We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable but so noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #69 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very comfortable but so noisy!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I wish i could recommend this hotel - it has comfortable beds, charming character, convenient location and friendly staff. BUT not the best choice if you go to bed relatively early because it is so noisy from the street - street drummers, bands playing in the square, street noise. They even provide earplugs in the room.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieR60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    1,716
    604
    185
    80
See reviews for
989
1,598
129
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (901)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. The hotel is good. If rate it as a 3 star. Rooms were big with seating area and nice bathroom with dressing area. Pool is quite small but still an ok size. Gym very small. Breakfast at the attached restaurant was excellent. Reception staff were not as friendly and helpful as other hotels but still good enough. Bell man was very helpful. It's also close to Powell station which trains go direct to airport for $9 which is a lot cheaper then the $50 taxi the receptionist told us about. 2 min walk from union square where all the bus tours leave from. 40 minute walk to the sea front and piers for Alcatraz etc.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sssl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at the Handlery. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They genuinely seem to want to help guest. The room was very nice quiet ,clean, well appointed, always had a full supply of toiletries and plush towels. One morning the housekeeper stopped us an asked how our room was and did we need anything special. The bed was very comfortable (great after a day of touring). Of course as advertised the hotel is near Union Square and all the stores. It is also near the bus and cable car stops. It was an easy walk to China Town. Will definitely stay at the Handlery next time we are in SF.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Islandcouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for a weekend in July. The location is pretty good although we didn't spend time in the city centre really, we were more intrigued with the Bay area. Although entirely our fault, we took a wrong turn when we first ventured out and in all honesty we ended up in a really dodgy area - would have liked to maybe be given a heads up on this from hotel staff. Didn't find the staff overly helpful, concierge spent the first 10 mins of our meeting telling us all the things we couldn't do and eventually got the things we could do. Service in the restaurant for breakfast was average. On our first morning we were the first customers in as we had an early tour booked, we eventually had to ask the host to have our server attend to us after several other guests were seated and ordered before us. The lift is chronically slow which seems menial but becomes a real pain after several long waits.
Our room was tiny and over looking a derelict, boarded up, graffiti-ed building, it was quite noisy on the first night also. We asked to be moved and we were on our second night which we were much happier with. Room was a much better size and was much quieter. Didn't love the hotel. Did love the city though & the Cheesecake Factory!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShinM1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Handlery for 9 nights when over for a family wedding, and running the half-marathon. Very helpful staff, and hearty breakfasts all added to the great experience of first visit to San Francisco. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Due to major road works at front of hotel July 25th where it was extremely noisy at 1am and through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelO54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I booked in here due to its central location just off Union Square and the ability to park our car at the hotel.
My party consisted of 2 adults and a teenager.
I pulled up outside and managed to squeeze into a spot on the curb, my wife went in to check in. After a couple of minutes she hadn't come back out so I followed her in. She wasn't impressed. The guy on reception had been quite rude, dismissive and unhelpful towards her. Strangely he was Ok with me- I managed after a bit of questioning to work out that I needed to off load the bags and drive round the block to the garage entrance to park the car.
Now as a stranger in town you might have expected this information would be offered freely but it wasn't- it was like 20 questions.

Regardless a bell boy then decided to offer assistance gathered our bags and proceeded to take them to our room. It dawned on me that the guy at reception hadn't actually mentioned where it was. The bell boy informed me that it was quicker to drive round , drop the car and take the elevator to the room. Again you might think the guy on reception would mention this but no...

So far not so very great.

Having dropped the car we got to the room no problems and tipped the bell boy(who had been much more helpful and friendly than the reception)

The room was good. 2 Double beds, TV, WIFI, fridge ,AC, good amount of storage and decent bathroom, all furnished to a good standard. It faced out onto O'Farrell Street, more or less above the garage entrance.
During our stay we noticed a few minor issues with the room:
(a) Cold water being heated by the hot- I can only presume the pipes run next to each other- this caused some issue trying to run the water off for several minutes before you could get a less than scolding shower!
(b)Rusty fittings in the bathroom- the lights on the mirror and the door hinges- little points I know but when you paying premium rates the little things matter.
(c)The room being set for 2 not 3 occupants - again easily rectified but easily avoided with a little attention to detail.

Overall the room was good though. comfy beds and plenty of towels etc.

The pool area was also fine - clean and well maintained and great to be in the open air.

There is also a small gym with running machines etc. (but we didn't use it).

The hotel bar/restaurant (Daily Grill) was good. The food was of a high standard and service acceptable considering how busy it was on the 3 occasions we ate there.Definitely consider booking as it was busy as mentioned with 1/2 hour waits for those who hadn't.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Handlery but found the initial welcome the worst we received during our two week holiday. I would however consider stopping here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Telf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in July for three nights. It isn't cheap but nowhere nearby is and the location is unbeatable. It was great to be able to walk everywhere. Our room was very nice, air conditioned, quiet (on the inside of the hotel) and staff were friendly and helpful. I can't fault this boutique hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamaican-Luck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,158 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#55 of 228 in San Francisco
4,400 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing