We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$195
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$576
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$273
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$285
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$315
US$266
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$443
US$362
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,182)
Filter reviews
4,182 results
Traveller rating
1,390
1,831
661
206
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,390
1,831
661
206
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric sectionunion squaredaily grill restaurantpremier sectiongreat locationpremier roombreakfast voucherso'farrell streetolder partcable carheated poolbreakfast was includedour honeymoontravel agenthop on hopstayed here for nightscentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,614 - 1,619 of 4,182 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Fantastic stay here on our honey moon! The hotel manager personally came down to the front desk to congratulate us on our wedding and welcome us to the hotel when we arrived! Nice touch. We were then given a room upgrade and a bottle of champagne when we checked in. Hotel is in a great location near Union Square and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Room was clean, spacious and had great amenities. The breakfast is decent too, although we liked to explore the city for that on most days (check out the Hollywood cafe in particular). Can't think of any negatives, thoroughly impressed and would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Premier building. There is another called the Historic building, we think the rooms are nicer in ours, but may be more expensive.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alexjallen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The location close to Union Square was perfect. All trolleys converge here; buses and streetcars everywhere you want to go can be found here. You can take the BART fairly close to here from the airport. The square itself is nothing to write home about and the shopping around the square is very pricy. You have to walk a few blocks to get more affordable restaurants. The room was cramped and dated. I would term it an average room. I would have expected more for the price, but I guess you pay for the location. The bathroom was small, too and, with three of us, we found it difficult to find room to place and open our suitcases.

Room Tip: We had no good view and kept the blinds closed so as to not look into the neighbour's room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the Handlery in May for a long weekend getaway and we loved it. The hotel is not new so don't expect anything to modern, but it has a ton of character. We arrived very early, due to our flight, and the staff were very helpful in storing our luggage and helping us get into our room early. The property is very conveniently located a block away from Union Square and close to many great restaurants. We walked everywhere from the hotel. Even to Fishermans wharf ! That is a long walk, but we love to walk. The hotel is also very close to all modes of public transportation and is very easy to get to from the airport. The stall were very good at informing us on the best ways to get around. There are certain times that are way easier to get on the street cars, just ask the staff !!
Our room was nice and clean. What I would expect from an older style hotel. The service staff were pleasent and very accomodating.
The only con for us was the street noise. However, we did stay on the long weekend, and you have to expect some street noise whan you stay in the heart of a city. I like to think of it as the the heartbeat. There were earplugs in the room. I didn't need them but my wife did.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flight96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The location of this hotel could not be better! We arrived a bit early, and were able to leave our bags with the front desk while we went to brunch. The room we were given was spacious and comfortable, as well as very clean. The door and front desk staff were incredibly friendly, and were happy to call a cab for us even before we had officially checked in. Also, we were going to the Mission district for mimosa brunch, so cab was a good option for us. But the location of this hotel is excellent! Less than a five minute walk from the Powell St. BART station, and right in the center of the primary shopping district of SF. Also, really within walking distance of a ton of restaurants, too, depending on what "walking distance" means to you. I would not hesitate to stay here again!
Note: In terms of "airport access," it's as good or better than any other hotel IN San Francisco for its proximity to BART. It will still be a good 30-minute trip, though, and may require a transfer depending on the time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cheyswag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We arrived before the check in time of 3:00. We were given a room even though it was early and told if we wanted to wait until 3:00 we would be given a bigger one. We elected to wait. The hotel took our luggage and we went to lunch. We came back at 3:00 and our room was ready. The room was clean and comfortable.We stayed 5 nights. The staff were all wonderful. Whether we needed directions, information, a taxi or whatever, everyone was very helpful. The hotel is very conveniently located and close to the trolley, bus stops and Bart.

Room Tip: We were away from the street so it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TobyTyler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews