We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great but be beware of room choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #87 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The hotel consists of a main building where all facilities are located and a seperate block where only facilities consists of an overpriced "Denny's " cafe on ground floor..We were initially allocated a ground (first) floor room in seperate ' Beach St ' block which resembled a dungeon with windows at knee level to people walking along North Point St a few yards away..I immedietely complained and we were re allocated to a third floor room overlooking Jones St..The room was well appointed with a very comfortable king size bed and the location of the hotel is excellent..Travelling with Virgin Holidays parking in underground car park was 16$ per night but everyone else was paying 42$ !!!!....Overall super location, hotel very clean and staff helpful but try for a room in main building or a high floor in Beach St annexe otherwise you could be disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbYorkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,878 - 2,884 of 3,829 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

This was our second visit to this hotel. Its in a great spot at Fishermans Wharf with easy access by car for getting out and abouut rather than being in the heart of downtown.

Our room was in the beach street annex. Although still a good standard room and the inclusion of a second lobby and concierge tries to make it feel part of the main hotel it doesn't quite work. Its a stroll across the street to the main hotel and its restaurant, pool and shop. You can't help but feel like the poor relations particularly as the annex has a Denny's in the entrance way and is adjacent to the Holiday Inn Express. You sort of feel thats the standard of where you are staying. We should probably have complained but once unpacked it was too much trouble to think about moving again. But I think we would think twice about returning as a result.

The hotel really is the best location though for anyone wanting to spend signficant time aound the Fishermans Wharf area. Right in the heart of the the main attractions with Pier 39 a short stroll and both the Hyde and Mason st cable cars very close.

So, in summary, highly recommended but only if you ensure you are in the main building.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halesowen_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

In January I booked with e bookers to stay 3 nights at Holiday Inn San Francisco in September. The Cost about $680. The booking page showed a best price guarantee without conditions. I booked but now find that the same hotel room is $408 for 3 nights with various providers. I complained to e bookers who hid behind non cancellation policy and the small print re price guarantee. They blame the hotel, the hotel blames e bookers and says it regularly receives such complaints. Both claim the other is responsible for the non cancellation policy and both say the other sets the price. I am aware the hotel received $639 ie $231 more than they are now selling the room for. Both parties and intercontinental Hotels Guest Services are unhelpful and shift the blame to each other. I accept that prices can rise, but by such an amount is a total 'rip off' . I will certainly never use e bookers again and am now preparing for my first and last stay in a Holiday Inn

Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank flyfisher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We arrived at 8pm after our long journey from the UK,check in was swift & very friendly,the room was large,clean & well equipped,we dined on our first night downstairs in the Bristol Bar & Grill,service,food quality & prices were very good,we found the hotel to be very handy for all attractions,our only gripes would be with the traffic noise,the windows are not double glazed,the traffic is pretty well a permanent feature & is rather obtrusive,the other thing was that the bedroom windows only have net curtains meaning that people can see in when you have your lights on,a starnge idea we thought!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a1snaefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Great location to the warf and public transportation. Room was ready at noon when we arrived. Large and very clean room,3 PC;s on the 5th floor with printers. Great staff helpinf with directions and sites to see. Excellent choiceto use as a base to visit the city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommygunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Booked this hotel through Hotwire. Was excited about all of the good reviews. Overall the hotel was a very good one. I was not happy with the 45 dollar car parking fee. Researching other hotels, I found that they charged around 30 - 35 dollars. The rooms were clean and the beds where very comfortable. I enjoyed using the free Internet. I wasn't to happy with the noise that came from the street. It seemed as though many of the delivery trucks delivered around 11- 12 p.m. Close to the sites and down the street was a great breakfast place. They claim to have the best waffles in the country.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I've stayed at The Fisherman's Wharf Holiday Inn 4 times now and i'd rate it as one of the best Holiday Inns i've used. The hotel is located at the Fisherman's Wharf end of Columbus Avenue in San Francisco's North Beach area. The Wharf itself is a few hundred yards away but the main appeal for me is the North Beach area itself, restaurants, bars and a great atmosphere. I've always been upgraded to the business Level at the hotel, the rooms are large, airy, well furnished and clean. Service is excellent, the reception staff are helpful and friendly. I can recommend this hotel both for quality and location.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
2,277 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
4,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £115 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing