We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for anything in Union Square.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #71 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location for anything in Union Square.”
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed here for a recent shopping trip. It's very convenient for Union Square shopping. We shopped all day and ended up at the Daily Grill for a great dinner. Our room was in the historic building. Not too large but very comfortable, with upgraded furnishings and a large flat screen TV. The front desk staff was friendly, and the garage attendant even retrieved my cell phone left in my car!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish7_2-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Handlery Union Square Hotel. I was pleased that you enjoyed your experience and your dinner it the Daily Grill. The Grill is one of the local hang outs for many San Franciscans. Thanks again for choosing the Handlery.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    1,715
    603
    185
    80
See reviews for
987
1,596
127
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2010

The Handlery Union Square Hotel was the perfect place to stay on our very first trip to San Francisco. We arrived late in the evening (at 10:00 p.m.) and didn't want to waste any time. After getting settled in our room, we wanted to get to know what was around the area. The doorman that evening was very helpful and friendly. Very informative. We received excellent service during the few days we stayed at the hotel from both the doormen and the concierge. The cable cars are located just around the corner and is an excellent way to get around the city. And if you want to travel by taxi, they are usually parked right outside. And if there isn't a taxi parked outside, the doorman will stand out on the street and blow his whistle. In seconds, a taxi is there for you. There are numerous shops surrounding the hotel that display art. And the hotel is a block away from Union Square where if you love to shop, you'll be in heaven. We also found a 24-hour diner (Lori's Diner) just around the corner. It's a diner that takes you back to the 50's. Once you leave the lobby area (of the hotel) and head upstairs to your room, the interior decor of the hotel is kind of vintage, like you were back in the 1930's or 40's. Loved it!!!! Can't wait to return and stay at the Handlery. Thank you Handlery for showing us a good time. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Dear CocoHonolulu,
Thanks for taking the time to send your review into TripAdvisor. I was pleased that you enjoyed your experience as we try to provide a little "Aloha Spirit" to all of our guests. I look forward to having you stay at the Handlery again.

Mahalo,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Spent the weekend in Union Square with sister, sister-in-law and 16 year old niece shopping for the perfect prom dress. The hotel is perfectly located close to Bart stop and all things Union Square. One of us took Caltrain in and walked to the hotel; it took about 20 minutes so if you aren't too loaded down with luggage, it's quite doable. Reception let us check in early so we could stash our luggage and begin our search. The room was very clean, updated, and very large for a hotel in a big city. It was a premium queen room (two beds) and had a large closet, two makeup mirrors, shoe-shine machine and weight scale in bathroom. Also, large flatscreen TV and sitting area. Only shortcoming was a single sink but we managed just fine. The hotel has a nice pool, although we didn't have time to enjoy it. Reception was pleasant and helpful. We booked our room through Priceline but didn't bid for it; it was a good value and we'd stay there again for a similar weekend. Recommend breakfast as Sears nearby (not the department store). It's a fixture in the city; food is great traditional fare and ambiance feels very San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb_Mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Dear Deb
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay. I was pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and hopefully you were able to find the "perfect prom dress" for you neice. I am sure she will be the hit of the dance. Thank you again for staying at the Handlery.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Positives: We loved the hotel especially it's location. Staff were really helpful and friendly. It was great to have two double beds in the room. Never got to use the pool but it did look nice and inviting.

Negatives:The bathroom was very small and dated. Cleanliness of the room could have been better (everything felt 'sticky' including the bedside drawers). Need more hangers in the wardrobe. I didn't like the bed - there is a felt pad between the mattress and the bottom sheet which is not secured and I am a restless sleeper so every morning my bed looked like a war zone! Air con set to 72 and not adjustable.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your response on TripAdvisor and I was pleased that you overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I did note your comments regarding the housekeeping in your room and I have followed up with our Executive Housekeeper. I was surprised as we traditionally receive very positive comments. I appreciate your constructive feedback as this is only way we can continue to improve our service. Looking forward to having you stay with us. By the way I was recently in Wellington and had a fabulous stay in your beautiful city. Actually went for a hit and caught the Phoenix's big win in February.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I love the handlery and always stay there when in San Francisco! The service is excellent, you can't beat the price and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldub808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us again and taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you again for choosing the Handlery.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Thanks to the staff and especially our favorite doorman Hermes at the Handlery for a nice stay and a great family trip. We planned a week long family vacation around my business trip. So, we needed a hotel with a good location to public transportation as well as the SF tourist destinations. The Handlery location and its attentive staff made this "combo" trip a complete success. The heated pool provided a nice break for the kids. Few SF hotels have pools. The Daily Grill restaurant is a perfect break for parents.

The rooms were quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed just hanging out and winding down from our busy days in these good sized rooms. In an expensive city, this hotel provides good value for business travel or a family vacation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for commenting on TripAdvisor about your recent stay in our hotel. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the kids liked the pool. Many people are amazed that we have an outdoor heated pool especially in the heart of the city. Thank you also for your feedback on Hermie and it is a pleasure for me to work with him. Thank you again for staying at the Handlery Union Square Hotel.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the Handlery. I thought it was a good hotel and provided great service. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Not too far away from the big sites such as Fisherman's wharf, the golden gate bridge and Pier 39. The pool was nice too, small but very nice. The noise outside at night was slightly annoying but nothing too serious. If i was planning to go to downtown San Francisco i would consider staying in the Handlery again. :D

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments on your recent stay at the Handlery Union Square Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in San Francisco and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,531 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,383 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing