We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #75 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Had 3 nights in a corner room on 22nd floor. Amazing views watching Alcatraz with the sun setting and rising. Good room facilities including safe and fridge. Enjoyed the local restaurants, free wifi and location. Clean and a lovely ending to our stay in San Fran.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 30Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

We sure appreciate your comments here. You are right out the local restaurants. Polk Street gives us so many great choices within walking distance. Please choose our hotel again on your next visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here on a tour with 45 other people and we all liked it a lot.

PROS:
- Close to restaurants, public transport.
- Lovely staff and very, very helpful.
- Clean rooms with comfortable beds.

CONS:
- They only had one 1 washing machine and 1 dryer which made it quite difficult to wash clothes when your sharing with the rest of the hotel.
- They only supplied us with one room key for each room which made it difficult and inconvenient.
- You could only order room service from 5pm-10pm (around there) which was a bit annoying when wanting a midnight snack and room service not being open.

I would definitely stay here again when I come back to San Francisco. I recommend getting a room from the 9th floor up to get a better view. (The rooms start from level 5)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Helpful staff and clean, comfortable rooms make such a big difference. I'm a little surprised with the key issue. We can make as many keys as you need and should have provided 2 upon checkin. I will be sure to follow up on this. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The lobby was cold and lighting was dim. The restaurant was in a meeting room, the servers were not friendly, overpriced Buffett. The rooms were nice, even on the 9th floor you could hear traffic. Beds were ok, pillows stunk. They had a lot of renovations in progress.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

While not the ideal location, our meeting room is being used until we finish with the new restaurant. It promises to be so much better that our old one. I'm very excited for this transition. Thank you for giving us a chance. I hope our improvements earn a second visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Nice location for walks around San Francisco. The rest is fairly bad.....rooms outdated....breakfast staff jaded and complaining about hotel management ...menu overpriced.

it was my daughters birthday and we were promised a cake ......it never arrived and when I emailed the manager I havent heard back to date!!

You should rather choose the HI at Fisherman's Wharf

Room Tip: Dont get a room with an adjoining room --- we had noisy neighbours and could hear them...even in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 291Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Clearly issues among staff should be handled behind the scenes. Although I don't understand the concerns with the rooms since we just finished a full renovation on them. I will most certainly follow up with the managers to find out why you haven't heard back. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times. It has always been good. We had two rooms in this hotel in January 2014. The hotel has been refurbished, and is very nice. The service, from room maids, front desk, restaurant are excellent -- extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is less than half a block from a cable car, and a block, and is on a city bus line. The hotel is easy walking distance from civic center. This is our favorite place to stay in San Francisco

Stayed: January 2014
Thank rdavisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

I love the fact that so many departments have made positive impression. Between the service and the location, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in the summer, very pleasant stay. Perfect what we needed. Good location, with trolleys and buses right by the hotel. Bought our travel pass in the hotel shop so was already to go when leaving the hotel. Stayed in many hotels this summer, and the staff here we'e not as friendly as others. Don't particularly like lifts, if honest hate them. Every hotel we stayed at, or ever stayed always have a set of stairs we can use. One of receptionist was not accommodating at all, stated there was only the lift. A very nice gentleman, stated we could use them but make sure you close the door properly when you come down. The rooms were lovely and spotless. Very very comfortable bed, was massive!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

It's great to hear that our location and convenient transportation option make it perfect for you. I'm not so happy to hear about the stair problem. All guests are welcome to use them. Unfortunately, the lowest guest rooms begin above the garage on the 6th floor and go all the way to 26. Just because they are mostly used as emergency exits doesn't mean that we shouldn't graciously open them to our guests. Thank you for the insight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Big concrete box affair, I would never have booked this hotel but my manager at work wanted to save money and I got booked into this place against my will. Not a good start to a hotel stay and obviously it makes me even more biased against the Holiday Inn, but nothing in my stay here caused me to change my opinion, which is to avoid this chain like the plague

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachloverfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

While most hotels in the city are tall boxes, I wish we had more information about your visit. Usually people book our hotel because it provides a great value. I hope that proves the case for you in the future. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
1,045 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
4,044 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £78 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing