We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Close to Fisherman's Wharf Attraction” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #92 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location Close to Fisherman's Wharf Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel is located within walking distance from one of San Francisco's most popular attractions. Guest can easily walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 and other attractions. The rooms were clean and updated.

Room Tip: Business services area is located on the 5th floor, so if you will be needing a computer or printer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissB9996MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear chrissB9996MD

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco. One of our hotel selling point is location, we are within walking distance to lots of sightseeing places.

Hope to see you again next time in San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    1,632
    886
    257
    147
See reviews for
1,121
1,289
105
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I used Booking.com to reserve the hotel. Site unseen, going blindly into a city we knew nothing about. We were pleasantly surprised. There were three of us. My husband, myself and our 13yo son. We were in town as part of our CA baseball stadium tour.

Checking in was uneventful. The rep was pleasant, she smiled and made eye contact. Our room was ready when we arrived around 1pm. We dropped our bags and hit the road to walk the city.

The room was nice enough. Typical hotel room. Nothing "WOW". Two beds, flat screen TV, desk. The view looked to be an alley way, but that didn't bother us, we didn't plan on spending THAT much time in the room.

We walked down to the wharf, about a block and half down, we walked down to Pier 39 and did some site seeing.

The first night happened to be the night the earthquake happened in the early hours. Have to admit, my family and I slept through the whole thing. The beds were comfortable, could have been bigger and the pillows were a bit on the soft side, otherwise it was a good night.

The bathroom was very spacious. Hot water, good pressure. The sink was slow to drain and the shower looked like it needed a good scrub, but it was roomy enough for two adults to move around without stepping on each other.

Did a little more touring and then headed to Oakland for the A's vs Angels game.

Returned to the hotel, room cleaned and tidy.

Did use the Guest Laundry. Only issue I had was no fabric softener available. Otherwise clean and easy to use.

Highly recommend the Buena Vista Cafe about 2 blocks over. Have the Irish Coffee.

We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel, although it looked nice. We were too interested in getting in the city and enjoying.

Our last night we went to AT&T park for the Giants vs Rockies game. Although the public trans would have been ok, we drove. Parking was EASY. We were able to park 6 hours ahead of game time.

Easy checkout of the hotel via the TV.

Typical of SF (and LA) you do pay to park, approx. $40/night. It's secure and you need a key to enter the parking garage.

Overall recommend this hotel for location and value.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkentink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello and thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were only in San Francisco for 4 nights and wanted to be be close to the major tourist sights so the HI was an ideal location. Room was a good size, clean bathroom. Small pool with sun deck, laundry facilities in the basement if required. Didn't eat in the Restaurant as it seemed pretty soul less and there are so many other places within walking distance. I loved SF and wished we had planned our trip to spend more time there and less in LA, just means we'll have to return another time ! If we did would probably choose this hotel if we got a good rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayaddict02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello and thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here to be near all the cafés and eating places. The wharf gets very busy so we got to the early sitting in restaurants so as not to wait. The hotel is very typical Holiday Inn but it suits a short stay in a central area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello and thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Fantastic location within the city. Rooms are large with a large bathroom. Decor slightly dated, rooms slightly musty. But all in all I would stay here again. The room we had wasn't too noisy. Car parking is minimal but we got a space. Hotel even held to the earthquake we had whilst staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemski D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello and thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean and in a good location. Breakfast is complimentary but just like a cafeteria with not much of a range. Given that it is included in your accommodation it's quite satisfactory to get you started for your day ahead.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KristyFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello and thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Good location. Clean comfortable rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. We had to get 2 rooms as there are five of us, staff managed to ensure rooms were near each other but feel hotel of this size should have been able to provide us with interconnecting rooms. Restaurant boring, breakfast expensive. Rooms overlooking road noisy. Best rooms are the internal ones.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank santina_laporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts. Hope to see you soon at the Holiday inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,995 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing