We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but historic room does mean 'old'!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #69 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
166 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Ok but historic room does mean 'old'!!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I will start will positives, it is in great location , downtown and literally just a block from the cable cars. All the shops are on the door step so fantastic!! I found all staff to be polite and helpful and when I requested a kettle they quickly obliged .
I booked a standard room via a third party and apparently all these rooms are based on standard rooms and the smallest ever !! I was quite disappointed and asked for a room change, this was done but the room was still the same size, no view and in fact obscure glass and I don't believe the window would open ( room 210) bathroom very small as was the bed by us standards and the room also small. I was only there for 2 nights for business but had I been a holiday maker I would have expected much more for the money.
I found all the fittings etc to be old and really not up to current standards however it was clean.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank mooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    1,716
    604
    185
    80
See reviews for
989
1,597
129
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We purchased the special stay where parking is free. Beware of free things. They do have parking but you have to park it yourself and the line is VERY long. It is not VALET. My husband dropped me off to check in and he went to park the car in the garage that the Handlery has a contract with. He was in line over an hour!!! It is just around the corner!! Luckily he had his cell phone so I just called and told him what room we were in but there was an elderly woman waiting for her husband to park the car and was understandably upset. This is not a one time thing. My brother checked in the night before and missed his dinner reservation. It is ridiculous. Also be aware that their bar closes very early. Both nights we stopped in after dinner and the first night it was 9:30 and they said that they had stopped serving. The next night was Saturday and they stopped serving at 10pm. Great gig for a bartender that doesnt want to work too late. They send you to Lefty O'Dowls next door which is packed to the gills. Dont know if you can make reservations for breakfast but we never made it because it was always packed.The restaurant is they Daily Grill which is a chain of sorts. The whole deal is the location which is great. Has that old San Francisco feeling which is great and everything was very clean.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that it is on Geary Street which is very busy and loud so get an inside room. Not too m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winetoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is my go to hotel in union square. Perfect location! The cool part of this hotel is you can walk out from the front and rear of this hotel. Super close to shopping & theater. I've stayed in 5 or. 6 rooms. They are all beautiful and updated. Side note great bar!

Room Tip: The only weird thing is the rooms by the pool area. You could walk for a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We love staying at the friendly Handlery Hotel Union Square. It's closeness to everything (including the Giants games) makes it our "go to" hotel. Rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff at fantastic. The Daily Grill next door is delicious as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This motel is in a fantastic position, right in the heart of San fransisco. Wonderful staff very helpful and friendly. We had the room at the back of the hotel which was great as there was no noise, the room was lovely and comfortable,great beds. This is one hotel we will stay again. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Only a slight mishap on arrival, our booking was missing which was not the hotels fault, within 10 minutes all sorted and was given a free upgrade. The room we were given was big with all the mod cons, there was a dressing area just before you entered the bathroom. Free wi fi in rooms which was good, all the staff were really helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Great location just off union square, this is where you can get the open top buses for tours which we did. Plenty cafés and places to eat. There are a lot of homeless going around but didn't get bothered to much by them. Visited pier 39 a few times and really wanted to visit Alcatraz but no go as it was when the government were in shut down. In our 4 days there saw and did plenty , spent loads of money ( well 15 year old daughter did) . Love to go back and would certainly stay at the Handlery again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Handley has a great location that's really close to Union Square. The staff, especially the concierge and bell hops were lovely and helped us with advice on which restaurants to go to, how to get to certain places and use the cable cars. John Wood, the concierge helped us with getting on the priority list for The Cheesecake Factory (as if you aren't on this list the wait is even longer). He also gave us advice on how to get a table at the Slanted Door. He really helped us with everything and made the effort to say hello to us everyday. The service and help we had really made a difference to us.
The room was good, although we weren't use to the sirens at night that were quite loud. The room was clean, comfy and quite nice. The only thing is the 3 options for breakfast get really boring quickly so we ended up ordering off the menu at the Daily Grill.
The location is fantastic! We could walk to Macys, about 300m or so away and walk back to the hotel with our bags and leave again to go shopping again. The stop for the cable car is nearby and there are some good diners nearby too. The Westfield is down the street which has a lot of shops but the whole of Union Square is in walking distance with all the shops there too.
Overall the hotel was great, the service was fantastic and the location is great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, the street noise can be quite loud and being higher up would be much bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,158 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,397 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing