We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good basic, good location, nice staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #92 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good basic, good location, nice staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nothing fancy, so it may feel overpriced, but, it's appropriate for the location. Two or three blocks' walk to the wharf and all its tourist attractions. Good little breakfast place across the st on Columbus, Joanie's. Holiday Inn has breakfast and dinner only (plus a full bar), no lunch. Stephen at the front desk is a stellar guy; I'm handicapped and he got us near the elevator in a quiet room, and saved the room. This doesn't always happen at other lodging places. I'd stay there again if I needed to be in that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thanks so much for staying as well as the review. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    1,632
    888
    257
    147
See reviews for
1,122
1,290
105
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had the opportunity to travel to San Francisco for a convention and stayed at the hotel. Very convenient location to Fisherman's Wharf area but not so much to the Moscone Convention Center due to distance. Easy enough to get to by either taking the trolley just north of part of the hotel located above / around the Denny's or taking the #30 bus across the street from where the Travelodge is located. Will take about half hour each way. Good thing though is that Fisherman's Wharf area is 1 - 2 blocks north. Very near restaurants, bars, arcade like area, etc.

The room itself was very average with a typical TV, some cable channels, chair, desk, safe, etc. Warning: If your room is near the Denny's or the street in between Holiday Inn buildings you will probably be awakened by party folks coming from the bars and restaurants. Windows don't od a good job of blocking out external noise (yet walls and ceiling were fine with respect to noise from next door and above, respectively). Wifi access was good and available from everywhere I tried.

The Denny's downstairs is about the most overpriced chain restaurant I have ever seen with a large soda at more than $3. Sorry, but that is complete robbery if someone is going to take the offer. Go down the street and go to the In&Out Burger :-) for food if you want something fast.

Parking at the hotel is about $45 a night which to me is ridiculous but pretty standard fair for the area and allows in/out privileges. Note: If the parking lot starts getting full there are some spots that will be exciting to get into or out of depending on the car's orientation.

The staff was very nice and friendly. Very helpful in getting information concerning the area, travel, and similar items.

Overall, I thought that whole package was good but just too overpriced for what you got. I've stayed in larger cities and in similar travel areas and found the higher prices to be more apropos with what you experienced. I would stay at this location again but I would do more research the next opportunity concerning what other options were present.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 945945JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello, thanks so much for staying as well as posting your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location in the Fisherman's Wharf district. It is close to the F line street car and the cable cars and quick access to the rest of San Francisco. Only a short walk to many good restaurants, including those in little Italy. Rooms ok with reasonable facilities. It's a typical holiday inn, just a good 3 star hotel, nothing flash, service as you would expected and we'd certainly go back and stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi, I am so glad you found us clean,comfortable and quiet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is where you want to position yourself to explore SFO. Its in a safe area, it is very touristy (oh well!), but its lovely. This Holiday Inn is not cheap but you are in a primo position. The hotel is very clean and the service is the best I have had. I also really appreciated the little touches like fresh apples at reception, being able to order extra blankets or robes free.

If you book early enough, you may score the breakfast with the room. Breakfast buffet is $30 so that's a great deal. I would highly recommend this hotel and will choose to stay again. Had to move to inner city hotel after our stay. Do not recommend inner city for staying - feels very unsafe downtown at night.

Wifi is not the best, especially when everyone in the hotel just wakes up or goes to bed. Keep that in mind.

Room Tip: Look for a good deal before booking. There are usually lots of options online
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for staying. So glad you had a great stay. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and many other sights, locations, restaurants, etc. everything was spotless despite the many visitors and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. Added benefit was the bar! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Admrlpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for staying. So glad you had a great stay. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
431 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Considering the holiday weekend and the wonderful location, this motel is a winner. Nothing fancy, helpful staff and free wifi. Slept well and considering we were right off of Beach street and a tram track, not very noisy either. Did I mention the location? Maybe two minutes to the wharf. Denny's located in the lobby of the second building. Really was a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasmandevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for staying. So glad you had a great stay. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

As far as location goes, probably can't be beat. But as far as value, a few more dollars would have gotten you a better hotel room at another competitors place.

Now I know why I haven't been staying at a Holiday Inn. It was an older hotel and the A/C was loud, lots of street noise and pigeons roosting on a covered ledge right outside our window. I said something to the front desk, but they said there was no other rooms available to move too.

Just didn't feel it was worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdogg_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello, thanks so much for staying I am so glad you liked our location. Hope to see you soon at a Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#52 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,997 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing