We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #92 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Bad nights sleep”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The general feel of this hotel is that it needs a bit of a refitt, it is very well positioned for Fishermans Wharf, however on our first night there was an altercation in the corridor outside of our room. When we rang the front desk to complain it took some time to get a response and all that was said was that the police had been called. When I spoke to the manager the next day he had no knowledge of the incident which didn't inspire confidence. Our room overlooked a service road within which a number of homeless people lived and helped by screaming and shouting through the night. The hotel had no control over this but must have been aware of the vagrants and I would have hoped placed a family in a quieter area of the hotel. To be fair they did offer to move us but as we were only there 2 nights it seemed more effort then it was worth. Be aware when you book to insist on a room at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and we apologize that you had bad nights sleep while you were staying here with us. We can definitely place you on a higher floor next time you stay with us and maybe we can preblock you into an inside room as well. Hope to see you next time again when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    1,664
    899
    258
    151
See reviews for
1,153
1,317
108
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here 1st to 5th march 2014 superb clean room with a lovely comfortable bed coffee maker fridge iron and ironing board lovely bathroom in prime position for all you could want would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
peteacko, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is very valuable so we're excited to hear that you enjoyed your time in our hotel. Many of our guests find that we have a prime location, walkable to many wonderful restaurants and attractions including Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, and the Exploratorium. We look forward to having you back the next time you visit San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is absolutely ideal. A short walk from Fisherman's Wharf where everything is going on!

The hotel is clean and although our room didn't have a view it was comfortable and quiet. The complimentary breakfast is really nice and the staff all seemed extremely friendly.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Fisherman's Wharf.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 103sophiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
103sophiel, thank you very much for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf and for taking the time to review our hotel. We're sorry that we didn't have a room view available for you but we're happy to hear that you found our accommodations clean and suitable for your stay. We're fortunate to operate in a wonderful location walkable to many nearby attractions and restaurants, therefore, many of our guests find significant savings on transportation costs. We truly appreciate your recommendations and will make sure to share your kind words with all of our staff. Next time you visit San Francisco, please make sure to come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here as a family of 4. We had connecting rooms however we were on the bottom floor. Initially we thought great but by weeks end we were not happy. Cleaners seemed to start at 8am and the pool was right outside our room. It said outside that pool was open from 9am but our room compendium said 6! With 2 young children woken up by cleaners in the hallway and people swimming it tainted our overall experience. The wifi is the worst I've ever used! Slow is an understatement. Nice staff though and pretty convenient to fishermans wharf & transport.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPDonovan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear MPDonovan 71. Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and We apologize for the issues you had while you were staying here with us. We will follow up with our housekeeping department on the compendium in our room about the pool hours and will talk to our room cleaners about the early cleaning procedure. We hope you can stay us again next time so we can place you on a higher floor so you will be away from the noise.

Thank you and have a nice day
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Spent two nights here and was very pleasantly surprised as I had read mixed reviews of this establishment. Check in was a breeze and we were allocated a room on the second floor overlooking the pool. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was fine but really shower curtains are so last century in an hotel of this standard - time for an upgrade, methinks. There was some noise from the pool area in the evening but this came to an end at 10pm. The location is good for Fisherman's Wharf, the Grey Line hop on hop off bus and Pier 33 for Alcatraz. Very well satisfied with, and appreciative of, the FREE wifi which seems to be essential for travellers nowadays.
The only negative comment would be that I felt it was a little pricey, the most expensive hotel of all booked during our three weeks in the USA. However, I would book it again if I were to return to SF.

Room Tip: Nowhere near a lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear NormadPerth,

Thank you for the comment.

I will share this comment with the staff and Management of the hotel. It's great to read that your experience with us wonderful. Our rates are competative and we based it on what the other hotels in the area are offering. Our hotel actually offers one of the best rates in the area.

I am very happy to hear that you will stay with us again next time you're in San Francisco. I look forward to your next visit.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Located right on Fisherman's Wharf it is a good place to be based. The beds were comfortable but that is about where it stops.
We were located in the building across from the main hotel so needed to wheel all of our luggage through the streets to get to our room once checked in. On one of the days I noticed that housekeeping had taken my leggings when they had changed the bedding. We called housekeeping and they had accidentally put them through the laundry and would try and retrieve them before we checked out that afternoon. When informing the concierge, he was so blank and unhelpful about the whole situation. Even then when we went on to ask about an airport shuttle service & luggage stowing he was really rude about everything.
There wasn't much noise at night, we were located on the Beach street side right across from Fisherman's Wharf, except for the children in the room next to us running up & down the corridors jumping on the beds. The hotel seems quite older and is due for a renovation or at the least some new styling to get rid of the musty smell. This hotel was the cheapest of all the hotels we stayed at while in the USA so you get what you pay for :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alycia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Alycia2013,

I very dissapointed to read about some of the challenges you encountered while visiting th hotel. I will most certainly share your comment with the concierge Manager bcause this service is out sourced to anoither company. It's important that the concierge focuses on the delivery of service. I find out why bell service was not offered to you because we have this available to any of our guest staying with us. I hope that you will give another opportunity to be of service to you next you visit San Francisco. I know that we can do a better job.

If you have any additional comments or concern, let me know.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. A great place to stay with 2 adults and 2 kids (5 and 7) and a simply awesome location.
Very easy walk to Fishermans Wharf, cable cars. We also walked to the crooked part of Lombard street (although very steep on the way there).
Very helpful staff.
The most comfortable pillows out of the 7 hotels we stayed at arpnd California over 3 weeks.
Laundry in the basement was great to do washing.
Quite a bit of street noise at night time, but that added to the fun.
Car parking was $40 a night plus tax. It is not cheap to have a car anywhere in San Francisco.
The dinner specials in the restaurant were great with fantastic service (but for breakfast, go out somewhere within a quick walking distance).

Definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Brett O,

It's great to hear that you had a wonderful experience staying with with us while visiting San Francisco.

I am also very happy to hear that you will with us again in the future. In the meantime, if you have friends or Family planning a trip to San Francisco, please share your great experience staying with us and let them know we are the hotel for them.

Thank you and I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#62 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, IHG, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing