We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th time lucky?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Ranked #68 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
141 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“4th time lucky?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here for a medical meeting April 24-28, 2012, actually my 4th Hilton in the last month (see separate reviews for Anaheim and Harbor Island, San Diego). This time may have hit the jackpot. Terra cotta sculptures in the lobby give you a right-at-home feel. Check-in took all of 2 minutes! When I requested for a late check-out, Eric at the front desk gave me up to 4 p.m. Without hesitation! Talk about value for money. And the restaurants--there's a steak house, Japanese sushi or bento box, Chinese dimsum or noodles, Vietnamese, bagels & hot choco, even a Subway--all within a block! I'd like to make special mention of Joy Hing noodle house. I was a bit under the weather and their chicken noodle soup (a small bowl can feed 2) and egg flower soup did wonders for recuperation! And shopping? Chinatown's a stone's throw away. Exit the hotel, turn left down Kearny then right at Post and in 10 minutes you are in Union square. In another review, I complained about another hotel's not-so-fragrant aromatherapy; if they had anywhere near Hilton's Peter Roth amenities then you would have gotten the perfect bath experience! And best of all? This is the only Hilton so far that has an executive lounge (26th floor) where you can have breakfast, 24-hour soda and coffee and Internet via iPad; that is if you are a Hilton HHonors member. Am leaving today and am already looking forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjohnled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Outstanding review and another Perfect Score! You are obviously one of Hilton's best guests, a Diamond member, and probably a tireless "road warrior", and you know what the Hilton experience is all about. Thank you for the wonderful comments about our facilities, location, and of course, Eric, at the desk. I think we have some of the best hotel employees in San Francisco, and thank you for recognizing one of them! I will share your feedback with the entire hotel. Again, thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    1,273
    661
    210
    118
See reviews for
637
1,038
203
1,181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times, and have had great experiences. The staff is always courteous and helpful, and the rooms were wonderful. This is also a great hotel if you want to be right next door to Chinatown.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RehAmuCA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Another Perfect Score! Thank you for the kind review of your recent visits to the Hilton San Francisco Financial District. It is wonderful to hear from our repeat guests validating everything we work for here. Thank you for acknowledging the service from the team, the facilities, and our great location. I look forward to having you back with us again very soon! Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Have now stayed here several times.
Incredibly friendly and professional staff. Good Hotel. Great value.
Upper floors have wonderful views.
New Hilton Honors Lounge is a great place too.

Room Tip: upgrade to bay view, executive floors--worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for the Perfect Score! Our repeat guests are validation that we are doing something "right" with our guest service. Having a repeat guest taking the time to comment positively on this internet forum is the best endorsement our hotel staff can attain. I will post this review for all the hard-working team members to read and be proud that we do indeed take very good care of all our guests. Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here many times over the years on business. Great location next to China Town with many shops and restaurants. Hotel restaurant is a good choice for breakfast and for a cheaper selection the mom and pop restaurant next door for breakfast ans lunch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaMike3950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful concise review and endorsements of the Hilton San Francisco Financial District. I was pleased to hear that you are a fan and we look forward to many more years of your visits. Again, thank you for the kind feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

In a way this hotel is very much a standard hotel, but everything the hotel does it does with a safe hand. Reception and concierge service is excellent. Breakfast is straightforward and good. Rooms are spacious, clean, new and with all the amenities you need. Windows do open and have nice views. Next to Chinatown and really in very close vecinity to everything in San Franciso. The area is not the nicest but is defo okay and you feel safe.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tveste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent visit to the Hilton San Francisco Financial District. Safety and security is at the forefront of everything we do here. I am so glad to see that you noticed this and that you did feel safe and welcomed during your stay. I was also pleased to see that you thoroughly enjoyed the facilities, staff, and service levels during your visit. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next San Francisco adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We wanted a Hilton in central San Francisco which was reasonably well located and chose this hotel for a short stay in February. While described as the Hilton Financial District a far better description would be Hilton Chinatown. This was confirmed by a plaque in the hotel which said the hotel had originally been the Holiday Inn ......... Chinatown! The hotel itself was in a reasonable location and indeed we were able to enjoy the Chinese New Year parade which passed by the hotel during our stay.

This is a busy hotel with always lots of bustle around reception and the main entrance. We dined once in the hotel restaraunt and found this to be a disappointing experience with the food choice at the Chinese buffet rather limited and of little appeal to our two girls. We did have access to the Executive lounge and this made up for it as the lounge was pleasant and the snacks were good. Breakfast here too was sufficient to get us fed and ready for the days exploring.

The hotel itself is a little tired but its acceptable and the room could not really be faulted albeit a little on the small size for two double beds but when you are visiting a city you really want the room just to be somewhere to sleep so it was OK.

Not the best Hilton we have stayed in but it was OK although if there is a next time to visit San Francisco I think we would probably look elsewhere.

Plus point is buses leave from outside the hotel taking you to the departure point for ferry to Alcatraz. On return the drop you in another street so be alert. San Francisco City Pass is great value if you want to see main sights and enjoy unlimited cable car rides. Buy at the Alcatraz Pier for an included Alcatraz visit in exchange for the normally included harbour boat ride.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisNCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton San Francisco Financial District. You were here during a very busy time, Chinese New Years. I regret to hear that you found the breakfast buffet not to your liking. The buffet has been changed a couple of times since February, so I think you may like the change. Fortunately, you and your family were able to access the Executive Lounge which is the only Hilton Executive Lounge in San Francisco. As you stated, our hotel is definitely centrally located, and it is very easy to get to all neighborhoods in San Francisco from here using public transportation, which stops right next to the hotel. Your feedback will be critical to improvement in some of the issues you experienced. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McArthur, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I are in our 50’s and have never just got in the car and drove - UNTIL this past Friday. Weather lousy at home, just wanted to get away for a couple of days. IPAD rocks! We made our reservation online with one of those prepay discount websites so we were not expecting the hotel to give us any type of upgrades (well at least without paying more). I called from my cell right away to ask for a king non-smoking. The front desk was extremely cordial and said “no problem, Ma’am”. Hung up and checked out Hilton’s website and trip advisors reviews on this hotel. Realized then I should have also asked for a room with a view of the bay and an upper level floor, so to enjoy the view. I called back and was told all of the king non-smoking “bay view” rooms had been booked but we would have a nice view of the “city”. A little disappointed but again front desk was cheerful and tried to make it work for us. Because of other helpful reviews when we pulled up we were not in shock when we were told self parking would $45.00 per day ($55.00 valet) by a well dressed young lady meeting guests in front of the hotel and guiding them through the check in/parking process. We are small town folk and the city can be very intimidating so we appreciated having someone to guide us right there from the beginning. We enjoyed an impromptu weekend in San Francisco and would definitely go back. Highly recommend the Hilton for location, views, and hospitality.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views. Be sure to ask for bay view instead of city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
What a nice review! Thank you for selecting the Hilton San Francisco Financial District for your impromptu getaway. Technology is a wonderful thing....most of the time. I was glad to hear that it worked so well with your visit, and you had very little "surprises" upon arriving in the City and our hotel. The woman who met you in the driveway, is one of our Front Office Managers. We try very hard to make sure there is a Manager upon arrival and departure to make sure your visit gets off to a good start, and also there to 'Thank you' for staying with us. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#85 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#47 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Property: Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-1860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing