We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position for main attractions.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #86 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel was our first stop on our California road trip, we had researched the hotel on TA well before our visit , we asked out travel agent to email the hotel to ask for accommodation in the main building , we knew the swimming pool was there. Upon checking in we discovered we were in the Wharf building, I couldn't be bothered to make an issue of it after a long flight. As it turned out its quite handy to have a 24hr Denny's in the same building!! Our room was fairly standard Holiday Inn accommodation it was clean and fairly spacious. More importantly it was a good position for Alcatraz pier, Pier 39, the cable car Ghiradelli square. I would suggest getting to the cable car between 0900am and 0930am then you will hardly que for the ride to Powell Street. There were definitly a few vagrants near the hotel during the evening which could be a little intimidating at times, It's a shame but I believe it's a typical problem in North American cities.
If returning to SF I would stay at HI Fishermans Wharf again.

Room Tip: Try to get the main building if you want to swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tengies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts. Thanks again and hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,467 - 1,473 of 3,896 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Located just two minutes walking from pier 39, the two lines of the historical cable car and the regular cable car, make it a supreme location. We also walked to Chinatown and the famous Lombard street. The hotel's service was excellent and so were the rooms, that were spacious and welcoming. The stuff in the reception was professional and helpful. The hotel has two wings in separate buildings. One of the wings has a Denny's diner inside that works 24 hours a day. at midnight it was a convenient way to eat something :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ustern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello thank you much for staying as well as posting your thoughts. I am so glad you had a great stay as well as found our location the best in town.. Thanks again and see you soon at the Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were in San Francisco moving our daughter and needed a place to rest for the night. We didn't really want to stay in the Fisherman's Wharf area but the value of this hotel was the best. We are so glad we did! The staff was sensitive to our needs and the place is in great shape. It is walking distance to a lot of fun places and even though it is touristy, it was San Francisco and who can't have fun in San Francisco! I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms at higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello thank you so much for staying as well as posting your thoughts. I am so gald you had a great stay and cant wait to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel do not offer shuttle service. We did the check in in the main building and were sent (walking by the sidewalk, full of luggage), to another building, one block far from the main front desk. The rooms are great and clean. The "Dennys" front desk team, were not very happy with their jobs. The view from this "Dennys" building is not good neither. Besides that, since the location is good, we had really good time in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Better training to the front desk team, in the "Dennys" buiding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LucileneBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello thank you so much for staying as well as posting your thoughts. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We got a great deal on (2) rooms by booking late the night before check in using AAA website.

The location was ideal. Walking distance to Pier 39, restaurants, shopping and public transportation. This was convenient for us because it allowed our daughter and her friend (22 & 21) freedom to go off on their own.

I had hoped that we would be able to book a second night but rates were more than double so we moved to a Holiday Inn practically next door.

The only downside was the cost to park the car. Prior to this trip to CA we had never paid to park our car at a hotel. It's a common practice here and this was one of the most expensive parking fees of our trip adding $45 to the tab. To be fair, it's pricey to park anywhere in SF.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello and thank you so much for staying with us. I am glad you found our location key as we are close to so many landmarks like Chinatown, North Beach and Union Square as well as being at the Wharf itself. Thanks again and hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our holiday in America.
Check in was quick in easy but once we had checked in we where told to go out of the building and cross the road and go into the building next door.
We did this and found this part of the hotel to be in desperate need of a make over (it seems all Virgin holiday makers get put in here as the rep is based in here)
Although the rooms where clean and of a good size the overall feel for the hotel was that it was very outdated.
We stayed in 6 hotels in America on this trip and this was the worst out of the them all I would say.
Not a bad location though as close to Fishermans Wharf

Room Tip: Ask for the main hotel and not the one across the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KaylieT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello thank you so much for staying as well as posting your thoughts. I am gald you liked your stay but am sorry there was no wow factor. I do hope you try us again so we can provide you with the wow you were liking for. Until then thanks and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location close to Fishermans Wharf, between our favourites Giradelli and Boudin. Large and clean rooms. A small heated outdoor swimmingpool and very helpful staff. The location was excellent for seightseeing by bus, tram or boat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Agneta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello and Thank you so much for staying as well as posting your thoughts. Hope to see you soon at the Holiday Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
4,243 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
370 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £117 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing