We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price and location”
Review of Grant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grant Plaza Hotel
Ranked #168 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is the second time we stayed here, so based on my first experience in 2006, my expectations were very low. When we checked in the front desk lady let us know our room had been "upgraded" - to a queen, and it was MUCH quieter than our first visit. You can't beat the location for enjoying all the walkable areas of San Francisco and access to BART, cable cars, etc. Because we were visiting at Christmas, parking wasn't even much of a hassle. We were able to park right outside both nights!

Room Tip: Higher floor was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intellibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

When we booked this hotel, I didn't realise it was in Chinatown- fantastic! Great location, with excellent food and atmosphere surrounding us. short walk to Fishermans Wharf and downtown. The hotel rooms were average, but the location made up for it. The mattress was hard as a board, which we commented to front desk staff. Room was small and old, and the floor squeaked as you walked in the room, however it was neat and clean. Would recommend for a good location. Room items need to be updated

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandy4116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Price, location, in over priced san Francisco market is un matched but you pay for what you get. Basic hotel, stayed in twin bed room. No self control heat. Heat comes on at 6pm and heats the room. Clean room, enough wall sockets, bathroom in sufficient. Good water pressure would recommended if you gonna be out not in room a lot.

Paper thin walls guy sneezing and snoring next door could hear clear as day. Beeping of elevator down the hall could hear in room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank explore21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

All the people I met behind the desk were super nice even at 3am! The rooms are small and clean, yet old. Great location!! Right at the entrance to Chinatown 5 minutes walk from union square. Free wifi which is always a plus. The walls aren't the thickest so one can hear the noises from outside but overall a great hotel for the price and for the city of SF as you won't stay in your hotel beside to sleep at night

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Igal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This is a no-frills hotel - you get a small clean bed with sheets and quilt; plenty of clean towels; standard soaps and things; radio and TV. You get quite a small room with a radiator and an unexpectedly roomy bathroom. There were plenty of outlets to charge my devices. It's also right on the edge of Chinatown and downtown. For me, this merits 5 stars because they never pretend to be anything more than they are. If you want a safe, affordable, friendly, clean, centrally located, BASIC hotel, come here. Otherwise, just save yourself the frustration and shell out the money for what you want.

2  Thank Bstar73
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were 2 families travelling ( 3 in one and 4 in the other) had no problems with this hotel at all. Good nights sleep, easy to get around and access the BART, we dont really interact with the staff much as we were never there and put the do not disturb signs on the doors during the day and getting fresh towels when we needed them as living out of suitcases the staff probably couldnt access the rooms anyway, they are small but we are only there to sleep, for the price we paid I would definately stay there again. Used the lockers for 50 cents to store our luggage before flying to NYC. However the reviews regarding staff stealing are a little unnerving and the hotel needs to look into this before it destroys their business. I informed my bank when I was travelling and we used moneycards and CC towards the end of the trip. We stayed on the top floor and they gave us rooms next to each other.

Room Tip: these are small rooms, so if you are planning to spend a lot of time in your room, this isnt the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karsBallaratVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed for a total of 4 nights in October 2013 - first for a night in room 404 and then off for a 7-days tour before coming back and stayed for 3 nights in room 303. Wanted to store 1 (of our 2) bag since we are returning days later but the charge is USD10 per day. No choice but to carry both bags along. They do have lockers but its meant for storage within the day i.e. 50 cents till 9pm of the same day.

As for location, Grant Plaza Hotel (on the corner of Grant Avenue and Pine) being in China Town is within an enclave of Chinese food and shops. Walked further north and you will find many Italian eateries. We ate quite a few times at a Wonton Noodle shop in Pacific Avenue; did our laundry at a coin operated self-service laundry at the corner of Bush and Stockton and across from the laundry shop is a convenient store that's pretty well stocked.

Room is small (as expected) with 2 single beds, a writing desk, a closet, flat screen TV mounted on the wall facing the beds, one window for the fire escape while the other had the street view. Bathroom is attached and it has a sink, a WC and a stall for shower. The shower stall is extremely small measuring probably 3ft x 3ft - I am not a big guy and yet my elbows knock the walls constantly. We were concerned by the fact that the room didn’t have any aircond. How wrong we were – we should be concern that there is no heater as the room gets pretty cold. Bring along a pair of flip flops as the tiled floor of the bathroom gets to be very cold in the morning, at least while we were there. WiFi is free and signal is strong, even in the room.
As far as sleep quality goes, the mattress sags slightly but that by itself is okay but the creaking floor boards from the room above is the bigger bother. Even if you don't move, shifting your balance will cause the floor board to creak.

Check-in was easy, gave our reservation confirmation, passports and credit card and in return, got our electronic room keys (2 pieces) and 2 maps of the area. Check out is just as efficient. And have a go for their coffee. They served it daily from 7 to 9am (I think!) and it is STRONG and is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKYSeremban_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#133 of 230 in San Francisco
1,064 reviews
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
421 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
813 reviews
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#198 of 230 in San Francisco
459 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#188 of 230 in San Francisco
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Plaza Hotel

Address: 465 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £70 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grant Plaza Hotel is a limited service boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. It is recommended by many travellers as one of the best valued hotels in San Francisco. The hotel is conveniently located at the gateway to Chinatown, 3 blocks from Union Square, and within easy walking distance to many fine restaurants and theaters in this exciting city. It is also only 1 block to the famous San Francisco Cable Car line, the Bank of American Building in the Financial District and the 5 stars Ritz Carlton Hotel in Nob Hill. It caters to both business and pleasure travelers, and is the perfect place for a vacation getaway. The Hotel has just a completed renovation in 2015. The comfortable guestrooms are appointed with contemporary furnishings, and have recently been renovated for guest convenience with hairdryer, electronic keycard lock and free (WiFi) high speed internet access. The professional and attentive staff at the hotel will ensure that all guests are well taken care of. If you're seeking comfort and affordability all in one, this is one of the best value hotels in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Grant Plaza
Grant Plaza Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing