We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Proximity to Wharf, But Beware Room Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #92 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Proximity to Wharf, But Beware Room Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our family of four stayed at the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf recently for one night on our road trip down the coast.

The pros: For the price, the location of this hotel really can't be beat. It is just around the corner from the Wharf, two blocks from Ghirardelli Square, and close to the trolleys/cable cars. It was nice to be able to easily and quickly walk everywhere we wanted to go. The staff is friendly and the place is very clean and updated.

The cons: First, this particular con is specific to our room location. We had a second story room overlooking the garbage dumpsters (alley). That in itself didn't bother me; we didn't really expect a good view and we wouldn't be in the room much anyway. Not a problem at all. Until the next morning when the first garbage truck came. At 6:00 a.m. I am not exaggerating when I say that we thought San Francisco was experiencing an earthquake. The noise and ground-shaking rumbling of the truck, combined with the screeching, banging and clanging of the dumpsters, was deafening. Luckily, it only lasted for about 5 minutes, so we were able to get back to sleep. Then the second garbage truck came less than an hour later, and we got to experience it all over again. Maybe this isn't a daily thing; maybe Wednesday morning is their weekly trash pick up day. I guess I should have been smart enough to put two and two together and realize that a garbage truck might come during our stay (at 6:00 a.m.), and requested another room. My bad. Don't make the same mistake: Be on the safe side (or the quiet side) and make sure you get a room far, far on the other side of the hotel from the dumpsters. If you like to sleep past 6:00 a.m. while on vacation, and if something akin to a nuclear bomb detonating outside your bedroom window wakes you, you will be glad you did.

Second, breakfast is not included. It seems that none of the hotels near the wharf offer breakfast included in the price. I guess they feel that it is an amenity that they just don't have to offer because the lack thereof will not impact their business in any way.

Third, the $40.00 per day parking fee. Unfortunately, space is at a premium in this area of San Francisco, and you will not escape parking fees. The good news is that their parking fee is only $40.00. I saw other hotels in the area with parking fees in the $50-$60 range. I still list it as a con because I had to pay $40.00 to park my tiny, compact, hybrid rental car.

Even with the cons listed, if I could ensure a room far, far away from the dumpsters (made an otherwise 4-star review a 3-star review), I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again in the future because of it's location and relative value compared to similar hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is nowhere near the Dumpsters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TucsonNative69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello Thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts. I hope to see you again soon at the Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    1,632
    888
    257
    147
See reviews for
1,122
1,290
105
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. We arrived early and were able to check in without a hassle. We had a room in the main building; there are two buildings that make up this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom was a bit small with very little counter space. Free Wi-Fi and a refrigerator were plusses. The pool area is small. The location could not be better for San Francisco tourists, convenient to all attractions. Parking is a bit steep ($45 per day) so don’t take a car into the City unless you don’t absolutely need it. We used Airport Express (found on hotel site) for $30 roundtrip per person from SFO. Eating at the hotel is pricy but there are so many local options so you don’t have to. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building on a high floor if you are looking for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYGirlLovinTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello and thank you so much for staying. I am so glad you had a great stay and hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

After a long haul flight and 28 hours of travel to be checked in by an arrogant unfriendly desk hop was not a great start to the stay. I was then sent off down the road to the "other" hotel, dragging luggage and bags wondering just where the heck I was going. A dreadful welcome. The key didn't work so another journey back to reception before finally entering a slightly grubby, worn-out, room. Not sure whose idea it was to put the origami frog towel, with the spooky orange stickers for eyes on the bed ... But it's wrong and weird and something you'd expect in a child care centre bathroom ( maybe).
The location is great, you're right at the wharf. However I am sure there are plenty of better choices.

IMPORTANT TIP
ask how much they are taking from your credit card for incidentals.... $836.00 in my case! They did refund and call my bank when I discovered the charge. However it was missing for four days.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Theburnsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts. I hope to see you again at a Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent 3 nights in this Hotel from 17th to 19th February 2014. It is ideally located within easy walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and other essential San Francisco features including Pier 39, the Cable Car and tramway systems. You canget great views of the Bay and Golden Gate Bridge nearby. We stayed in the annexe across the road from the main Hotel. A 24 hour Denny's was located on the ground floor, whilst there was a good restaurant off the lobby in the main Hotel.

Room Tip: You might prefer a room in the main hotel......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello thank you so much for staying as well as posting your thoughts. Thanks again and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel was in a good location. One block from Fishermans wharf and close to the cable car and hop on hop off stop. Internet was very slow. No breakfast included. Laundry facilities good. Bed comfortable. Front desk all business no but did their job well. Parking 40 bucks per day. Really? But the view was absolutely horrible, see pics attached. Really for 300 bucks a night I would have expected a little better.

Room Tip: Hard to say but ask if you face a horrible alley and building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyfromwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello nancyfromwoodward,

Thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is true that it is very difficult to get a view at any hotel in the area due to the fact that all buildings cannot exceed 5 floors and are all a block off of the waterfront due to land fill. We are in luck that we do have a few that are bookable in advance. Again thanks so much and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Recently stayed in a family room (2 x double beds) and found the hotel to be very central and the room was comfortable and clean. We didn't avail of the breakfast and chose to eat outside the hotel instead as it was a bit pricey for same. There are plenty of cafes nearby and one just around the corner which served fabulous cakes and made-to-order sandwiches. This hotel is within walking distance of Pier 39 and bicycle hire to tour the Golden Gate Bridge and return by ferry which is wonderful for the whole family. The location is fantastic but would advise anyone travelling from the airport to just hail a taxi as it is a bit of a walk from the tramline to the hotel if dragging a case!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nblanche, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello Ida C,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location. Fisherman's Wharf is just a block away and you are correct that there are numerous restaurant options for all our guests to enjoy. Please come and visit us again next time you visit San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayzata, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I would like to thank Holiday Inn on Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco for their wonderful employee Joy who works their front desk. Joy was very helpful during our three day stay earlier this month. She provided directions and advice on a variety of questions I posed. What a great gal. I look forward to staying at the Holiday Inn next time we are in San Fran. Thanks Joy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkm111353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nblanche, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear nkm111353,

Thank you for staying with us! You are lucky to have met one of our loveliest employees - Joy. We are glad that she made your experience with us extra memorable. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,996 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing