We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with good location for Fishermans Wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #86 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Part of our holiday consisted of four nights at the Holiday Inn, Fishermans Wharf. The hotel is ok and functional for our needs but is in need of some updating. It does not follow suit of some other Holiday Inn's in other parts of the world. Our room was a decent size with a comfortable beds but just lacked some inviting modern furnishings.

The hotel reception staff were quite helpful and assisted us in printing off some emailed material for us. We did encounter some night time noise from the occupants in the room above. Due to a disrupted nights sleep and the possibility of more, we mentioned this to reception but were advised they could do nothing but move us!! We only had one night left so decided to stick with our room. It does seem that the area becomes a party town on the weekends which is fun to experience but may impact on you if you are wanting a relaxing quiet stay.

The location is good for Fishermans Wharf, the piers and nearby activities, and other tourist attractions. It is possible to explore further afield on foot (which may involve some of those hills!!) ie walking to China Town, Union Square etc, but it does take considerable time and not for the less active person! A good option is to use the open top hop-on hop-off bus 2 day bus tour which has a couple of stops near to the hotel. This makes exploring the entire area, inc Golden Gate bridge very accessible, interesting and easy.

** Top tip for breakfast is the nearby Beach street Grill/Cafe ** It is only streets away and does not not anything special from the outside but it is pure indulgence for a fab breakfast and an extensive menu. The staff are so amazingly friendly and chatty but not too intrusive. Constant coffee top ups too, with 'Peets coffee' which we discovered is just the best! The cafe was used by locals and had a nice relaxing atmosphere. You must give it a try!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWEnglandTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,871 - 2,877 of 3,921 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2010

I stayed here and it was a very pleasant hotel. I just want to advise others who are doing a train trip around the US not to be afraid of using public transport. I caught the street car from fisherman wharf to the BART where I caught a train to West Oakland CA and bus to the approx 100 metres from the train station. Admittedly West Oakland isn't the best area but if you make that trip during the day you can save a few dollars. All up, it cost something like $3.50 instead of a $40-$50 taxi ride. Well worth it and I was solo female travelling alone.

As for the hotel, it was well placed, easy location for cable cars, street cars or walking distance. Rooms were excellent, quiet. I didnt use the restaurant but they're having to compete with excellent eateries outside the hotel. You're spoilt for choice especially if you want seafood chowder...excellent!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monday161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

This is a good value and great location. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the location was excellent. The only issue I had was that my husband and I were traveling on our anniversary and the hotel was not able to get us a King bed. So we had a room with two doubles - not very romantic. One night I awoke to my husband sleeping in the other bed...it's our anniversary and we're sleeping in separate beds! But other than that, I think it's a good value and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chercaruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The rooms are spacious, extremely clean and the most comfortable beds. Great location as well, right text to the trolley stop but just back from the Wharf to be quiet at night. Helpful friendly staff. We stayed in the Beach Building across the road from the main hotel with a Denny's in the lobby which was great for that morning cup of tea to take away.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wegrzyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2010

Your comments has been shared with the Staff and Management of the hotel. We greatly appreciate your kind review of the hotel.

Again, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Stayed three night (free courtesy of Priority Club points). Wouldn't usually stay here because room rates were expensive but since it was free, we though 'value for money' was excellent. The location was perfect being very close to Fisherman's Wharf. Room was spacious for a large city. Had to pay extra for a car park space..

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieGregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2010

Your review of the hotel has been shared with the Staff and Management. WE appreciate you choosing the Holday Inn Fisherman's Wharf and giving us the opportunity to be at your service while in San Frnacisco.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

A reasonable hotel. Clean with comfortable beds. Restaurant OK but betters ones if you take a walk towards Pier 39.

If you want Pier 39 and the events around it and not able to walk to far this is not the hotel for you unless you want to keep shelling out for cab fares. We had my mother with us and as she could not walk far we had to get a cab if we wanted to go to Pier 39.

Booked a local sight seeing trip but they would not go any where near the hotel. Reason unknown.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We toured for 3 weeks and stayed in 8 different hotels. This being the biggest 'Named' hotel, but was very average. Family rooms on ground floor with no view for the Kids, other than the bar. Good thing: had a safe in the room. Very good location for Trams and Pier 39.
Recommend for location. But not for families.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 231 in San Francisco
4,275 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 231 in San Francisco
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
#28 of 231 in San Francisco
430 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £119 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing