We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit still as good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #69 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“3rd visit still as good”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Still the best place to stay in San Francisco good situation walking distance of the cable cars and shopping. In the evening there is a city buzz feel in the Union Square area and the hotel restaurant is great.Fishermans Wharf although worth a visit during the day I wouldn't stay down there as nothing much going on in evening really and very touristy too with the tacky shops etc

Room Tip: We had the premium rooms with a balcony city view which at night was great to watch the world go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTRavel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,299
    1,730
    610
    189
    82
See reviews for
1,002
1,610
131
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you're looking for a good 'steady ' hotel with a great San Fran city location then I'd recommend this hotel. It's right in the heart of the city and therefore a great base to explore this amazing city. Areas in which the hotel can improve :-
- Rooms. The 1st room we were allocated was worn/tired. I appreciate the hotel is old and this is a feature but a stained sofa and musky teak smell was very off putting
- Customer service. We were able to change to a cleaner yet smaller room BUT no apology from reception. Also every day, the front of house staff seemed to struggle to smile. In fact, the friendliest staff were the housekeeping staff (very good)
Other things to point out:-
- The Daily Grill is very good
- hotel security is very good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed 8 nights and were given a free upgrade to a king suite. What a room! The mattress was AMAZING, and I am pretty fussy with that and suffer back pain, but this was like heaven! The room was a good size with separate lounge area, was light and airy and well appointed. The shower head was pretty abysmal but most hotel shower heads are these days. The pool area was also nice.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful. If you want to stay in Union Square,this place is in a great location. Close to the trams, but a little bit of a hike with a suitcase from the train station. No problem for able bodied people though.

The only negative comment about this place (apart from the shower head!) was the strange aroma permanently pervading the lobby. Some kind of meaty smell? The lobby adjoins a bar/restaurant, so possibly it came from there, although the bar did not share the same aroma. Either way it was pretty gross for me (vegetarian) but my partner wasn't bothered by it. Good thing noone stays in a hotel to hang out in the lobby.

All in all a good hotel reasonably priced compared to others in the same area with the same services. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravenhair99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for a holiday in San Francisco. Close to great shopping with Macy's and the Westfield shopping centre close by. Cable car stop on the Union Square corner. The Handlery's room where of good size and very clean. The staff went out of their way to help wherever they could.
I would definitely stay at the Handlery again on my next visit to San Francisco

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is in a brilliant location, the room was very clean, bed very comfortable and surprising quiet despite the air conditioning. We were in the older part of the hotel and loved the old fashioned decor of our room.
The dining room was interesting, not only used by hotel guests but open to passing public it was very popular and the breakfasts we had were tasty and served with smile.
John the concierge was very helpful and friendly and helped enrich our stay. Thank you John.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milesofsmiles r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Nice and close to all u need downtown. Free wifi. Very comfy bed. Small room but has all you need. Helpful staff. Close to tram and bus routes. If we came back to san fran we would stay again. Recommended for a short stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otrebusy, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Perfect localisation (walking distans to many places like historical tram) , very comfortable room with refrigator, heated water in swimmingpool, friendly stuff
no free wifi, expensive parking (but in hotel, what is comfottable) expensive breakfast

Room Tip: take room in new part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,196 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#88 of 229 in San Francisco
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,512 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Premier Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing