We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location , doesn't look like a hotel while you enter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #118 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Good things first :
-very good location close to market street and most of the shopping malls
-spacious rooms with good interiors & facilities
-helpful staff
Not so good :
-Food is very limited
-Limited breakfast & dinner hours only not available round the clock (surprise)
-If its not in your package - breakfast is on costlier side considering the limited options they have
-You may hear noise from adjacent room - doubt about the false partition?

Room Tip: If you have had better experience with other Holiday Inns - this might not be equivalent.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapilunique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Holiday Inn Civic Center is glad to hear we hit the mark with location, guest room accommodations, and service. We apologize if our restaurant operating hours and selection were not to your liking. Our staff is more than happy to offer suggestions for great alternative nearby dining in the event that our restaurant is closed during lunch hours. We appreciate the opportunity to grow from your feedback and hope you will give us another chance to host your stay in San Francisco.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

We chose this property based on the proximity to City Hall. It was so secure. No worries about anything happening to your car, or anyone following you in the hotel. The staff was great. When we checked in, the guy asked us what we wanted to do, handed us a map that showed all the mass transit options, as well as a street map of the city. I will stay here every time it go back to that area. No question.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you so much for your perfect five star rating! It means a lot to Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center to know a guest entrusts us with future stays in San Francisco. We are not just in the business of hospitality, but in the pleasure of hospitality. We truly value our guests and it would be an honor to welcome you back.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel as its pretty close to Moscone Centre n Bus n Metro Station. But though its location n entry point a bit inconspicuous its a great place to stay in for both Conference purpose n even holidaying. Close to City Hall, Union Sqr,Post Office its a great place. Walgreens,CVS Pharmacy,Subway,Restaurants,Wine Store to Orpheum Theatre all within 3t5 mins walking. F line bus to Fisherman*s Warfis just 2 dollars.
Front Office managed by 2 wonderful n helping persons ANA nd STEVE makes Ur stay very comfortable. Housekeeping is active even till 11pm. Food is awesom in brfast. I found d wi fi very fast n seamless. Room was pretty big with nice toilet. I has no complaints. Bravo Holiday Inn.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank deep90gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

San Francisco hosts many renowned conferences and Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center is pleased to note that you found our accommodations and location to meet your needs. Ana and Steve sincerely enjoy making guests feel valued and welcome and they will be elated to hear they made a positive impression on your stay. Thank you for giving us the privilege of serving you in our great city and we hope we have earned your future consideration.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

i had a worst experience with holiday inn, i was travelling in usa and SF was the last destination, and was travelling back to my home land but due to sf holiday in civic centre staff, i have to delay my flight because my and my friends luggage was being theft, from the hotel loby, they were not ready to show the cctv footage and lastly proved that one of the hotel staff was helping the thieve, to hide the bag, please dont visit these dirty hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarangpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We are dismayed to hear of your experience in San Francisco, however we do not have any record of this incident taking place within our hotel. Holiday Inn Civic Center upholds the highest of integrity with our valued guests’ property and as such our staff would not participate in any dishonest or unprofessional conduct. If you would like to discuss this matter with a member of our staff directly, we would encourage you to contact the hotel so that we may get further details and address your concerns.

Holiday Inn Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel before and after Xmas 2013 and enjoyed out stay. The hotel was well appointed and much cheaper than those around Union Square. The room was reaonably large with a good bathroom. We had breakfast included with a good selection on offer. The staff were efficient and helpful. The carpark was very expensive, if convenient. There are cheaper options nearby. The internet was a little unstable, dropping out at times.

Room Tip: A higher floor to get less road noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center is pleased you found our hotel to have provided good value for the price. Our city can be a considerable expense and as such we try our best to offer affordable, fair rates for our guests. Traveling during the holidays can be overwhelming and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the pleasure of hosting your visit and sharing your experience. Holiday Inn Civic Center hopes you will keep us in mind should you return to San Francisco.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have found this part of town to be very safe as a traveler and have never had a problem. I have not been scared by the encounters I've had with people who are homeless, people who happen to be very friendly and have helped me with directions and advice about the city. In fact, I am *less* likely to stay here again if I see more of what's been happening throughout San Francisco with all of this "let's push poor people out of town because tourists don't feel comfortable looking at them." I'm really disappointed by the follow-up responses from Holiday Inn staff, concerning the "transitional" status of the neighborhood. That's code for "gentrification," and it comes across as being things that servants from the Victorian Era (like Downton Abbey), especially considering that the people writing the responses are probably struggling financially themselves, given what hotel staff tend to get paid.

As for the hotel itself, the location can't be beat, and the hotel is comfortable enough. A typical Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holliken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We apologize if by not expanding on the many pending developments that it gave the impression that there was not an effort to include all members of our community in the current revitalization of downtown San Francisco. There are a number of projects underway to positively transition the local neighborhood and that includes providing additional and improved resources for those in need. The construction of the Kelly Cullen Community Center aims to provide support for over 150 formerly homeless individuals, including offering a Public Health Clinic. St. Anthony’s Foundation and Mercy Housing are working collectively to expand on their property at 121 Golden Gate Avenue to include a larger dining room facility (to provide more free meals to low-income and homeless individuals), 90 affordable Senior Housing units, and a Social Work Center. Eddy and Taylor Family Housing is developing 153 affordable residential units as well as the first full-service grocery store in the Tenderloin district. These are just some examples of the ways in which people are working together to uplift and support all members of our community.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A very clean room, no problems with anything, great gym and friendly staff. Once we arrived out of the BART station we were on edge with all the homeless, drugged up people and deals that were going on. We went out that night and I freaked myself out from reading the reviews. It is a pretty sketchy area, but as a female, walking briskly past it all wasn't so bad. Catching public transport is easy and safe when traveling back at night. I did travel with my BF and if I was to do it again, but with girls, I would pay more for another area.

The noise wasn't an issue for us, considering we're light sleepers.

Thanks for the hospitality holiday inn!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lannah1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Clean, inviting guest rooms and helpful, friendly staff support is Holiday Inn Civic Center's specialty and we are delighted they were a positive aspect of your stay. The neighborhood is very diverse and urban, but we are disappointed to hear your experience off property was less than pleasant. There are many projects currently in motion to bring forth a new and improved downtown SF and we hope with the prospect of a restructured community you will give our neighborhood another chance. It was our pleasure to be of service and thank you for entrusting us with your hotel accommodations.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#182 of 229 in San Francisco
3,065 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#133 of 229 in San Francisco
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#171 of 229 in San Francisco
161 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#138 of 229 in San Francisco
302 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £129 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing