We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Grant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grant Plaza Hotel
Ranked #174 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The nice thing of this hotel is just they have a nice and great location. Located in the Chinatown, and walking distance to main tourist attraction areas in San Francisco, such as Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, and shopping district.

Room was small. My room window was just next to the street and very low to the sidewalk on the street. Someone could just jump and break in easily into our room. Thank God that didn't happen.

The bed was ordinary, but we had a good sleeping quality.

Finally, this hotel was okay. Their strategic location is a plus for this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

GP is a budget hotel that has a lot going for it—price, friendly staff and the biggest thing is its location: it’s in Chinatown, a block from a trolley car stop to the north, a block and a half from upscale shopping to the south, five blocks from the Bart. There’s parking nearby, there are restaurants (Chinese, French, Japanese), drugstores, liquor stores, and an awesome massage spa (Pure Organic Spa) four and a half blocks away… This place is especially good for single traveler who isn’t going to spend much time in the room!

If you’re coming to the GP, maximize your experience with a few simple hacks. First, deal with the noise—the north side of GP is on one of those SF hills where people HAVE to rev up their engines to get up the hill! Ask for the south side (Bush St) or bring earplugs, noise cancelling headphones, source of white noise (got mine on iTunes) and/or a small fan. Be sure to practice sleeping with these at home before travelling—so you’ll know what to expect, and this sometimes helps train you to sleep with them.

Others posters have talked about packing-to-hack your budget hotel room by always bringing things like clothespins (for drying clothes or pinning curtains shut), duct tape (to hold things closed, open, or together), sink stopper (to plug sink while washing socks or whatever), lubricant (for squeaky doors or whatever). I personally like to bring a compact O2Cool 5” fan that doubles as both source of moving air and white noise (since it’s USB/AC it runs off a laptop in other countries) because, let’s face it, when you’re lodging in a budget hotel you can probably use both.

At the GP the bed, the pillows and the carpet are older (this isn’t a Hilton chain). If your bed isn’t comfortable on check-in, ask to change immediately, but otherwise mine was a decent double beds. If you’re worried about the pillows, bring your own. I personally like to bring my own hygienic pillowcase just because I worry that person before me might have had a cold. As with any place where you worry about the floor, bring flip-flops or keep your socks on. The GP show is small and powerful (I love it!) and they provide ample towels, etc. and soap and hair/body shower gel. But think about bringing your own toiletries, such as shampoo, crème rinse, lotion, etc. The hangars are the old “can’t remove from closet” type, so maybe bring a plastic one or two. The curtains let streetlight in around the edges, so be prepared to deal with that.

For those of you who think, “why should I have to do all this?” my advice would be to find another place at a higher price.

Room Tip: higher might be better, though it's only 6 floors; south side (Bush St) might be a little quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DSBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great location in Chinatown. Very close to union square. On bus routes to fishermans wharf, 2 blocks from streetcars. Wifi was good and free. Rooms are small, but if you are like us, we only sleep in the room. Water pressure was good, no bathtub only shower. No where to really go for breakfast, only Starbucks 1 block away. For the prices of hotels in San Fran this is a good deal.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Firstly the rooms are quite small and basic, especially as I had a single bed. That said the room was clean an maintained the staff were very friendly. The location was amazing. Even though San Francisco is a fairly compact city. I don't buy the fact that there is a noise outside the hotel, if you book hotels in this area you should expect this!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is the second time we stayed here, so based on my first experience in 2006, my expectations were very low. When we checked in the front desk lady let us know our room had been "upgraded" - to a queen, and it was MUCH quieter than our first visit. You can't beat the location for enjoying all the walkable areas of San Francisco and access to BART, cable cars, etc. Because we were visiting at Christmas, parking wasn't even much of a hassle. We were able to park right outside both nights!

Room Tip: Higher floor was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intellibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

When we booked this hotel, I didn't realise it was in Chinatown- fantastic! Great location, with excellent food and atmosphere surrounding us. short walk to Fishermans Wharf and downtown. The hotel rooms were average, but the location made up for it. The mattress was hard as a board, which we commented to front desk staff. Room was small and old, and the floor squeaked as you walked in the room, however it was neat and clean. Would recommend for a good location. Room items need to be updated

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandy4116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Price, location, in over priced san Francisco market is un matched but you pay for what you get. Basic hotel, stayed in twin bed room. No self control heat. Heat comes on at 6pm and heats the room. Clean room, enough wall sockets, bathroom in sufficient. Good water pressure would recommended if you gonna be out not in room a lot.

Paper thin walls guy sneezing and snoring next door could hear clear as day. Beeping of elevator down the hall could hear in room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank explore21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#117 of 231 in San Francisco
434 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#129 of 231 in San Francisco
1,074 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#190 of 231 in San Francisco
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#195 of 231 in San Francisco
460 reviews
Adante Hotel
#188 of 231 in San Francisco
750 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#191 of 231 in San Francisco
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Plaza Hotel

Address: 465 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £77 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grant Plaza Hotel is a limited service boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. It is recommended by many travellers as one of the best valued hotels in San Francisco. The hotel is conveniently located at the gateway to Chinatown, 3 blocks from Union Square, and within easy walking distance to many fine restaurants and theaters in this exciting city. It is also only 1 block to the famous San Francisco Cable Car line, the Bank of American Building in the Financial District and the 5 stars Ritz Carlton Hotel in Nob Hill. It caters to both business and pleasure travelers, and is the perfect place for a vacation getaway. The Hotel has just a completed renovation in 2015. The comfortable guestrooms are appointed with contemporary furnishings, and have recently been renovated for guest convenience with hairdryer, electronic keycard lock and free (WiFi) high speed internet access. The professional and attentive staff at the hotel will ensure that all guests are well taken care of. If you're seeking comfort and affordability all in one, this is one of the best value hotels in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Grant Plaza
Grant Plaza Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing