We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,104)
Filter reviews
2,104 results
Traveller rating
481
965
468
113
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
965
468
113
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews van ness cable car polk street around the corner california st outdoor pool corner room fisherman's wharf high floor public transport muni pass great view of the city union square stayed here for nights golden gate mini fridge hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
861 - 866 of 2,104 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I just stayed ten days at the hotel , the location is great, plenty of nice restaurants walking distance, you can get to fisher mans wharf in about thirty mins walk, my room was really nice, staff helpful. Laundry facilities were good, cost me 5$ to wash and dry my clothes, gym is adequate and pool looked nice! Weather wasn't warm enough to venture out. There is a lovely park ten mins away where I watched humming birds in the morning .

Room tip: Room 2020 is great, away from elevator and not facing van ness, so quiet most of the time and a generous size room.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

It sure sounds like you had a wonderful visit. I am pleased that we were a small part of your great experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived off a 13 hour flight to be told to go away and come back at three which was check in time, that's ok, we did and then were told to come back at 5. Not good enough!!!!! Complained to manager and we had our room in 5 minutes. Reception desk was so unhelpful and didn't care, manager was lovely. Hotel clean and rooms bright but you have to take transport everywhere. We walked to fisher,and wharf first day then back... Big walk!!

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VICKIGGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We are lucky that the cable car and buses pickup next to the hotel, making it easy to get around. Although I prefer to walk like you did. I’m concerned about the room situation you experienced. It sounds like we were struggling to get the type of room you requested. Clean rooms are often available, but matching those to the guest needs is the challenging part. I’m sorry that were kept waiting longer than you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very nice hotel in good location, on bus route, with easy access to Fishermans Wharf and the Piers, and close to the Tram Station. Very nice room, with 2 beds, and a fridge and safe in the room, always useful.

Room tip: We were on the 11th floor with choice of 5 lifts
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your memory of the visit. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and that transportation made access easy for the major attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is currently undergoing a renovation, but the accommodations they have made to make their guest's stay seamless are incredible. I would suggest if you are staying at this hotel request a room on a high floor even numbered that way you get the best view! Julia, the receptionist that checked us in was great, not really a talker, but she got us checked in quickly and efficiently. There was also a huge bus load of people checking in in front of us and all of the agents were moving as swift as gazelles! We will definitely return to this hotel the next time we visit San Fran!

Room tip: Ask for a high floor and an even room number for the best view of the city!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayinnexpress00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for sharing the name of someone who made a positive impact on your visit. She works hard and will be thrilled to hear that you remembered her efforts. Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It was a nice stay in this hotel, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The cable car is down the corner. You can walk to union square, it's like 15 minutes walk. There is a street full of bar that is back in the hotel , so you can go there too.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artur0Sanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

The local Polk Street is indeed a great recommendation for restaurants and bars. We even a have a Whole Foods and Trader Joes nearby! Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews