We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,077)
Filter reviews
2,078 results
Traveller rating
474
950
466
111
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
950
466
111
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvan nesscable carpolk streetaround the cornercalifornia linecalifornia stoutdoor poolfisherman's wharfcorner roompublic transportmuni passhigh floorday passgreat view of the cityunion squarestayed here for nightsgolden gate
Filter
Updating list...
846 - 851 of 2,078 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

There are lots of can passing noises and people talking or laughing from outside of the roads that you will hear in the room even though I stayed in 12 floor. So if you have shallow sleep, it's highly possible that you will be annoyed by all those sounds. However, staff is nice helpful. There are buses stop near by and couples of restaurants just around the corner. The neighbourhood is quite safe. Wholefood and Trader Joe's are just few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

A helpful and friendly staff is critical in my opinion. We appreciate your business and your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for six nights in May. The room was a little small but very clean and well equipped.
The location was terrific as there was a cable car stop almost right at the door. Staff was knowledgable and helpful. All in all a great choice. We didn't find any inconvenience due to the renos , they were operating the restaurant out of a conference room, but the food was good. We only ate there once because there are way too many other options in the city anyway. They even supplied a list of nearby restaurants that were within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for the tremendous review. I agree with your comments about the local restaurants, cable car, and especially, the staff! Your welcome back here any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We also stayed here as part or the western discovery tour as offered by Virgin /ATI
We had a room at the far end of the corridor which had no noise from the lift, but with very slight traffic noise which was hardly noticeable. The room layout had very convenient sockets for recharging mobiles/ cameras plus a very we'll sized room safe hidden in the lowest draw which was much appreciated.
However, the room info book does not give any breakfast info or offer room service except for local delis which were not open until after 8am. We went downstairs and asked about breakfast
and we're told that it was available we were seated but I went up to the lady who was the greeter
to say that I only wanted a small cooked breakfast and two teas, half way through explaining this
to the lady concerned she rudely walked past me to my partner who does not eat breakfast and
and tried to talk to my partner I rejoined and finally after consultation we were offered a small cooked breakfast of eggs and toast at two teas. The bill for this was 20.5 dollars.
I later complained to one of the staff in the foyer who turned out to be in sales, she said said that she would report the natter to her superior but dud say that because of refurbishment they did
not offer room service. My question is why does the guest have to pay extra because it this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Our Room Service is only offered during dinner hours. Breakfast, while not inexpensive, has not changed price based on renovation or location of the restaurant. In fact, it is Room Service that is slightly more expensive due to service delivery charges. However, I am most concerned about the service you received during breakfast and that will be discussed within our team. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while on western discovery tour. Although there was no restaurant at the hotel due to refurbishment, and a makeshift bar, we enjoyed it here. You had to walk down 2 flights of stairs to get there. There are plenty of places close by to eat at. We would deffo rate the star hot bagels around the corner for breakfast. Good value too. There was no working fan in our bathroom so it soon filled with steam. Room was clean had 1 huge bed with good bedding and towels and nice toiletries. we had a safe in the room, which is always a plus. We were in room 808 which was next to the elevator, we could here it going up and down but we were so shattered after all our touring that we slept through it. Nice to have a room with a view. our favourite room on this tour.Wifi ok.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VeronicaStokeontrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are pleased to be an important stop on Western Discover’s tour. You mentioned the bar location and bathroom fan. Our restaurant and bar are currently located on the lower lobby and the elevator will take you there is you prefer to avoid the stairs. The fan is a passive style with a large fan on the roof that pulls the air up, rather than a fan in each room that pushes the air. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The location was very convenient and a trolley stop was just around the corner. The hotel itself was clean despite having renovations being carried out in the lobby. Check-in and out were both quick and efficient. Staff were all friendly and polite, very nice to deal with. The room itself was nicely furnished and was decently sized. The negatives are that the walls really are very thin, we could hear almost everything that was going on in the rooms around us and our room was very dusty even when we first checked in - on the tv, on the night stand, lots of dust everywhere. Also, the toilet was very tightly crammed between the sink and bathtub so hard to manouvre around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 604bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for recognizing the cleanliness even during a renovation. As you noted, the guest rooms are already done. We are now just finishing the final details on the new restaurant and lobby. Interestingly enough, we have been able to create the new space without impeding or disrupting the current Front Desk. It’s going to be an exciting month around here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews