We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Handlery Union Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #72 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This motel is in a fantastic position, right in the heart of San fransisco. Wonderful staff very helpful and friendly. We had the room at the back of the hotel which was great as there was no noise, the room was lovely and comfortable,great beds. This is one hotel we will stay again. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    1,657
    589
    178
    79
See reviews for
949
1,541
124
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Only a slight mishap on arrival, our booking was missing which was not the hotels fault, within 10 minutes all sorted and was given a free upgrade. The room we were given was big with all the mod cons, there was a dressing area just before you entered the bathroom. Free wi fi in rooms which was good, all the staff were really helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Great location just off union square, this is where you can get the open top buses for tours which we did. Plenty cafés and places to eat. There are a lot of homeless going around but didn't get bothered to much by them. Visited pier 39 a few times and really wanted to visit Alcatraz but no go as it was when the government were in shut down. In our 4 days there saw and did plenty , spent loads of money ( well 15 year old daughter did) . Love to go back and would certainly stay at the Handlery again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Handley has a great location that's really close to Union Square. The staff, especially the concierge and bell hops were lovely and helped us with advice on which restaurants to go to, how to get to certain places and use the cable cars. John Wood, the concierge helped us with getting on the priority list for The Cheesecake Factory (as if you aren't on this list the wait is even longer). He also gave us advice on how to get a table at the Slanted Door. He really helped us with everything and made the effort to say hello to us everyday. The service and help we had really made a difference to us.
The room was good, although we weren't use to the sirens at night that were quite loud. The room was clean, comfy and quite nice. The only thing is the 3 options for breakfast get really boring quickly so we ended up ordering off the menu at the Daily Grill.
The location is fantastic! We could walk to Macys, about 300m or so away and walk back to the hotel with our bags and leave again to go shopping again. The stop for the cable car is nearby and there are some good diners nearby too. The Westfield is down the street which has a lot of shops but the whole of Union Square is in walking distance with all the shops there too.
Overall the hotel was great, the service was fantastic and the location is great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, the street noise can be quite loud and being higher up would be much bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rj1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Handlery offers the perfect location and excellent parking close to Union Square and its shopping. The staff is friendly and efficient. The attached Daily Grille is perfect for any meal you would like to eat: breakfast, lunch, or dinner. We stayed 4 nights and had 2 rooms. It is our new favorite San Francisco after Christmas hotel!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The best things about this hotel include it's location- it really is very central to most things you would want to do as a tourist in San Francisco. It is also clean, and the towels are great. The Concierge is lovely, helpful and knowledgeable. Things to be aware of- we booked a room with 2 queen sized beds, as our family consists of 2 adults and 2 teenage girls, and this was a cheaper option than booking a second room. However the beds are not as big as Australian queen sized beds- more like our usual double beds. Our room was next to a lift well- a bit noisy, but not too bad. The hotel provided ear plugs, which was a bit worrying when we first came, but we didn't need them Our room was in the newer section of the hotel, with some noise from the street below- but again not too bad, and nothing more than you expect when staying in the middle of a city. The major improvement I could suggest is related to the attitude and welcome we (did not) receive from the woman at the desk when we arrived. We had spent most of the day in transit, and were all tired. Some sort of smile and welcome would have been appreciated, but instead she greeted us with a curt "yes..." followed by "what is your name..." I think that we were interrupting her chat with the other staff member, and really inconveniencing her. This woman was probably the most unfriendly and unhelpful person we met during our whole stay in San Francisco, and she is not a good front person for the hotel. It should be part of her role to make guests feel welcome. She really tarnished our perception of the hotel unfortunately.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms would be the inwardly facing rooms, but the city views from the outwardly facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gasp4062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stay at the Handlery twice each year. The park and stay works best for us. Parking is underneath the hotel with baggage service at the parking garage. They let us check in and park 3 hrs before regular check in. No other hotel lets you do this. The staff is great,friendly and most helpful in making your stay pleasant. The rooms are very clean and decorated in 1st class furnishings. The bar and restaurant connected to the hotel is great food and drinks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for one night. Overall experience was average but I rated it above average because of the filipino staff at the front desk and engineering. They were very helpful and knowledgeable of the area.

The hotel is convenient to the retail stores, restaurants, union square and public transportation.

The bedroom was average in size, bed was comfortable, fairly clean..but it needs new carpet.

Will I stay here again?? For the price I paid I could have gotten a better hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing