We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #92 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have been to San Francisco many times always staying in the Union Square area. We decided to stay at the wharf because we got a fantastic rate at the this hotel. We also thought it would be a more interesting area for the four grand kids, ages 13 to 8, we had with us and we were right. The hotel is the usual hotel. The room we were in could use some updating but there was a flat screen TV. Our room had two double beds and there was still plenty of room to move around. We also appreciated the connecting door to our other room. All the staff was friendly and helpful. There is a little restaurant and coffee bar that sells Starbucks. Every evening there is a happy hour in the bar and the wine, beer, and well drinks were quite reasonable. I can't say enough about the great location. Fast food and higher end restaurants everywhere, two cable car lines within a few blocks, bus line just out the front door that went through China Town and Union Square and the street car a block away that went to the embarcadero and the ferry building. It was also a great area to walk around. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDTraveler033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco SDtraveler033 and thank you in advance for coming back and staying with us. We do have connecting rooms which we will try our best to get for families and friends together while they are staying with us. our bar opens everyday from 4:30PM-10:30PM to serve happy hour, wine to all guests. Thank you for all your great feedback and we look forward to see you again next time.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    1,632
    888
    257
    147
See reviews for
1,122
1,290
105
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our experience was similar to many of the other reviewers. We checked in after parking our car and hauled all of our luggage, 5 people in our party to the front desk. The check-in process was quick, courteous and professional complete with good fresh apples. However after that, things started going downhill. First, we heard the parking charge, $45.00, welcome to the big city and second, we learned that our room was in another building where you had to cross the street. So we too schlepped our luggage to the other building. The room itself was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable though the pillows despite saying soft and hard were identical in firmness--too hard. The water pressure in the shower was good and the plumbing was in good working order. We got the room through Priceline for a bid of $165.00 The hotel is just 3 blocks to Ghiradelli and Fisherman's Wharf. We chose this location as we were only going to be in SFO for one night and wanted to be within walking distance of some of the touristy things and have easy access to cross the Golden Gate the following day. From that perspective (location) the hotel exceeded expectations. I would give this place a higher rating if the room location within the property were more convenient and if the parking was a little less expensive.

Room Tip: Try to secure a room in the main building, especially if you have luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowbliss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman San Francisco snowbliss 1and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us beside the inconvenience with the parking and the location of your room. Because we do have 2 buildings, the building you are located in is acctutally a newer building and closer to the Wharf as well. We will reflect your feedback to our General Manager and hopefully next time when you come to San Francisco and stay with us again, we will receive a 5 star rating from you.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island, new york
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We checked in at the lobby and paid our parking fee, but didn't realize we had to walk to a separate building approx 5 mins to a different building! It was very inconvenient to be dragging our luggage on the street to get to the other building! Our card didn't work on the elevator, so I approached the lady on the desk to reactivate it again when in fact it could have been activated at the main lobby upon check in. When we arrived to our room, it was nice and clean! The bed and linens and the pillows are fresh! I was hoping to have a wonderful stay and sleep. Unfortunately, all I hear was non stop banging of the doors in the hallway and you could feel a little shake in your room! There were two people who mistakenly knocked on our room at night that disrupted my sleep as well! Overall, I was unable to sleep effectively but enjoyed the comfort of the bed!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear rosie718,

I am very dissapointed to hear that your check-in did not go as well you expected. If bell service was not offered, my apologies. I will address this with the front line to insure service is offered. I would also like to apologize for the key not working properly for you. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the accomodation and the cleanliness of the room. We take pride in providing clean and comfortable room to all of our guest.

Your comment will be shared to all the staff and Management of the hotel. I hope you will give us another apportunity to be at your service when you return to San Francisco.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

To preface my review, I must explain that we came to this hotel at the last minute, after leaving a terrible Union Square hotel. The Holiday Inn was so comfortable and clean, the staff were friendly, it was centrally located to all the sites at Fisherman's Wharf and the Embarcadero, and we were over the moon happy to stay here. Had a fantastic night's sleep, had no issues finding great food options even for the children, and the area felt extremely safe even after dark.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Canwi,

Thank you for the wonderful comment about your visit with us. Yes, we have great location and friendly employees. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible service to all of our guest and also providing clean and comfortable room. Plese continue to keep us in mind when you travel to San Francisco.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

San Francisco is very beautiful and the Fisherman Wharf attractions are in extreme demand. Therefore this hotel can easily abuse their guests with little consequences. As a Platinum guest there was no recognition for the expensive prepaid nonsmoking suite with a harbor view. The room was a heavily perfumed smoke standard, non-suite room. The view faced an internal concrete wall. Consequently, a decision was made to terminate the several night stay early. However, the hotel manager threatened to retain all the nights' charges upon an early check out. I recommend to use the other full service Holiday Inn one block away. They have unadvertised suites and the facilities are much nicer.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms face an internal concrete block wall while the Wharf and Alcatraz Island view is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Tim L,

Please accept my sincerest apology for the challenges you encountered while visiting our hotel. I very dissappointed to hear that the room given to you was not to your satisfcation. The hotel is in the process of refreshing all of our guest rooms with new carpets, new armoire, etc. We value you as a platinum member and would like to invite you back when we complete our refresh. Our refresh is scheduled to be completed in February of 2014.

Please feel free to contact me with any addiotional comment you may have.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. Great service, great location. Within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square.
The rooms are very clean and tidy. Hotel comes with free breakfast & Wifi. Laundry services are available in the new extension so a little walk to get this done.
Good restaurants close by. We walk everywhere and with the help of a map found everything we wanted to see.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Nicki F,

Thank for the kind comment you posted.

I am very happy to hear that your daughter enjoyed her visit. Yes, the free wifi is great to have to check your e-mail, etc most specially now a days that majority of hotels charge for it. I will share the nice compliment about the cleanliness of the room with our housekeeping staff.

Please continue to keep us in mind when travelling to San Francisco.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights before joining a cruise. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and Denny,s Diner staff were also excellent although this was not part of the hotel but situated in the hotel building as a separate enterprise. The main hotel restaurant was in another building and we did not use it simply for convenience. This particular Holiday Inn has two accommodation buildings and you can check in at either, so it helps to know in advance which one you are in so that the taxi can drop you off at the right place from the beginning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandybags_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Sandybags_13,

Thank you for the wonderful comment about the hotel and the staff when you visited our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit staying at the Wharf building. Yes, there is a front desk at the wharf building is ready to assist when needed.

I will share this great comment with the staff and rest of the Management Team. Please continue to keep us in mind when looking for a place to stay in San Francisco.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#52 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,997 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing