We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #124 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The experience staying at the hotel was a good one. Fast food outlets were to be found just down the street if needed. A Chase ATM was located on a corner half a block away. Check-in was easy and efficient. Able to leave rental car under cover while bags taken to room before had to be taken back. There is a tour desk next to reception which was very convenient. Happy hour inthe bar was a necessary stop after sightseeing all day. Hotel located near the cultural heart of the city. Good value.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

In a city of many options for hotel accommodations, knowing where to find value is key to making the most out of your trip. It is our pleasure to take care of our guests with convenient access to traveler essentials and great service. Thank you for entrusting Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center with your stay and we hope to have the privilege of serving you again.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Ok so the hotel isn't in the most desirable of locations, however with all the construction going on you get the distinct impression that Tenderloin is an area that is on the up and up. Before our stay I read some of the reviews and was a little concerned as to what we could expect. What a lovely surprise, we had a room high up away from noise that was perfectly clean, and hotel reception were absolutely courteous,friendly and above all extremely professional. A very big thanks and show of appreciation was to the doorman who helped me with the bags while my husband was parking our hire car. The doorman's name escapes me at the moment however he was african american and called me Miss Australia. It was this man and the welcoming smile and service as the first point of contact that really makes this terrific hotel what it was for us, a fantastic stay. Thank you Holiday Inn Civic Center!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your five star review! Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center is happy our doorman was able to be of service. Instilling in our guests a sense of warm welcome throughout their stay is our goal and it is validating to hear we were able to deliver. Holiday Inn Civic Center appreciates your enthusiasm for your stay with us. We hope to have another opportunity to demonstrate to you our commitment to guest satisfaction.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights prior to boarding a cruise in San Francisco. This was one of the Air Miles choices, so I picked this one due to it's proximity to the peer and being close to downtown. It was a decent hotel, but I was NOT impressed with the $40/day to park a rental car! Even $10 would be reasonable. The room was okay, but had little amenities, and our room looked into a courtyard of other buildings, which one could expect being in a downtown area. One GOOD thing about this hotel was that my better half left a bag of stuff (iPad, electronics etc.) in the safe and it was returned to us promptly. Had it not been in the safe we likely wouldn't have seen it again, as only security can access the safe after a stay. We figured out where it was once we had boarded the cruise, and the hotel was good about couriering the items for us to pick up in Sumas on our return from our trip, at our cost, which was fine. I was happy they were honest and did this for us. The hotel is within walking distance to everything, but it seemed like a bit of a grungy area one block away. Staff on check-in were okay. Nothing outstanding though, that would make me recommend this hotel to my travel clients, or my friends. Breakfast gets a poor rating as you have to pay for it and it's not cheap! So we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinkerHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

A challenge of being in a central location of popular downtown San Francisco is that there is very limited space allocated for parking accommodations. As such, the parking fee our establishment charges is a necessary and comparable rate given the locality and scarcity of space. Our hotel does offer 24 hour in-and-out parking privileges whereas many other nearby parking establishments enforce limited operating hours as well as in-and-out restrictions. We do understand that in less population-dense communities parking is less of an expense and apologize if this is an unforeseen additional cost for those visiting San Francisco. Holiday Inn Civic Center upholds the utmost integrity when it comes to the safety of our guests and their property. We are pleased these valued items made it back to you during your travels. Thank you for your thoughtful feedback and we hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate to you our commitment to guest satisfaction.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The area across the street is under construction so expect construction noise all day and well into the evenings. As other reviewers have pointed out the rooms are rather dated with single pane windows that (at least in my room on floor 10), may have a significant draft on windy days, so much so the heavy drape was visibly moving a bit. The room was ok, nothing to write home about and not a tremendous amount to complain about. I can say it's the first time I've stayed in a hotel where the mini fridge was a $20 per day OPTION. Yes, the room had a blank spot where the fridge normally is, and a quick glance in the in-room booklet revealed that the mini fridge was an "extra" that they would deliver and plug in. Food downstairs is not bad and rather pricey, ($18 for breakfast buffet??) but pricey food seems par for the course in downtown San Francisco. Parking was $45 per night if I recall, but the public garage around the corner was about half that amount. I needed a one way cab ride to the airport to meet a friend one day and asked the bellman for a cab. He waved over a non-descript beige Lincoln Town Car over that had no real cab signage and no meter. The bellman assured me the rate of this Town Car was "same price as metered cab to the airport". Well, the metered cab ride from the airport to the Holiday Inn (in heavy traffic at that) was a total of $42. This Lincoln Town Car driver quoted me $55 and laughed when I told him I paid $42 for the same trip in a metered cab. In the end, this Lincoln Town Car guy relented and charged me the $42. That said, I'd suggest always getting a metered cab to avoid any funny business. Or better yet, the Powell street Bart station is just a block or two away and is $9.00 one way to the Bart station located right at the SFO Airport.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RB954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Much of downtown San Francisco is experiencing new developments with the revitalization of local neighborhoods, but we apologize for the noise. We are currently working on upgrading the sliding glass doors in all of our guest rooms as we speak! Samples are being installed in a few of our rooms within the next couple of weeks so we may evaluate the best options for our hotel. We look forward to being able to present visitors with enhanced windows in the near future. One of our hotel’s best features is that we are a mere one block away from many forms of affordable public transportation, including BART (which has a direct stop at our location and a direct stop at the San Francisco International Airport). Holiday Inn Civic Center defines guest satisfaction as not being middle-of-the-road, but rather as exemplary service and accommodations and we appreciate your feedback to assess further opportunities for us to raise the bar.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Traveling for pleasure January 2014. Because we had to make 3 different reservations which became an absolute hassle with the front desk. Every morning we had to travel down to tee.he front desk and check out and recheck in. Because we are Gold Members with Holiday in we have access to priority check in. We were treated with rudeness and not treat the way a Gold Member presenting to the counter should be. We were told the line was closed and she walked away flipping her hand at us. Very rude and poor professionalism. Room were to Holiday Inn standards and location to trolleys and subway was good. Limited dining and what is there very expensive. Just a word of caution.

Room Tip: Don't expect a balcony.......it is only a ledge with railing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkrejci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Gold IHG Rewards Club Members are highly regarded as loyal advocates for our brand and Holiday Inn Civic Center continuously seeks to reciprocate that dedication. Unfortunately when we only have one desk agent available for assistance (such as when the other might be taking a quick break), we must temporarily shut down the Rewards Club Lane to be accessible to all guests. We apologize for this momentary setback as well as if you felt you were treated with anything other than the utmost respect. Holiday Inn Civic Center’s staff values all of our guests’ patronage and support and would certainly never deliberately offend a visitor. When booking a multi-segment reservation, as would be the case when applying an IHG Rewards Club points stay to a visit longer than one night, the system does require those reservations be separate entries. This is due to the difference in means of settling the account, points for one night and credit card/cash for the rest. We regret the additional effort it took to reconcile this type of stay and we will be sure to reflect on your feedback. Holiday Inn Civic Center thanks you for your comments and hopes you will give us another opportunity to earn your trust in our commitment to guest satisfaction.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The trouble with this hotel is the finishing touches. The rooms are ok though be warned there is no double pane windows so they are noisy. They do at least put out earplugs. The staff though are indifferent to their guests and really don't appear to care. The breakfast is sad - orange juice that has never been near an orange. For the money, look for something where they at least care about the service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistance at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Holiday Inn Civic Center is invested in the guest experience and we are open to feedback to better gauge how we may be of service. Please accept our sincere apology if your stay was anything less than what our brand exemplifies as it is not reflective of our standard. We value our guests and seek to express that gratitude in our daily operations, quality of accommodations, and rates. Moving forward we will ensure more consistency so as to be certain every visitor experiences the same sense of welcome and care. Thank you for your comments and for the opportunity to grow from your experience.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I don't normally write a negative review about a hotel based on it's location because I feel this is up to the traveller to research before they stay, not a fault of the hotel - I went on the advice of my travel agent to stay here for value and good transportation, but I would probably not stay here again. Even during the day there are very shady characters around, and at night it is worse with a strong homeless presence around. We always retreated to the room after dinner, but one night we did go out for drinks and walked home late from the trams I did not feel safe. We also did a load of laundry at night around the corner (the only time we had available) and it was actually a scary experience. Mind you, I am Australian and this may have had a lot to do with it - I wasn't aware of the large homeless population of San Francisco, and from my research the location seemed to be great for all San Fran has to offer. While it was easily serviced by transport, I just probably wouldn't stay here again due to safety.

The hotel itself is great - the room was spacious and the bed was big and comfortable. It had everything you would need for a good stay (TV, tea and coffee, fridge, lounge, table and chairs, mirrors and wardrobe, etc.). It was also handy having a self serve ice machine right outside our room. It was good value for money and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Good value for the rate, friendly service, and ideal accommodations are all the foundation of a great hotel experience. Holiday Inn Civic Center does have laundry facilities available on site for our guests’ convenience. We regret if the local urban setting was not to your liking. It is our hope you might reconsider our hotel as the community is putting forth a collective effort to effectively re-vamp the neighborhood. From the incoming of Twitter and Dolby to the development and re-development of many residential units, downtown San Francisco is looking forward to resurfacing shiny and new. Thank you for giving us the privilege of hosting your stay and your feedback.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#185 of 231 in San Francisco
3,163 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
SoMa
Americania Hotel
Americania Hotel
#133 of 231 in San Francisco
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Civic Centre
San Francisco Proper Hotel
San Francisco Proper Hotel
#92 of 231 in San Francisco
77 reviews
Htl 587
#155 of 231 in San Francisco
34 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#176 of 231 in San Francisco
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £111 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing