We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #91 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's all about the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here as 5 adults in three rooms. There was a conference on at the time of our stay but getting three rooms close to each other was not a problem. We had rooms in the annex which although some people have complained about we felt was actually much better than having them in the main building. It still has its own reception and luggage room and it has an all night Denny's which was very handy after leaving the pub at half past midnight.

Our room didn't have a view but it was clean and of a good size. The beds were very comfortable and gave myself and my partner a fantastic nights sleep. There is no wardrobe but there is a large chest of drawers and a small amount of hanging space by the door. The bathroom is looking a bit tired but it was clean with a good, hot shower. There is tea and coffee and a kettle and a full size mirror in the room which I like to see.

We really chose this hotel because of it's proximity to Fisherman's Wharf and boy was it close! Head out the parking garage, walk less than 5 minutes and you are on the pier looking out into the bay and Alcatraz. You can easily walk to Pier 39 and the pier for Alcatraz.There is a Walgreen's just has you walk out of the parking garage which was handy for stocking up before the day ahead. There several hop on/hop off bus stops round the corner and the street cars (trams) of the F line stops right outside the Walgreen's too. This tram can get you round the pier and to union square and beyond without having to change lines. Be warned though it gets very busy!

For breakfast try the Hollywood Café, Joanie's Happy Days Café and the Beuena Vista Café all around a 5minute walk from our room.

On our departure we had a late flight so we had to leave our bags which wasn't a problem as the annex has it's own luggage room. The bell boy also offered to book our taxi to the airport for us which was a nice touch.

I enjoyed my stay here and so did the rest of our party. It does need upgrading but at the moment it doesn't impact on the quality of stay. If we were coming back to San Francisco I would definitely book here again. The location is just too good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktmc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying as well as posting your thoughts. I am so glad you enjoyed the location and we look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    1,645
    894
    257
    148
See reviews for
1,136
1,302
107
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here 2 weeks ago at the beginning of a three week tour of California. Our stay was almost faultless and this was reflected in a 5 star review. However, as we ended our stay with two nights here, it was quite a different story. We arrived in a hire car and as we stopped outside the hotel to unload our three kids and numerous heavy bags, a concierge watched as we struggled and did nothing to help. This struck me as strange, particularly given how happy we were with the hotel staff last time. We checked into our room and I was looking forward to catching up with my work emails as we had no wifi in Sequoia National Park. The wifi was almost non existent in our room (Rm 566) so I contacted the internet help number. This was an outsourced service and I spent over half an hour on the line wi a guy who changed proxy, change other settings, reset the router etc. all to no avail. When I complained to the front desk I was told there was nothing they could do and reminded that 'the internet's free after all'. I ended up sat on the floor in the corridor checking my emails which was quite ridiculous. If you advertise high speed internet, then it should at least work. Other aspects of our stay were good, including a no fuss late checkout. A special mention for the housekeeping staff who were always cheerful, friendly and efficient.
A disappointing end to our holiday, particularly after our earlier stay.

Room Tip: If you need it, ask about the wifi connection in your room and avoid room 566 and those around it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aligscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear aligscott

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and we apologize for the inconvenience. Our bellman/concierge/Front Desk. We will contact our internet support vendor and check on the status, especially room 566. Please give us another chance to serve you and we will improve our service.

Thank you and hope you have a nice day

Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here 13/5 -17/5 and found it a great location to see a lot of the more popular attractions.
We stayed in the annex building. Conveniently found it had a Denny's in the lobby which we used once for borek kite, but other great breakfasts are nearby at Hollywood Cafe and Eagle Cafe at Pier 39. Hallways looked a little dated but room was great with very comfortable king size bed and great equipment such as coffee maker, iron and board, lots of space. We didn't use pool etc. parking is expensive $40 per night so I used Gotto Park and booked car park on Beach St, 2 min walk away and saved loads. Bike hire right opposite and some lovely cycle routes out towards Crissy Field and over GGB. Loads of restaurants nearby and good atmosphere. For a special evening we went to the Ghirardelli Square and splashed out on a stunning meal with great views over the bay.
Look out for very reasonable boat trips out under the GGB leaving from Fishermans Wharf for $ 15 pp which was a great few hours.
Alcatraz was surprisingly very good and def worth a visit.
Our best day was driving out to Napa Valley and visiting V. Sattui winery. A great day with beautiful country side and finished off with Muir Beach and a drive up Mt Tamalpais having dinner at Mountain Home Inn with stunning views over the whole Bay Area from halfway up mountain. Brilliant

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan2008Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks so much for the great review as well as staying with us. Thanks so much and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Love this hotel! I am usually not a huge fan of the Holiday Inn, however this was a wonderful hotel. The location is AWESOME! It is just a short walk to Pier 39, and around the corner you can catch the hop on hop off bus tour. It is close to restaurants and shopping.

We did not have a room with a view, but it was clean, large, comfortable and even a little stylish! The building is very nice and the service was excellent. We were even able to check in at 10 am!

The only thing I can say is that the price for parking was very high at $40 a night in addition to the room cost, but all the hotels will charge a parking fee anyway, so can't complain too much. Beware that San Francisco prices are high, and it will be cheaper to stay outside the city, but I believe there is value in being able to walk everywhere you want to go!

Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17tangerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My sister and I stayed twice at the Holiday Inn at Fisherman's Wharf in June. Both times our rooms were immaculate! Service was great - from the front desk to the cleaning crew to the dining staff. This hotel is perfectly situated a short walk from Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. We were within a couple blocks of numerous restaurants, the Hop-On-Hop-Off Bus line, and the cable cars. Several times we had breakfast and dinner right in the hotel. Although the selection is small, everything we ordered was delicious. I'd go back there in a minute!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathiSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieterlen
Level Contributor
163 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This nice hotel is only a few steps away from Fisherman's Wharf. If you are able to walk for a while, there is no need to use your car while staying at this hotel and pay parking fees at the main attractions.
The rooms are spacious. Make sure to ask for a room on 2nd floor and higher. The rooms on 1st floor are not so nice and don't have a view at all.
The staff at reception is extremely friendly and helpful.
Very good and large indoor park deck, however, at an extra cost of $ 40.00 per day. .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts on the stay. We do hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for a 3 day visit to San Francisco, the hotel is located in the popular Fisherman's Wharf area where there is a good selection of bars and restaurants and there is a city tourist bus right around the corner.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are large and clean with modern LCD TV, there is a small pool and gym too. WiFi is free and there is parking at $40 per day (parking seems to be limited in the city).

I didn't use the restaurant in the hotel for any meals as there are plenty of places to eat in the area which you can walk to in minutes. If you want a good base for a trip to Frisco you could do a lot worse than this hotel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EODUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,900 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing