We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but bring ear plugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #85 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The location was very convenient to Fisherman's Wharf and it's surrounding sights. The property was safe, clean, and had the basics. The hotel's restaurant was under renovation, but there were several nearby diners to choose from (Denny's, IHOP, Joanie's Diner, Hollywood Café & Starbucks). My only real complaint is the street noise - we were on the 2nd floor, and we could hear absolutely everything outside, from the revelers who sounded like they were standing right outside our window, to the garbage trucks which seemed to be collecting garbage all night long.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Byrd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Byrd11 and you are correct. We are located at the heart of Fisherman Wharf which we are within walking distance to lots of places. We apologize about the street noise you heard from your room, from the street noise to the garbage noise. We do have interior rooms which faces inside for your next stay. We hope to invite you back again next time when you visit San Francisco again and maybe you could dine in our refreshed restaurant next time.

Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 3,875 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

They cheated us, we booked for 4 Nights (13th Jan. - 17th Jan.), the accommodation including breakfast, which was not there and Hotel was aware of the things very well in advance but just to sell the booking with lucrative offerings they kept breakfast included and when we arrived they said we have charged you in full but refund will be only to the given card and that is $60 USD per day for 4 PAX, which is not a proper amount and we still waiting for the refund infact. They accommodation was very poor and I think for that cost, San Francisco has many options.

When we called to the hotel 3 days before our arrival, we were told that, our accommodation includes breakfast, but during the stay we didn't offered that and not the refund yet, very unprofessional hotel chain.

My Advise: Please read all the reviews of the hotel below, then only go ahead with your decision.

Room Tip: Look for better option, the best time was checkout !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seasonstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Seasonstravels, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and we apologize for the inconvenience which you went through while you were staying here with us. Our restaurant was undergoing a refresh and will be open in February 2014. we would like to look more in depth on your reservation and check on your refund for you. If you could E-mail to me at stephen.leung@ihg.com or call us at 415-771-9000 and reach any one of our Managers On Duty, we will be glad to assist you. Thank you and have a nice day.

Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

clean and good value especially for the location, very close to pier 39 and the trolley stop and handy for walgreens. we had a view facing the pier and did not hear anything at night. Dennys is attached and great for a quick reasonable priced snack. there was a laundrette on our floor and for $2 could do a reasonable sized wash , the dryers were free or its the other way round. soap powder $1 a box we went to wallgreens and got a large box for $3 as we had been travelling a lot we had quite a lots of washes to do. we ventured over to pier 39 a few nights and were looking forward to our morning walk over the golden gait bridge, however the mist was really bad and we were unable to see much. san fran is a cool place but our highlight was the Alcatraz tour.

Room Tip: ask for pier view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Jill C, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and and we glad to be your great location and great hotel. We are located at the Heart of Fisherman Wharf. In our Wharf building, there is Denny restaurant which open 24hours for late night guest who are hungry and also we have a self service laundry facilitates for our guests as well. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Alcatraz and San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Only stayed here one night and got BED BUG BITES. Both of us had bites everywhere. When we told the manager of the hotel a few days later ( the bites take a few days to show up) he was NOT helpful or apologetic. He told us there were currently people staying in the room, but was not going to move them to a different room because he didn't want to alarm them!! After 30 mins of arguing with him, he finally agreed to refund us 100$. Such a terrible experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nataliethomthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Nataliethomthom, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco. We apologize for any inconvenience or issues while you were staying here with us. We do take Bed Bugs issue seriously. Please E-mail to us at stephen.leung@ihg.com or reach any of our managers on duty at 415-771-9000 and let us know which room you stayed at so we could have our housekeeping department send a professional company to inspect the room and can give you a detail report.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a 3 1/2 hotel and we have stayed in better but for the rating and price we found it very well serviced, clean and good value. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. My advise is to ask for a quiet room as we did - if you face the street you will get the noise.
At the moment there is renovation work going on in the main building and we were glad to stay in the Wharf building 2 minutes down the road which is already updated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perthtravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco perthtravelbugs and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our staff are all friendly and helpful and we do have 2 buildings in which they are right next to each other. We hope to see you again next time when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This has to be the worst place we've stayed in. Despite booking in advance for a three night stay, we were told they had no knowledge of our reservation, however, they said they could do a walk-in and sent us to a room that had an awful smell and twin beds (we'd booked a king size - being married, we actually rather like sleeping in the same bed). That said, if it wasn't for the smell, we'd have 'made do'. We were then sent to a different building 5 minutes away (part of the same hotel) and put in a room by the bins on the ground floor. All night long there's been constant noise from trucks collecting rubbish and we've also had people walking by and just banging on the windows and shouting. The staff are completely disinterested and we found the manager particularly rude with his attitude. To top it all, the place is a dump and in desperate need of an up-date. Unable to use the aircon, as it's so very noisy. Needless to say, we will not be staying here for 3 nights as planned and I cannot wait for the morning to come, so we can get out of this place. We've used Holiday Inns before and always been very pleased with our rooms and service, but this one is a total let down. I don't know how the manager got his job, as he is the most discourteous person we've come across on our trip, bordering on rude. If you like lots of noise, smelly, dated, shabby hotels with unhelpful staff, then stay here!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi Julie R, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and we apologize for the "dreadful experience" you had while you were staying with us. We would like to hear more about what happened with your stay so we can address it appropriately to the right department so this will not happen anymore again. Please reach to me at stephen.leung@ihg.com so we could speak to you about your stay with us. Once again we apologize for any inconvenience and hope you could give us another chance to stay with us again next time.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This Hotel is split in two buildings, could do with a bit of updating but you can not beat it for position the Denny's Restaurant is ideal for a quick snack. The staff are very helpful and no complaints on the cleanliness of the rooms etc. The bottom Cable car Station is a two minute walk from the Hotel and having stayed up in Union Square much prefer to stay in the Fisherman's Wharf area and then visit the Union Square.Well recommended whether you are just adults, couples or with the kids

Room Tip: Would prefer a room in the adjacent building, the reception area is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mascarenhas1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Mascarenhas 1972, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco. We do have 2 buildings which are just right next to each other. We are glad that you enjoyed you stay with us and our staff were helpful to you and your family. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again next time when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
2,362 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
4,207 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £100 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing