We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #76 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An average stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The location was very convenient and a trolley stop was just around the corner. The hotel itself was clean despite having renovations being carried out in the lobby. Check-in and out were both quick and efficient. Staff were all friendly and polite, very nice to deal with. The room itself was nicely furnished and was decently sized. The negatives are that the walls really are very thin, we could hear almost everything that was going on in the rooms around us and our room was very dusty even when we first checked in - on the tv, on the night stand, lots of dust everywhere. Also, the toilet was very tightly crammed between the sink and bathtub so hard to manouvre around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 604bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for recognizing the cleanliness even during a renovation. As you noted, the guest rooms are already done. We are now just finishing the final details on the new restaurant and lobby. Interestingly enough, we have been able to create the new space without impeding or disrupting the current Front Desk. It’s going to be an exciting month around here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    831
    420
    105
    63
See reviews for
440
605
124
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

First off good location with lots of eating out options available around. Good standard rooms and enjoyed two nights quality sleep. However, facilities were poor with refurbishment taking place. Only a converted conference room to eat and drink in after long days sightseeing. We know this is perhaps unavoidable but no apologies or explanation made by staff. We enjoyed visiting this city but let down by our overall accommodation experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurdworthColt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I am happy that you enjoyed the guest rooms, and got a good night’s sleep. You’re right about the great location. We have so many choices for restaurants near the hotel. I can understand that the ballroom was not quite what you expected. Although when I remember the old restaurant and what it is about to become, the temporary location is worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived in San Francisco straight from a long 11hour flight from Heathrow. The taxi ride was about 20 minutes in quite heavy traffic. The hotel staff were friendly and answered all our questions and our rooms were situated next door to each other as requested. Clean and spacious rooms with all requirements met, even a safe which you didn't need to pay for or put down any deposit on. Our views were amazing and the hotel is situated in a great location, main road with many bars and restaurants in the road behind ours. Taxi rides to various locations were rarely more than $15.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Now that’s a review worth celebrating! Thank you for choosing us on your visit half-way around the world. I trust your return travels were just as safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
253 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Average Holiday Inn, pretty much aligned to the US standard. Basic breakfast, no frills.

Good bed but terrible sound proof from the windows, could hear traffic and steet noise 24/7 and had to use ear buds to catch some sleep.

It is at 10-15min walking distance from Union Square and O'Farrell St so good location though you will find a huge amount of homeless people in the streets near by. Maybe it is just the whole San Francisco these days like this :-(

Room Tip: try a room not facing the main street, it may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
San Francisco has quite a few programs to support those people down on their luck. Combine that with great weather most of the time and, well, folks are living on the street. That’s one big difference between urban and rural areas. Another is the noise. Fortunately, our city is quite safe. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The room was very clean and staff were excellent, We would stay again.The trolley stop was right outside. It is close to most attractions, We were unable to get tickets to go to Alcatraz as it was sold out. Get your tickets early. Fisherman's wharf was nice, Two days was not enough time.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRZ110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Your note about Alcatraz tickets is quite true. Those tickets sell out early. It’s worth noting that the tour company saves about 50 tickets to sell each morning down at their pier. However, you have to be down there very early to stand any chance of getting them. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As this was our very first trip to America, we were quite worried! We needn't have been! We had a lovely big room on the 18th floor. The panoramic windows make it very bright. The beds were so comfortable, also a lovely bathroom. The barman in the lounge bar was so friendly and gave us lots of good tips on what to do, The location was excellent, as it's very close to the cable cars or tram buses. The lady in the shop helped us with which trams etc to catch to all the various things we wanted to do. There were lots of nice little restaurants within walking distance for the evenings. Very helpful staff on reception, very clean room and an excellent experience for our 4 nights.

Room Tip: 18th floor suited us. No traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jax002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
What a fantastic experience! Thank you for taking the time to write about it. I can’t wait to tell the bartender and concierge about your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Got a good price for a weekend stay including breakfast. Check-in was quick, although the reception area was always crammed with people. Got a renovated room on the 25th floor with nice views to the west. The room was a bit small, had two queen beds, a long desk along the panoramic windows, flatscreen tv, old noisy AC and a fridge. Bathroom felt a bit old, but everything was very clean.

Reception and common areas are a bit outdated. Buffet breakfast was served in a convention-hall, plenty to choose from and big variety of hot foods - scrambed eggs, pancakes, sausage etc. Pleasant and personal service.

Parking is a robbery at $40 a night! There are a couple of garages in the surrounding area where you can park for $10-15 all day. Night-time street parking is free and we had no problems finding a spot close to the hotel.

The hotel is conveniently located right next to the end of the California tram line and within walking distance to Noob hill.

Room Tip: High floor, renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halvklart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
I’m glad you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms, and how well Housekeeping is caring for them. The reception, restaurant, and common areas will be just as nice in a few short weeks. We couldn’t be more excited about our renovation and the reaction we’re getting from guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#120 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing