We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #85 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is right on Fisherman's Wharf with all the hop on hop off buses and trolleys right outside the door. It's also only a short walk to Pier 39, Ghiradelli Square and cable cars. We stayed in the new Wharf building so everything lovely and new. Be warned though that there is no mini fridge unless you pay to hire one. It's also in the next block to the main reception so be careful where you park your car or you'll be dragging your luggage all the way. Our reservation sheet gave us the address of the main building on Columbus so we checked in there and paid our parking fee of USD 45.60 then parked the car thinking we were in that building. On checking the map realised that we actually had to cross the street to get to the other building which was no fun with lots of luggage and 2 small children. When we got to the Wharf building we saw that they have their own reception. Would've been nice to be told that from the start! Rooms are fairly standard but quite comfortable. We got a decent rate so were very happy with our stay. There is a Denny's down the bottom of the Wharf building but I don't rate it very highly (standard Denny's food). You definitely don't need a car to stay here and why pay such expensive parking rates. Use the trolleys to travel all around for only $2 and you can even transfer. Avis and Hertz are right across the street so you can drive to San Francisco if you need to and then return your hire car and walk back to your room. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're overlooking the wharf it can be quite noisy with the trolleys going past all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFambrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi, Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 3,862 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We totally PAID for our stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf on booking and our only payment due was parking yet they reserved over $700USD on a card of mine that was holding my prepaid US$. At no stage was I informed that $$ would be "reserved" on my card. The $$ were reserved for 3 days after we left the hotel and were only freed up after I contacted my card provider to find out why my card was bounced at the next stay. This practice is wrong and should not be allowed.
Our stay was comfortable and the hotel is well located but everything was over shadowed by this disgraceful practice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneysida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello sir,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry you had an issue with your card and hope you contact me to find how we can better assist you the next time your or any other guests stays with us. Util then safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Typical Holiday Inn accomodations, but you can not beat the location.
Easy access to public transporation and walking distance to attractions.
We were not happy with daily parking fee, but not unusual for area.
We would stay again and recommend to others.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe50andLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for staying. So glad you had a great stay. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Standard Hotel, very clean, great price point. The best part was the location. Just around the corner from the Wharf. The hop-on-hop-off bus is only a few steps away. Was great to be able to head to a from our room so quickly between tours and meals. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Basic rooms but very clean. The hallways are long so if you have mobility issues, ask for a room clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_vacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for staying. So glad you had a great stay. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nothing fancy, so it may feel overpriced, but, it's appropriate for the location. Two or three blocks' walk to the wharf and all its tourist attractions. Good little breakfast place across the st on Columbus, Joanie's. Holiday Inn has breakfast and dinner only (plus a full bar), no lunch. Stephen at the front desk is a stellar guy; I'm handicapped and he got us near the elevator in a quiet room, and saved the room. This doesn't always happen at other lodging places. I'd stay there again if I needed to be in that area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thanks so much for staying as well as the review. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had the opportunity to travel to San Francisco for a convention and stayed at the hotel. Very convenient location to Fisherman's Wharf area but not so much to the Moscone Convention Center due to distance. Easy enough to get to by either taking the trolley just north of part of the hotel located above / around the Denny's or taking the #30 bus across the street from where the Travelodge is located. Will take about half hour each way. Good thing though is that Fisherman's Wharf area is 1 - 2 blocks north. Very near restaurants, bars, arcade like area, etc.

The room itself was very average with a typical TV, some cable channels, chair, desk, safe, etc. Warning: If your room is near the Denny's or the street in between Holiday Inn buildings you will probably be awakened by party folks coming from the bars and restaurants. Windows don't od a good job of blocking out external noise (yet walls and ceiling were fine with respect to noise from next door and above, respectively). Wifi access was good and available from everywhere I tried.

The Denny's downstairs is about the most overpriced chain restaurant I have ever seen with a large soda at more than $3. Sorry, but that is complete robbery if someone is going to take the offer. Go down the street and go to the In&Out Burger :-) for food if you want something fast.

Parking at the hotel is about $45 a night which to me is ridiculous but pretty standard fair for the area and allows in/out privileges. Note: If the parking lot starts getting full there are some spots that will be exciting to get into or out of depending on the car's orientation.

The staff was very nice and friendly. Very helpful in getting information concerning the area, travel, and similar items.

Overall, I thought that whole package was good but just too overpriced for what you got. I've stayed in larger cities and in similar travel areas and found the higher prices to be more apropos with what you experienced. I would stay at this location again but I would do more research the next opportunity concerning what other options were present.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 945945JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello, thanks so much for staying as well as posting your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location in the Fisherman's Wharf district. It is close to the F line street car and the cable cars and quick access to the rest of San Francisco. Only a short walk to many good restaurants, including those in little Italy. Rooms ok with reasonable facilities. It's a typical holiday inn, just a good 3 star hotel, nothing flash, service as you would expected and we'd certainly go back and stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kiwiseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hi, I am so glad you found us clean,comfortable and quiet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,327 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#111 of 230 in San Francisco
4,189 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £71 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing