We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable and close to attractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #93 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bourbon, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable and close to attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed at the HI Fisherman's Wharf on our trip to San Francisco. I had read some negative reviews and was a little leary but by worries were set aside as soon as we set foot into our room. The room was clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable and they offered different types of pillows (firm, soft, etc) to meet everybody's needs. Like at most hotels, if people are unable to walk down the hallways quietly, you will hear them. However, we didn't have any noise issues late at night.

We really appreciated the proximity of the hotel to all of the local attractions. Because we were so close to everything, we could easily access activities by foot which helped to save on parking fees. Parking is expensive in San Francisco, including parking at the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to spend time at Fisherman's Wharf!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnl10221982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    1,614
    868
    254
    143
See reviews for
1,102
1,277
101
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed here for two nights in March. We were placed in the annex which was very comfortable. The rooms were very clean. The parking was $30 a day which was steep. The location is right in the centre of Fisherman's Wharf but unfortunately there were lots of paranoid/homeless/beggers around here which was unsettling. There was a very minimal police presence.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNephew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

My wife, daughter and myself stayed here mar 8-12 and all I can say is Comfortable. When we first arrived here was kind of skeptical but was totally wrong about this place. The rooms are very comfortable and large. We had a view from our window of the wharf and everything is centrally located here. You are with a few blocks of gharadelli square and a short walk from pier 39. The beds in this hotel are awesome and had good sleep all the nights that we stayed there. The staff at the fron desk was very nice and someone was always there. There is a Denny's located right in the building and plenty of other restaurants all around for your choosing. There is a Hooters restaurant right around the corner from the hotel but not a very good place to eat. You also have plenty of places to rent bikes to travel around town and this hotel is like 6 miles from the Golden Gate Bridge. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The views are breathtaking. I would stay here again b/c the staff make you feel like family.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danabsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

Excellent location. Lots of tours closeby. Excellent staff. Parking is $39, but easy to find free spots at night time.
Beds are really comfy and room layout is nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pathfinderfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malorini
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

I stay at the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf every time I go up to San Francisco it's a great hotel! It's in the best location, you can go to Ghiradelli Square, The Marina, The Wharf, The Cable cars are right there and everything is in walking distance its PERFECT! This hotel is amazing I will stay there EVERYTIME!

Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank malorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in Orlando
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

The Holiday Inn is situated ideally for Fishermans Wharf, but it is easy to go to other areas of San Francisco using public transport. I checked in with no problems, and was placed in a nice room on the fourth floor overlooking Columbus Avenue.
I stayed for four nights starting Saturday 27th Feb, it was noisy Saturday night till about midnight, but for the rest of my stay it was quiet.
The room was cleaned to a good standard each day and I checked out with no problems.
You can purchase a three day MUNI pass for $20 which entitles you to use trams, buses and cable cars for three calendar days. The cable cars are very busy so you may have to wait an average of thirty minutes for your ride, but it's a good experience you won't want to miss.
The larger bars/restaurants have happy hour drinks at reduced prices from about 3 till 7, we liked Castalagno's which is near to the Holiday Inn. Beers are $5 during this time, with well drinks (Vodka and Orange for example) $4.
Eating is not cheap, an average main course is about $25, but you are at Fishermans Wharf which is a tourist trap.
To summarise, I was happy with the Holiday Inn and it's locality.
Eating and drinking is not cheap, but you have the option to go elsewhere if u choose to do so.
Please feel free to ask any questions.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamuBritinOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

I like to give an impartial review so its fair to say that if you are lucky enough not to lose possessions in this hotel, you will probably have a satisfactory stay. Funnily enough I was going to write a positive review until I experienced post-visit issues.

My 'terrible' overall rating refers to the customer service received, a chain is no stronger than its weakest link and here the weak link is poor service.

The bad experience was leaving behind our camera in the room, with all our travel photos. Priceless pictures. You would at least think you might get an acknowledgement from management that they had looked for it.

From our next destination we phoned 3 times and left messages, tried to get transferred to mgmt, got cut off, rang out..Also spoke to 'guest services' who said they would speak with the hotel and ask them to contact us (they havent one week later)..tried email.. three emails later.. no response at all !

Disgraceful service for such a big brand, I cant believe senior mgmt would want this as a reflection of their concern for customers. The website phone contact directs you to a call centre (unhelpful). The email is a form, no way of directly getting in touch. At the end of the day a hotel gets a review based on the full experience, Holiday Inn are cutting corners so they get a terrible rating here in my opinion.

Very very disappointing. Where is the camera? come on management how do we get in touch ?!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveGoodCustServ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
No photo provided
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#55 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,961 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing