We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Value and Friendly and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #72 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Well we arrived on 25th June - 2nd July. Our room was ready when we arrived which was great after a long flight. We were celebrating our engagment that weekend, my partner had informed the hotel and they left a bottle of champagne in our room and had upgraded us to a mini suite. It had all the facilities you would need. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the manager Jon Handlery left a message on our voicemail to make sure everything was satisfactory which I thought was a nice touch.

The hotel is right in the centre of everything. It is on Union Square and close to shopping and all the trams. The room was clean and serviced daily. We were in the historic section so the room was a bit dated but was always clean. We had room service on the first night which i thought was a bit pricey but it was nice.

My only complaint would be that the air conditioning was noisey especially at night time but after the second night I was used to it - but this might get on someone else's nerves and also the noise from the street may keep other patrons awake but we were fine.

Overall the hotel was great value and was close to everything. I would like to say thank you to Jon Handlery for being so attentive and also to the man from housekeeping (whose name I can't remember!) who sent my Tiffany necklace by Fed Ex to our hotel in Las Vegas as I had stupidly left it in the safe - thank you so much it holds great sentimental value

I highly recommend this hotel it's not as fancy as some of the other hotels but it has everything you would need and is perfectly located

Thanks

Lynette

Room Tip: We had a Street side room and it could get a bit noisy at night time
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LynIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,009)
There are newer reviews for Handlery Union Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 4,009 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

I'm so happy we were recommended this hotel. The check-in was friendly and efficient and it was great to have our room ready after a long flight.

The room was very spacious and the bonus was the closet with safe,could fit one of your suitcases. Plus the bathroom was narrow but spacious with a great area at the end for private dressing and makeup. I could lay out all my cosmetics and skin care. The shower was very roomy also.

Despite being near the busy Union Square, it was very quiet. The location is fantastic and very central to everything. Make sure you go to the hidden Belden place up from Union Square, in between Pine and Bush. It's a wee cobblestone street with Spanish, Italian, French and other cuisines. we ate at Cafe Bastille and it was amazing!

Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good. You eat at a place next door called The Daily Grill.

we would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: 229 was great
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Nina044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were staying in this hotel for 10 days and after a couple of nights we were given a slightly bigger room. But we still had only two drawers in which to house all our clothes.
The staff were simply magnificent, helpful, friendly etc.
The bar/restaurant was connected to the hotel but under different management, so we were given breakfast vouchers. The service was again friendly and good, and the food was really excellent.
The bar was the highlight of the hotel and much happy time was spent laughing with the staff.

Room Tip: Fabulous hotel, wonderful helpful staff, great situation, breakfast great, dining wonderful, Manage...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The staff at this hotel was top notch! They were very friendly, easy going, professional and most of all patient! Perfectly located in the central shopping district of San Francisco. Made our stay that much enjoyable and memorable. Very classy hotel indeed. We even met the owner, who was kind enough to just spend a few minutes to get to know us. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Full size bed rooms are a little small.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeeJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed two nights at The Handlery and loved it beds were very comfortable room a good size and clean staff on front desk were very professional and helpful I needed a stapler as left mine at home and they quickly found one even stapled my tags on my bags we actually felt very cared for great hotel and great stay will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: High rooms are the best if sensitive to street noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldyne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was great. I would recommend staying in the Premier portion and not the historic portion of the hotel. Our room had everything a girl could want. Make-up mirror, bathrobe, nice shampoo, lotions and such. Mirrors where all the mirrors should be. Plenty of outlets. Comfortable beds, great maid service. Refrigerator in the room. A nice balcony that overlooked the pool. Heated pool. It was also right in the heart of Union Square and close to all public transit that can get you anywhere in the city. You could take the BART from the airport and wheel you suitcase to the hotel, it is only two blocks away. I wish I could live there. Also a great bar a couple doors down called Lefty O'doul's. I would recommend having a Moscow Mule or a Dark and Stormy when you are there at the bar. PS- we were in room 563 and it was great.

Room Tip: The Premier section with a balcony that faces the pool. Kept out the noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Positive:
Staff was courteous;
The rooms were clean;
Very well positioned;
Good wifi acces.

Negative:
We booked with Booking.com and they tried to give us a room that was way smaller than what was advertised (It said 300 square foot and we got something near 150 square foot). My wife is an architect so it was pretty funny trying to see them argue with her. Finally we did get a huge Suite room, but we had to pay an extra 30$.

I dont know if I would go back there. There are many alternatives and I find it difficult to trust someone who tries to ''fraud'' you.

Room Tip: Dont ask for a quiet room or you will get a sight that looks almost like Alcatraz. Ask the street v...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JS_Side
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,271 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 229 in San Francisco
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#102 of 229 in San Francisco
1,830 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £152 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Premier Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing