We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #74 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It was a nice stay in this hotel, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The cable car is down the corner. You can walk to union square, it's like 15 minutes walk. There is a street full of bar that is back in the hotel , so you can go there too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artur0Sanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
The local Polk Street is indeed a great recommendation for restaurants and bars. We even a have a Whole Foods and Trader Joes nearby! Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    857
    433
    106
    66
See reviews for
463
624
126
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Positive: staff, very friendly and helpful.
Negative: walls are paper thin, every step from the guy in the room above me I could hear. Not ideal for a hotel. Old aircon unit sounded like an industrial refrigerator. No room service after hours.

No I would not stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishmash010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We have created a list of late night dining suggestions for that very reason. For both delivery and takeout, the Front Desk has a handout that includes cuisine, phone number, and hours. Restaurants that close early did not make the list. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

There are lots of can passing noises and people talking or laughing from outside of the roads that you will hear in the room even though I stayed in 12 floor. So if you have shallow sleep, it's highly possible that you will be annoyed by all those sounds. However, staff is nice helpful. There are buses stop near by and couples of restaurants just around the corner. The neighbourhood is quite safe. Wholefood and Trader Joe's are just few minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
A helpful and friendly staff is critical in my opinion. We appreciate your business and your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mcmurray
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for six nights in May. The room was a little small but very clean and well equipped.
The location was terrific as there was a cable car stop almost right at the door. Staff was knowledgable and helpful. All in all a great choice. We didn't find any inconvenience due to the renos , they were operating the restaurant out of a conference room, but the food was good. We only ate there once because there are way too many other options in the city anyway. They even supplied a list of nearby restaurants that were within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for the tremendous review. I agree with your comments about the local restaurants, cable car, and especially, the staff! Your welcome back here any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We also stayed here as part or the western discovery tour as offered by Virgin /ATI
We had a room at the far end of the corridor which had no noise from the lift, but with very slight traffic noise which was hardly noticeable. The room layout had very convenient sockets for recharging mobiles/ cameras plus a very we'll sized room safe hidden in the lowest draw which was much appreciated.
However, the room info book does not give any breakfast info or offer room service except for local delis which were not open until after 8am. We went downstairs and asked about breakfast
and we're told that it was available we were seated but I went up to the lady who was the greeter
to say that I only wanted a small cooked breakfast and two teas, half way through explaining this
to the lady concerned she rudely walked past me to my partner who does not eat breakfast and
and tried to talk to my partner I rejoined and finally after consultation we were offered a small cooked breakfast of eggs and toast at two teas. The bill for this was 20.5 dollars.
I later complained to one of the staff in the foyer who turned out to be in sales, she said said that she would report the natter to her superior but dud say that because of refurbishment they did
not offer room service. My question is why does the guest have to pay extra because it this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Our Room Service is only offered during dinner hours. Breakfast, while not inexpensive, has not changed price based on renovation or location of the restaurant. In fact, it is Room Service that is slightly more expensive due to service delivery charges. However, I am most concerned about the service you received during breakfast and that will be discussed within our team. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on trent
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while on western discovery tour. Although there was no restaurant at the hotel due to refurbishment, and a makeshift bar, we enjoyed it here. You had to walk down 2 flights of stairs to get there. There are plenty of places close by to eat at. We would deffo rate the star hot bagels around the corner for breakfast. Good value too. There was no working fan in our bathroom so it soon filled with steam. Room was clean had 1 huge bed with good bedding and towels and nice toiletries. we had a safe in the room, which is always a plus. We were in room 808 which was next to the elevator, we could here it going up and down but we were so shattered after all our touring that we slept through it. Nice to have a room with a view. our favourite room on this tour.Wifi ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeronicaStokeontrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are pleased to be an important stop on Western Discover’s tour. You mentioned the bar location and bathroom fan. Our restaurant and bar are currently located on the lower lobby and the elevator will take you there is you prefer to avoid the stairs. The fan is a passive style with a large fan on the roof that pulls the air up, rather than a fan in each room that pushes the air. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The location was very convenient and a trolley stop was just around the corner. The hotel itself was clean despite having renovations being carried out in the lobby. Check-in and out were both quick and efficient. Staff were all friendly and polite, very nice to deal with. The room itself was nicely furnished and was decently sized. The negatives are that the walls really are very thin, we could hear almost everything that was going on in the rooms around us and our room was very dusty even when we first checked in - on the tv, on the night stand, lots of dust everywhere. Also, the toilet was very tightly crammed between the sink and bathtub so hard to manouvre around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 604bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for recognizing the cleanliness even during a renovation. As you noted, the guest rooms are already done. We are now just finishing the final details on the new restaurant and lobby. Interestingly enough, we have been able to create the new space without impeding or disrupting the current Front Desk. It’s going to be an exciting month around here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
1,017 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,655 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing