We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are obviously trying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #119 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Vail, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“They are obviously trying”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The rooms have apparently been renovated, the bathrooms more half-heartedly. Would have been convenient if the balcony doors shut properly because of the traffic noise. Complimentary ear-plugs were a give-away. The location is a couple of blocks (big blocks) from any venue or dining facility (except Starbucks and BK). Market Street at night is very empty on that side, except for many homeless people.
The slowest Wi-Fi since Dial Up.. the "helpline" announced in the room does not answer and Front Desk suggested to Reboot the iPad….
In general clean and proper.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Holiday Inn Civic Center is in the middle of having our wifi vastly upgraded with new wiring and routers to increase the speed and reception for our guests. This work is to be completed within the next couple of weeks and will surely resolve the inconvenience you expressed. We apologize if your balcony door was slightly off alignment and we would be eager to follow up with this repair if you would be interested in informing us which room you stayed in. Thank you for sharing with us ways in which we may improve the guest experience and we hope our ongoing efforts to maximize guest satisfaction will merit your future consideration.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    466
    403
    104
    86
See reviews for
223
323
106
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked for its proximity to the Orpheum Theater. It was perfectly situated for this, as well as good dining choices within 2-3 blocks. 1 block to the F line streetcar which will get you to many places in the city. Room recently remodeled and clean! Pillows great. Mattress was a bit too firm for my liking, but hubby was fine. Mark at the front desk was supremely helpful and polite on the phone and in person.

Room Tip: High floor probably best... There are some rooms on lower levels that appear to face right into a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishwine707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center is pleased our half a block distance from the Orpheum Theatre suited your exciting show plans. Mark aims to support visitors in making the most of their stay and he will be happy to know a guest appreciated his efforts. Holiday Inn Civic Center is grateful for your review and your patronage. We hope you will keep us in mind as we would be honored to host your next stay in San Francisco.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Good things first :
-very good location close to market street and most of the shopping malls
-spacious rooms with good interiors & facilities
-helpful staff
Not so good :
-Food is very limited
-Limited breakfast & dinner hours only not available round the clock (surprise)
-If its not in your package - breakfast is on costlier side considering the limited options they have
-You may hear noise from adjacent room - doubt about the false partition?

Room Tip: If you have had better experience with other Holiday Inns - this might not be equivalent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapilunique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Holiday Inn Civic Center is glad to hear we hit the mark with location, guest room accommodations, and service. We apologize if our restaurant operating hours and selection were not to your liking. Our staff is more than happy to offer suggestions for great alternative nearby dining in the event that our restaurant is closed during lunch hours. We appreciate the opportunity to grow from your feedback and hope you will give us another chance to host your stay in San Francisco.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We chose this property based on the proximity to City Hall. It was so secure. No worries about anything happening to your car, or anyone following you in the hotel. The staff was great. When we checked in, the guy asked us what we wanted to do, handed us a map that showed all the mass transit options, as well as a street map of the city. I will stay here every time it go back to that area. No question.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much for your perfect five star rating! It means a lot to Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center to know a guest entrusts us with future stays in San Francisco. We are not just in the business of hospitality, but in the pleasure of hospitality. We truly value our guests and it would be an honor to welcome you back.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel as its pretty close to Moscone Centre n Bus n Metro Station. But though its location n entry point a bit inconspicuous its a great place to stay in for both Conference purpose n even holidaying. Close to City Hall, Union Sqr,Post Office its a great place. Walgreens,CVS Pharmacy,Subway,Restaurants,Wine Store to Orpheum Theatre all within 3t5 mins walking. F line bus to Fisherman*s Warfis just 2 dollars.
Front Office managed by 2 wonderful n helping persons ANA nd STEVE makes Ur stay very comfortable. Housekeeping is active even till 11pm. Food is awesom in brfast. I found d wi fi very fast n seamless. Room was pretty big with nice toilet. I has no complaints. Bravo Holiday Inn.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank deep90gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 21 January 2014
San Francisco hosts many renowned conferences and Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center is pleased to note that you found our accommodations and location to meet your needs. Ana and Steve sincerely enjoy making guests feel valued and welcome and they will be elated to hear they made a positive impression on your stay. Thank you for giving us the privilege of serving you in our great city and we hope we have earned your future consideration.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

i had a worst experience with holiday inn, i was travelling in usa and SF was the last destination, and was travelling back to my home land but due to sf holiday in civic centre staff, i have to delay my flight because my and my friends luggage was being theft, from the hotel loby, they were not ready to show the cctv footage and lastly proved that one of the hotel staff was helping the thieve, to hide the bag, please dont visit these dirty hotel ever again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarangpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We are dismayed to hear of your experience in San Francisco, however we do not have any record of this incident taking place within our hotel. Holiday Inn Civic Center upholds the highest of integrity with our valued guests’ property and as such our staff would not participate in any dishonest or unprofessional conduct. If you would like to discuss this matter with a member of our staff directly, we would encourage you to contact the hotel so that we may get further details and address your concerns.

Holiday Inn Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel before and after Xmas 2013 and enjoyed out stay. The hotel was well appointed and much cheaper than those around Union Square. The room was reaonably large with a good bathroom. We had breakfast included with a good selection on offer. The staff were efficient and helpful. The carpark was very expensive, if convenient. There are cheaper options nearby. The internet was a little unstable, dropping out at times.

Room Tip: A higher floor to get less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center is pleased you found our hotel to have provided good value for the price. Our city can be a considerable expense and as such we try our best to offer affordable, fair rates for our guests. Traveling during the holidays can be overwhelming and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the pleasure of hosting your visit and sharing your experience. Holiday Inn Civic Center hopes you will keep us in mind should you return to San Francisco.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#177 of 229 in San Francisco
2,985 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#132 of 229 in San Francisco
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#136 of 229 in San Francisco
300 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
539 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#159 of 229 in San Francisco
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Property: Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing