We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,075)
Filter reviews
2,076 results
Traveller rating
473
949
466
111
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
949
466
111
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvan nesscable carpolk streetaround the cornercalifornia linecalifornia stoutdoor poolfisherman's wharfcorner roompublic transportmuni passhigh floorday passgreat view of the cityunion squarestayed here for nightsgolden gate
Filter
Updating list...
846 - 851 of 2,076 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We also stayed here as part or the western discovery tour as offered by Virgin /ATI
We had a room at the far end of the corridor which had no noise from the lift, but with very slight traffic noise which was hardly noticeable. The room layout had very convenient sockets for recharging mobiles/ cameras plus a very we'll sized room safe hidden in the lowest draw which was much appreciated.
However, the room info book does not give any breakfast info or offer room service except for local delis which were not open until after 8am. We went downstairs and asked about breakfast
and we're told that it was available we were seated but I went up to the lady who was the greeter
to say that I only wanted a small cooked breakfast and two teas, half way through explaining this
to the lady concerned she rudely walked past me to my partner who does not eat breakfast and
and tried to talk to my partner I rejoined and finally after consultation we were offered a small cooked breakfast of eggs and toast at two teas. The bill for this was 20.5 dollars.
I later complained to one of the staff in the foyer who turned out to be in sales, she said said that she would report the natter to her superior but dud say that because of refurbishment they did
not offer room service. My question is why does the guest have to pay extra because it this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Our Room Service is only offered during dinner hours. Breakfast, while not inexpensive, has not changed price based on renovation or location of the restaurant. In fact, it is Room Service that is slightly more expensive due to service delivery charges. However, I am most concerned about the service you received during breakfast and that will be discussed within our team. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while on western discovery tour. Although there was no restaurant at the hotel due to refurbishment, and a makeshift bar, we enjoyed it here. You had to walk down 2 flights of stairs to get there. There are plenty of places close by to eat at. We would deffo rate the star hot bagels around the corner for breakfast. Good value too. There was no working fan in our bathroom so it soon filled with steam. Room was clean had 1 huge bed with good bedding and towels and nice toiletries. we had a safe in the room, which is always a plus. We were in room 808 which was next to the elevator, we could here it going up and down but we were so shattered after all our touring that we slept through it. Nice to have a room with a view. our favourite room on this tour.Wifi ok.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VeronicaStokeontrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are pleased to be an important stop on Western Discover’s tour. You mentioned the bar location and bathroom fan. Our restaurant and bar are currently located on the lower lobby and the elevator will take you there is you prefer to avoid the stairs. The fan is a passive style with a large fan on the roof that pulls the air up, rather than a fan in each room that pushes the air. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The location was very convenient and a trolley stop was just around the corner. The hotel itself was clean despite having renovations being carried out in the lobby. Check-in and out were both quick and efficient. Staff were all friendly and polite, very nice to deal with. The room itself was nicely furnished and was decently sized. The negatives are that the walls really are very thin, we could hear almost everything that was going on in the rooms around us and our room was very dusty even when we first checked in - on the tv, on the night stand, lots of dust everywhere. Also, the toilet was very tightly crammed between the sink and bathtub so hard to manouvre around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 604bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for recognizing the cleanliness even during a renovation. As you noted, the guest rooms are already done. We are now just finishing the final details on the new restaurant and lobby. Interestingly enough, we have been able to create the new space without impeding or disrupting the current Front Desk. It’s going to be an exciting month around here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

First off good location with lots of eating out options available around. Good standard rooms and enjoyed two nights quality sleep. However, facilities were poor with refurbishment taking place. Only a converted conference room to eat and drink in after long days sightseeing. We know this is perhaps unavoidable but no apologies or explanation made by staff. We enjoyed visiting this city but let down by our overall accommodation experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurdworthColt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I am happy that you enjoyed the guest rooms, and got a good night’s sleep. You’re right about the great location. We have so many choices for restaurants near the hotel. I can understand that the ballroom was not quite what you expected. Although when I remember the old restaurant and what it is about to become, the temporary location is worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived in San Francisco straight from a long 11hour flight from Heathrow. The taxi ride was about 20 minutes in quite heavy traffic. The hotel staff were friendly and answered all our questions and our rooms were situated next door to each other as requested. Clean and spacious rooms with all requirements met, even a safe which you didn't need to pay for or put down any deposit on. Our views were amazing and the hotel is situated in a great location, main road with many bars and restaurants in the road behind ours. Taxi rides to various locations were rarely more than $15.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Now that’s a review worth celebrating! Thank you for choosing us on your visit half-way around the world. I trust your return travels were just as safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews