We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #71 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 6 March 2014

In short, there was nothing about this hotel we didn't like...convenient access to the parking garage on O'Farrell, friendly front desk staff, clean room, and a Starbuck's right across O'Farrell if you wanted a coffee and danish in the morning before 7 a.m. Lots of taxis around for trips to the Wharf, (the "new" old Goldust Lounge), Cliff House for lunch (creme brule to die for) and many more. Easy access to highways to head South to the PCH. Our room had sliding doors facing O'Farrell, and noise was not a problem. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,694 - 1,700 of 4,103 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were very well looked after at the Handlery Hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned daily to a very high standard and it was very comfortable, only gripe was the number of sirens during the night that woke us up.
We were there for a week and had many meals in their restaurant The Daily Grill, the food was plentiful and very tasty and staff friendly.
Also a nice Bar two doors away Lefty O'Doul's that served a very tasty and cheap buffet each evening with live music.
What I like the most about the Handlery was how central it was to everything, walking distance to many shops and restaurants, the hop on hop off buses were on the corner, the Metro a little further away but still within walking distance.
And the best thing about the Handlery Hotel, it was in San Francisco! I loved San Francisco!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I check in around 10pm on a tuesday night. Ended in an accesible room, asked to be moved to an other room. Got moved to a room next to the ice machine with blind windows, I could not even see what s outside. I called to ask to be moved again, the answer was that I check in too late and that all the rooms whith queen beds were full. Don t you deal with a lot of business people during the week ??? That travel long hours, arrive late at their hotel and don t want to waste their time changing rooms ending between 4 walls where you can not even see outside. Either manage better your reservations book or give upgrade rooms when you can t properly give your clients what they booked for. When I say "booked for" is a room in which you can see through the window...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Less M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed in the Handerly in Feb 2014. Really great location. So central to downtown and union square. quiet near many bars and restaurants and perfect for shopping! Hotel itself is quiet nice, We stayed during the winter season, had some rain so we could not use the hotel to its fullest! Can just imagine having a quick swim in the hotels pool just before dinner! I would, however, book the renovated rooms, rather than the rooms in the historical section. Just decor is a bit better! Breakfast in the grill was fab too. Overall, would certainly return to the Handerly. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lolls2001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excelent service in the reception
excelente roon (clean, confortable and quiet)
The location is excelent to know the dwontown, near Chinatown, Union Square, Financial district.
Just a one block from the metro reail

Room Tip: choose the top rooms, are more silent to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Fantastic central location to see sights, next to cable car route and a couple of blocks from the F streetcar line. Friendly front desk and Concierge staff, not snooty in the least. Daily Grill with breakfast attached so no need to go outside to eat. My room faces Geary street and has a King bed and plenty of space, washroom is compact, has a full walk-in closet.
They also provide ear plugs for those not use to city noise at night, a very nice touch!
I would stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here on business in October 2013.
Bedroom was in the older part of the hotel and was clean and functional, nothing knock out but fine all the same. Wi-Fi was a good speed and FOC. Room cleaned well every day.
The location of the hotel is great 2 minutes to the start of the shops, Starbucks around the corner as well as a 24*7 Wal-Mart. Tram a 5-7 minute walk so that's great too.
Ate breakfast a few times in the restaurant attached to the hotel, good food and service if a little pricey for US breakfast places as a rule.
If you want central location and a functional hotel, this is for you, if you like a luxury hotel where you will spend some time in your room try elsewhere.
I will be staying here again in September when next there for business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrogateGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,758 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,358 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#91 of 230 in San Francisco
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £108 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Premier Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelClick, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing