We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good except Wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #92 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tyrone, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good except Wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very convenient location, excellent doorman, desk staff and concierge that practically has the city bus/tolley/ taxi routes memorized. A little overpriced as all SF hotels are and the parking situation is silly. Breakfast buffet was good but also overpriced. Room size, looks, cleaning was as expected for price.

Have to mention the atrocious wifi. Very poor in room, was sporadic in bathroom. Had to try 3 different terminals to print out boarding pass. At least it was free, when it worked. They even give you the number to their IS dept. on checkin. Wifi drops in overall score form a 5 to 4.

Room Tip: Views are non existent being 2 blocks away from bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faithnglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting you thoughts on the stay. I am so glad you enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you again at the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    1,645
    894
    257
    148
See reviews for
1,136
1,302
107
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vanersborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel located @ the heart of fishermans wharf.
Cleaning service is good.
Parking is underground and as always in SF, very expensive ($40 /day).
There are two buildings, main and wharf.
In the bottom of the wharf building there are a resturant called Dennis and they serve a good breakfast for a avarage cost.
Over all, a good hotel in the nicest part of SF.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello,

Thank yo so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts. I am so glad you enjoyed our location as well as the service of our housekeepers as they truly work had. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great location, right near fishermans wharf
Nice view from our room of a park
Free wifi provided
Whilst rooms were nice and clean, they need to be updated.
Next time I would probably prefer to spend a little more money and stay in a nicer hotel
Hardly any tv channels on offer

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello Nicole J,

Thank you so much for staying with me as well as posting your thoughts. I am glad you enjoyed the location as well as the wi-fi and view. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a great stay at the Holiday Inn! The rooms were clean, comfortable, and updated. The pool looked nice, but we didn't have time to use it. The staff was friendly, helpful, and courteous. Unfortunately, the hotel didn't offer free breakfast, but there were plenty of restaurants nearby. The hotel is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf, which has lots of shopping and restaurants. Overall, we had a great stay, and would stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Lindner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for staying as well as posting your thoughts on the stay. I am so glad you had a great stay and look forward to having you stay with us again. Until then safe travels and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

There's pros and cons to this hotel and imo the cons outweigh the pros. Pros - the location is good, easy access to Fisherman's Wharf and Ghiradelli Square. The rooms were clean and updated. The beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly. They do have a kiosk that allows you to check in to your airline for your return trip and print outs as well. Cons - there's another Holiday Inn (an Express) around the block. Its similarly priced but includes a small breakfast buffet. This hotel does NOT include a buffet. In fact, the buffet offered is extremely over priced. All their food is overpriced. If you order breakfast the waiter takes food off the buffet, plates it or gives it to the "chef" to reheat or plate up and serve to you like it was prepared in the kitchen special for you when it wasn't. I actually watched it happening. They tell you they have a Denny's on site, when in fact its in a separate building. You have to walk out the front door, around the block to another building. It is technically part of the same hotel, but is separate. If you go out the back door to access Denny's easier, you cannot get back in the same way. You can get into the main building with your room key, but no such access available for the floor door. The cost of the meals at Denny's are very high. Didn't really save to eat at Denny's instead of the hotel. Another con, the walls are thin. We were next to the pool area, which was a bit of a problem with unattended kids running loose. They had a vending machine that took me dozen of attempts to accept my dollars (and they were new and crisp). They do have a gift shop/convenience type store at the entrance. It was nice to get a bottle of water/soda before departing for my day, but it was also pricey and the woman working was a little pushy about trying to sell me souvenirs. Anyway, the place wasn't bad, just really overpriced for what it was and for the amenities offered. Next time, I'd go with the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: There's a Holiday Inn Express essentially next door that is a better value, includes their break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzybeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello Daniel_Lindner,

Thanks so much for staying with us as well as posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay as we do work hard to provide a great hotel that guests love. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Very pricey but it's San Fran near the wharf, it doesn't get cheaper. We upgraded to the jr suite and it was the perfect size. Wifi was free and strong. No breakfast but had a frig and microwave so we got breakfast and drinks the night before to save money. It was loud in the morning-we were over an alley. Minutes from anything tourist you want to do. Take the old cable car ride from Powell-Hyde turnaround early in the morning. Kids and adults loved the ride go one way into downtown and then take The F train back-it's cheaper.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaDx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear GinaDX

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We apologize about the noise in the alley but we will make sure next time you visit us, we will have an interior room for you.

Hope to see you next time again in San Francisco.

Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

It's a Holiday Inn, so one knows what to expect. However, this one has a truly great location, super-friendly, helpful staff, is clean and pleasant. Great value. Avoid the street-facing rooms, it's a busy area. Will return.

Room Tip: Avoid the street-facing rooms, it's a busy area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twa203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear twa203

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you for your feedback about our super friendly staff, clean hotel and we will keep up our good work.

Hope to see you next time when you visit San Francisco.

Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,900 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing