We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Nearby Hotels
US$385
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$260
US$185
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$304
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$511
US$476
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$761
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$238
US$207
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$329
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$220
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,247)
Filter reviews
1,247 results
Traveller rating
131
488
424
114
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
488
424
114
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscivic center stationcity hallmarket stpublic transportbig cityconvenient locationfisherman's wharfbartsforpheumstarbucksubercarscablechinatown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 1,247 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here one night in March. As a platinum member, I was greeted warmly and expediently by the staff. And that’s where the positives end. This hotel has seen better days. My upgraded room looked and felt like it belonged in the 1970s. Things were old, paint was chipping, and the whole place exuded a retro feel (but not in a cool way). Location is okay. For the price, there are many better options. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we are continuously working to improve our hotel. We hope that you would give us another chance the next time you visit San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently stayed here as my wife was working at the nearby Federal Building. The location was good only for that reason. If I was just visiting San Francisco I would look for someplace in downtown or near Fisherman's Wharf. We heard a lot of complaints about the neighborhood and there were a lot of homeless people around, but we never felt unsafe and for the most part the homeless did not bother us. Other good things about the location is that it is near the Asian Art Museum and subway and Muni stops - getting around San Francisco to see the sites and explore was very, very easy. The U.N. Park nearby had a great farmer's market twice a week. If you stay here I highly recommend Basil Thai restaurant on Folsom and Sam's Diner on Market street. Sam's has free WiFi and they are wonderful people with great diner food.

The room we had was on the top (14th) floor with a view overlooking City Hall. The room was very nice, and housekeeping did a perfectly fine job. The fitness center is very small and despite signs about using free weights, actually does not have any. However, the hotel offers a free pass to a nearby fitness center if you want to go to a gym. The pool area was good, but the pool was not heated as advertised.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, even making recommendations on places to go for a run, and asking how my run went when they saw me later.

We did not eat in the restaurant at all other than one drink with coworkers during happy hour. The breakfast buffet was $21! We ate every day around the corner at Sam's for half as much.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TriviaFanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our central location is a big plus for guests who need to be near the Federal Building and the SF City Offices. We are pleased to hear that our hotel suited your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We got off to a great start... very clean, tidy, spacious hotel. great breakfast and very nice staff working in the breakfast lounge also extra towels brought immediately after we requested! Then we got into a elevator with a very un-pleasent homeless man who appeared to be high on drugs hiding in in! This hotel has a long lobby i am shocked he made it to the lift without being seen! We did not feel safe at all! Then i found my credit card had been charged after stating that it was the card used to hold the reservation but was not being used to pay for the room my friend had handed over her credit card and paid and got a receipt! Turns out her card was not in fact charged although we saw it being swiped but mine had been used even though the Lady ensured us it was no problem for my friend to pay give her a receipt which turns out to have been mine! No ID was requested for the card nor was anything signed this is definitely an area this hotel could polish up on! Management were not very helpful with my enquiry about payment informed me he 'could not help me' at least my own bank and my friends could help us and we figured out ourselves what had happen! Void credit card receipts should be given to customers also and holds released on funds when hotels make errors!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jacqat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We’re pleased you took the time to review our hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry to that your stay at our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we are continuously working to improve our hotel. We hope that you would give us another chance the next time you visit San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The most disappointing thing about this hotel to me was the pool was not heated. It was to cold to take a dip in which was one of the reason I had booked this hotel. The staff is very friendly and will help you anyway they can. Oh but don't fall for the we upgraded you to the executive suite. Executive doesn't mean what you think it does. The hotel is not in a great location but it is one block away from BART and Muni. The hotel is located two blocks from the library which doesn't sound fun but is a very neat place to go. On Sunday's three blocks away is a farmers market. It is nice. There is a ton of homeless people hanging around the hotel but unfortunately that is most of San Francisco.

Room Tip: Stay on the even side. You are still going to hear construction but not as bad.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicoleH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that our pool was not to your liking. We were having some mechanical issues with it that have now been resolved. We hope you will consider staying with us again for your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

For the money, there are much better places to stay in San Francisco. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel itself is older, but it's been kept up. Location us horrible. Gritty, not attractive, I was afraid to run in the early morning. The on site restaurant was terrible. Most expensive continental buffet $18!) with lack luster choices.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pacsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we are continuously working to improve our hotel. The neighborhood is undergoing a major transformation and we hope to welcome you again for your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews