We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location at Union Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #71 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location at Union Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We are a family of 4 that stayed at this hotel in January 2014 for 4 nights. We found the hotel to be clean and the staff helpful. We stayed for 2 nights then went away to Yosemite for a night and then came back for a further 2 nights - the hotel allowed us to leave our bags at the hotel which was very convenient for us. There are places close by where you can have breakfast in the morning as the hotel does not offer breakfast. The cable cars and buses are close by, and a short walk to a large Westfield shopping Centre. The only slight criticism of this hotel is that you need to carry your heavy suitcases up a flight of stairs to get to where the lifts are that take you to your room. We enjoyed our stay in San Francisco and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a convenient place to stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 750lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    1,679
    591
    180
    79
See reviews for
965
1,559
126
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location right at Union square, where you can find not only all the other premium hotels, bit also anything else you need.

The staff was really friendly and the service overall good.

The equipment of the rooms was really good, you have everything you need.

Overall, the standard of the hotel is certainly not the best, but the well equipped room and the service balance that out.

The only big minus were the "city" or "pool" view rooms which were a joke. Do not book that, it's not worth it. I did, and changed room several times, because "pool view" meant looking at very ugly, old and broken facades of buildings right in front of you. Yes, the room was theoretically facing the pool but unless you are at the first or second floor, you couldn't see it but saw a really ugly view.

The "city view" means facing the very loud street, but even on higher floors, you cannot see the city.

So don't pay extra for those rooms or "views". Don't expect any nice views, the hotels needs to be redone.

Else, value for money was good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Our room was at the back with no view as such. At least it was quiet. All a bit run down but ok, nothing to complain about. The sound proofing between rooms is poor, we had an ill gentlemen next door who coughed through the night, we could hear every detail. The grill is good, we tried two meals. Pretty reasonable but there are other places to go to and we should have been a bit more adventurous. Worth considering if you want somewhere to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Unfortunately we were here second week of May when there was a heatwave. Our room was liike an oven and really awful - the aircon was literally just recirculating the warm air. We called maintenance but all we were told is that it couldn't cope with the unusually high temperature and to open the window. Seriously?! They were full so we couldn't move to another room and if we hadn't prepaid via Expedia, i would have gone elsewhere. Room was also tiny - one bedside cabinet and hardly any room to walk around the bed. I know you are out and about most of the time when in a city like this but a little bit of comfort as opposed to none, would have been nice. Would NOT stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ang123travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

this hotel couldn't have been in a better location, just aroud the corner from Union Square. Rooms were spacious, clean, large comfortable bed. Staff were extremely helpful from the moment we arrived outside. Breakfast was delicious, we had 3 vouchers for 3 days, I tried a different breakfast every day. There was a bit of noise from outside, but that's what you get in a city.

this hotel was recommended by friends and we will do the same.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baileys456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I would firstly like to say a big thank you to the Handlery for making my 40th birthday very special and upgrading us to a suite. The hotel is of excellent quality and the staff very hospitable. The location is fantastic for union square and shopping and the hop on off bus. Breakfast was lovely and a great start to the day. This hotel is a must for anyone visiting San Francisco!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our family of 5 had a great stay here and enjoyed the easy access to Trams and eateries including Chinatown. The rooms were't huge but we spent most of our time out and about so it wasn't an issue. The restaurant next to the lobby was very nice and we loved our breakfasts there using our vouchers. Checkin was quick and easy and the staff very helpful and with an ATM in the lobby we had all we needed. The only problem we had was an overflowing toilet but this was fixed quickly. The old world charm of the hotel certianly made up for any shortcomings and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a joining room if there is a group travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougHone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,059 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,531 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing