers as one of the best valued hotels in San Francisco. The hotel is conveniently located at the gateway to Chinatown, 3 blocks from Union Square, and within easy walking distance to many fine restaurants and theaters in this exciting city. It is also only 1 block to the famous San Francisco Cable Car line, the Bank of American Building in the Financial District and the 5 stars Ritz Carlton Hotel in Nob Hill. It caters to both business and pleasure travelers, and is the perfect place for a vacation getaway. The Hotel has just a completed renovation in 2015. The comfortable guestrooms are appointed with contemporary furnishings, and have recently been renovated for guest convenience with hairdryer, electronic keycard lock and free (WiFi) high speed internet access. The professional and attentive staff at the hotel will ensure that all guests are well taken care of. If you're seeking comfort and affordability all in one, this is one of the best value hotels in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Grant Plaza
Grant Plaza Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing