We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“27th Floor Bay View Balcony rocks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Ranked #67 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“27th Floor Bay View Balcony rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Awesome two night stay on the 27th floor at Hilton (Financial District) in San Francisco. Best balcony view in the city! Room was clean and comfortable. Only issue was that we couldn't turn off the fan in the bathroom...which contributed to some background noise. Otherwise, a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank zcounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words and generou scores. The view from the 27th floor is priceless! I assure you that our team is correcting the issue noted with the fan. We hope that you will return to enjoy the view again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    1,251
    656
    210
    115
See reviews for
625
1,023
201
1,166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location. We've stayed in many Hilton properties over the years and this is among the best. Service was exceptional, room was big and clean. Ate in the restaurant one night and the food was well above average. Can't go wrong here, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth A. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
It is great to hear from one of Hilton's best guests. Thank you for the perfect score and very kind comments about the service and accommodations. We look forward to your return. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Great location, as some people have mentioned the rooms are somewhat small but we didn't really spend much time in our room. At check-in, the desk attendant Elmer was very friendly, asked if we'd prefer Bay or City view. After unpacking, we went to the front desk and asked for walking directions, a different (female) staff member told us about Union Square having their tree lighting ceremony that night and gave us walking directions. Every staff member we interacted with was very nice and smiling. As some people have mentioned, they have a lounge for Hilton Honors members, this lounge was very nice but yes, they did have trouble stocking everything (they were out of espresso one morning) and the hot appetizers did go fast and the single attendant did have their hands full both days we went. Still overall a very nice hotel, great location and very friendly and helpful staff. (very comfortable beds as well). We did not use the in-room coffee maker or spa or fitness center

Room Tip: Parking across the street is $27 a day compared to $50+ to park in the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Our team strives to deliver the Hilton Brand Promise, which is to ensure that every guest is cared for, valued, and respected. It appears that Elmer and the team delivered upon this promise. I assure you that our management team is recognizing Elmer for capturing the spirit of our hospitality. We look forward to your return. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I cannot think of one negative for this hotel. Granted that we we we on the executive floor with view of Chinatown, free expanded continental breakfast on the 26tg floor, and free yummy snacks and honor bar there every afternoon (saw some folks pile their plates so high with the chicken skewers that it was clear it was to be their dinner). Staff throughout the hotel gracious, with special compliment to Eric at the front desk who eased us after our car had been broken into blocks away at out dinner restaurant. Hotel parking expensive, but the city Portsmouth parking is right across the street at $27 for 24 hours, actually inexpensive for SF. Hotel clean, didn't hear neighbors or cleaning people. Great!

Room Tip: If you want a bay view, ask in advance. Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
This is perfect news! Thank you very much for the perfect score and kind comments about the service, namely Eric. I assure you that we will recognize Eric for the kind service that he provides to each guest. We look foward to your return. Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Usually I spend the thanksgiving weeks and christmas weeks at Hilton hotels around the country with my family.
This time we choosed to go to San Francisco at the Hilton in Financial District.
As soon as we arrived we noticed the room being small, it would be the right size for 2 people at most, definetly not 3 or 4. The bathroom was also pretty small, and lacking a ventilation system.
We asked for a bigger room at the front desk and we've been told that all the rooms are the same size, however I've seen other people here on trip advisor being offered bigger rooms. I was not trying to get it for free, I was willing to pay for an upgrade, but according to the front desk lady all the rooms are the same.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dancala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced on your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one from check-in to departure through quality service and amenities, and we regret this was not your impression. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing service training and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located a block from the cable car line and our Chinatown tour started at the hotel. Nice walk to the Ferry building on Saturday morning to the Farmers Market. Would recommend for the price--we didn't park a car here, as it cost $65. Rentals can be picked up 7 days a week at 7am at multiple Union Square locations a few blocks away.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
It is such a pleasure to see that our guest enjoyed the service and accommodations. Thank you very much for submitting this review. Our team appreciates you, and looks forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico beach
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We paid for the room with a balcony so we would have a view of "the city". What we got on the 27th floor was a view of the alley and the tops of the building where everyone hung their laundry. We stayed a week and asked for a bay view but they could not accommodate that although people were checking in and out the entire time. And yes this was the smallest Hilton I have ever stayed in and when I was walking on the street one day I found out why. The guy behind me said he had lived in SF for 35 years and that the Hilton was once the Holiday Inn. This is probably why I also heard the entire conversation of the rooms next to me. What time her flight was leaving where she was flying to and who was picking her up clear as sitting in a bathroom stall next to her. The free breakfast wasn't bad but it was always out of coffee, juice, water and most of the time the food was empty. WE went at different times to see if that made a difference but it didn't. They only had one person staffed to put out food, make coffee, clear tables, refill juice and it was obviously too much for one person. The staff was the friendliest staff in town. What the hotel lacked in quality it made up in hospitality.
great location to hop right on the 8x bus and get you to the Wharf. No need for a car if you stay here. We spent the entire week with out a rental car or using a taxi except to get to and from the airport. I feel we over paid for the room and we could have stayed at a more luxurious hotel for less money but we always stay in a "Hilton" or so we thought.

Room Tip: DO NOT PAY FOR THE CITY VIEW!!! It isn't worth seeing the dirty laundry of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We thank you for submitting a guest survey. In 2005, this hotel shut its doors for a year long rennovation, and reopened in 2006 as a Hilton Hotel. The rooms, meeting rooms, lobby areas, and entrance were all remodeled by our Hilton design team. Since the rebirth as a Hilton, we have continued to make improvements based upon the feedback from guests like yourself. Management is very sorry that we were unable to move you to the bay side. Because the 27th floor is the only floor with balconies, the bayview rooms on this floor often sell out days in advance. Our staff is very thankful for the kind remarks about our hospitality. We hope that you will return and stay with us again. Should your travels bring you back, please feel free to contact me directly for any assistance that you may need with securing a bay view balcony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,830 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#86 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#47 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Property: Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-1860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Southall Travel so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing