We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location to Move About the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #122 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location to Move About the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location was fantastic in terms of access to transit to access all of the cities cool neighborhoods. The BART, MUNI metro and surface transportation are a block from the hotel. We stayed five nights and the hotel was very quiet, staff friendly, and the room cleaned quickly and efficiently every day. The rooms are not high end, but it is consistent with Holiday Inn standards and the bed was comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel and location if you plan on being mobile and out and about.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re glad to hear that your stay was quiet and comfortable and that our location was an asset. Our staff strives to maintain a clean, comfortable product with friendly, helpful service. It’s nice to hear when we succeed. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    447
    392
    98
    86
See reviews for
215
311
106
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Located in the Mission, close to Union Square and many other sights and amenites, the Holiday Inn Civic Centre delivers a friendly and welcoming stay. While the area wouldn't be described as swanky, it's close to lots of sights for tourists, restaurants and parks.

It was immaculately clean, and well-maintained with all the facilities a guest could want. Staff were extremely helpful, and booking airport shuttles, tours or getting general advice was no problem.

The hotel delivered over and above my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that our hotel suited your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff strives to make our guests’ stays with us a pleasure so it’s nice to hear when we have succeeded. The fact that we delivered “over and above” your expectations makes it even better. We hope to welcome you again for your next visit to San Francisco

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here one night in March. As a platinum member, I was greeted warmly and expediently by the staff. And that’s where the positives end. This hotel has seen better days. My upgraded room looked and felt like it belonged in the 1970s. Things were old, paint was chipping, and the whole place exuded a retro feel (but not in a cool way). Location is okay. For the price, there are many better options. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we are continuously working to improve our hotel. We hope that you would give us another chance the next time you visit San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

TriviaFanatics
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently stayed here as my wife was working at the nearby Federal Building. The location was good only for that reason. If I was just visiting San Francisco I would look for someplace in downtown or near Fisherman's Wharf. We heard a lot of complaints about the neighborhood and there were a lot of homeless people around, but we never felt unsafe and for the most part the homeless did not bother us. Other good things about the location is that it is near the Asian Art Museum and subway and Muni stops - getting around San Francisco to see the sites and explore was very, very easy. The U.N. Park nearby had a great farmer's market twice a week. If you stay here I highly recommend Basil Thai restaurant on Folsom and Sam's Diner on Market street. Sam's has free WiFi and they are wonderful people with great diner food.

The room we had was on the top (14th) floor with a view overlooking City Hall. The room was very nice, and housekeeping did a perfectly fine job. The fitness center is very small and despite signs about using free weights, actually does not have any. However, the hotel offers a free pass to a nearby fitness center if you want to go to a gym. The pool area was good, but the pool was not heated as advertised.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, even making recommendations on places to go for a run, and asking how my run went when they saw me later.

We did not eat in the restaurant at all other than one drink with coworkers during happy hour. The breakfast buffet was $21! We ate every day around the corner at Sam's for half as much.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriviaFanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our central location is a big plus for guests who need to be near the Federal Building and the SF City Offices. We are pleased to hear that our hotel suited your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We got off to a great start... very clean, tidy, spacious hotel. great breakfast and very nice staff working in the breakfast lounge also extra towels brought immediately after we requested! Then we got into a elevator with a very un-pleasent homeless man who appeared to be high on drugs hiding in in! This hotel has a long lobby i am shocked he made it to the lift without being seen! We did not feel safe at all! Then i found my credit card had been charged after stating that it was the card used to hold the reservation but was not being used to pay for the room my friend had handed over her credit card and paid and got a receipt! Turns out her card was not in fact charged although we saw it being swiped but mine had been used even though the Lady ensured us it was no problem for my friend to pay give her a receipt which turns out to have been mine! No ID was requested for the card nor was anything signed this is definitely an area this hotel could polish up on! Management were not very helpful with my enquiry about payment informed me he 'could not help me' at least my own bank and my friends could help us and we figured out ourselves what had happen! Void credit card receipts should be given to customers also and holds released on funds when hotels make errors!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jacqat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We’re pleased you took the time to review our hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry to that your stay at our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we are continuously working to improve our hotel. We hope that you would give us another chance the next time you visit San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The most disappointing thing about this hotel to me was the pool was not heated. It was to cold to take a dip in which was one of the reason I had booked this hotel. The staff is very friendly and will help you anyway they can. Oh but don't fall for the we upgraded you to the executive suite. Executive doesn't mean what you think it does. The hotel is not in a great location but it is one block away from BART and Muni. The hotel is located two blocks from the library which doesn't sound fun but is a very neat place to go. On Sunday's three blocks away is a farmers market. It is nice. There is a ton of homeless people hanging around the hotel but unfortunately that is most of San Francisco.

Room Tip: Stay on the even side. You are still going to hear construction but not as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that our pool was not to your liking. We were having some mechanical issues with it that have now been resolved. We hope you will consider staying with us again for your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

For the money, there are much better places to stay in San Francisco. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel itself is older, but it's been kept up. Location us horrible. Gritty, not attractive, I was afraid to run in the early morning. The on site restaurant was terrible. Most expensive continental buffet $18!) with lack luster choices.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we are continuously working to improve our hotel. The neighborhood is undergoing a major transformation and we hope to welcome you again for your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,883 reviews
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#132 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#98 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#162 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Property: Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing