We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will avoid next time...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #69 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Santa Rosa, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will avoid next time...”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The rooms are a good size and clean but the hallways and common areas are depressing. The pool is really more of a smoking lounge with a large water feature at the center.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenlinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear Jenlinc,
Thank you for your comments you posted on TripAdvisor and I am glad that generally you enjoyed your stay. I am evaluating whether or not it is appropriate to allow smoking in our pool courtyard and I appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you with us again.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,298
    1,731
    610
    189
    82
See reviews for
1,002
1,609
132
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Georges County MD
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here for three nights...in a "premiere room". Though the room is nicely appointed (bathroom is small), my biggest complaint is the lack of sound-proofing for the room. Both the door and sliding doors overlooking the pool provide no sound buffer at all. When someone is talking in the hall (and several parties of guests did each of my three nights), it is as if your door is wide open. Same with anyone in the pool below...and there were kids in the pool every afternoon. The sound travels up into your room as if the balcony has no doors at all. Poor design.
Also had an issue with not being given a pass code for internet (which is free for premiere room guests). Had to have the manager correct the situation (which he did), but if a friend staying here hadn't alerted me to this, I would have ended up paying $10 a day for internet access.
Also, beware that there are many, many, aggressive pan-handlers and many homeless individuals all around Union Square, along Market Street and in every tourist area of the city. There was even a flyer posted in the hotel one day warning of a dangerous man named Bo who was to be avoided at all costs. The city needs to get better control of this situation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoopguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear Snoopguy,
Thank you for staying with us and I apologize that not all aspects of your stay were enjoyable. I will follow up with the staff with regards to your comment on the internet access and I am working with the city are finding a solution with the panhandling. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Recently stayed at the Handlery for two nights, room 501. Hotel is very close to all the action in Union Square which was really nice. Hotel is clean, good amenities, and great customer service. Restaurants and shops are in walking distance. Only downfall was protestors across the street at Hotel Frank...they showed up Saturday and Sunday at 7:00 am and made much noise for about an hour an a half.

I have stayed at this hotel several times and will continue to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonriemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear Soriemini,
Thank you for staying with us and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the Union demostration across the street and I have asked them not to start so early but they have refused my request. When I was in college I visited friends who attended Chico State and I have found memories of the "Bear" Bar & Grill which I believe is still there. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel in March and was our first stop on arrival from Oz. We really liked this hotel. The staff were very helpful and did a lot to assist us. It is in a prime location right at Union Square. It is with all the top class department stores and has the cable car running right past.Resturants are all close by too. The room was very comfortable although abit small. I understand this is how it is in the US. The only critic of the place is that I would have liked to have a kettle to make tea and coffee as we required but this place like all the hotels here only had a small coffee maker.
The bar next door Lefty O'Doulls deserves a mention too. The barman Paul was very helpful when I sprained my ankle and the food for breakfast is really cheap and really good. Also had good busness centre for internet access. Go there if you visit San Fransico.

Room Tip: Ask for room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear Leah H,
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and SF. We are looking into providing an alternative to the complimentary coffee makers in the rooms but on your next visit I wanted you to know that we do have tea kettles available from our housekeeping department. Hope the rest of your trip in the US was enjoyable as well.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed in the historic building facing onto Geary st. While it was a bit noisy it didn't disturb us.
The rooms had been renovated to a very good standard however the structure itself (hallways needed a makeover, floor was a little uneven, no soundproofing) was showing definite aging. We had no problems with cellphone coverage, maybe other reviewers were in the other building. But has to be given full marks for location, so handy to transport, shopping malls, food outlets, information centre.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklyn022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
G'day Brooklyn022,
Thank you for staying at the Handlery and I was happy to read you had a pleasant stay. So often people comment on our great location and the renovation that we did at the first part of 2011 has met with good reviews. We hope to have you back from the lovely city of Wellington and hopefully the hills of San Francisco reminded you of home.

Cheers,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed in a Historic room, which meant that we were in the older of the two hotel towers. The room was situated on a corner, so it was nice and quiet due to only having one wall face the interior courtyard. It was also at the end of the hallway, so no loud noises from people passing by the door. However, one of the two windows faced a wall, so if you're looking for scenic view, this room wouldn't be a good choice for you.
The room was clean and had a large LCD TV. The bed was comfy and the duvet had a nice, freshly washed cotton cover. (I'm very glad that most hotels are going this route now.)
The bathroom was on the small side, but it was clean and had good lighting. Be sure to let the CFL warm up in the shower light!
My only mild complaint is that there should be a phone or intercom to allow people checking in (and without key cards) to enter via the O'Farrell garage entrance. I understand the security aspect, but if you're walking up from Muni or BART with luggage, not having to go all the way round to the Geary entrance would be nice :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear zeerider,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that you generally enjoyed your stay and we now have a bellman stationed on the carriage entrance to assist guests who arrive from that entrance. Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

You have to pay for wifi - $9.95, which I wasn't pleased with, but I accepted. What annoyed me was that it sucked - speed was awful.

Cell phone coverage is non-existent in the rooms, especially as they have wire mesh built into the glass - this literally creates a faraday cage to kill your signals. Open the window if you want to get signal!

Rooms are ok, beds squeak which was annoying. Walls are thin, most people staying here seem to be noisy college kids, drunk and happy - but annoying.

Overall... not worth the money.

Room Tip: Open the window to get mobile coverage.... no, really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTravellerJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear BusinessTravelerJK,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us and I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. As a family owned hotel we take pride in having our guest's enjoy their stay and I apologize for any inconvenience we caused. We are reviewing our policy on WIFI and the wire windows are required by the fire department. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the true Handlery Hospitality.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,197 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#88 of 229 in San Francisco
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,518 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Premier Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing