We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,090)
Filter reviews
2,090 results
Traveller rating
476
959
466
112
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
959
466
112
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews van ness cable car polk street around the corner california line california st outdoor pool corner room fisherman's wharf public transport high floor muni pass great view of the city union square stayed here for nights golden gate mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
845 - 850 of 2,090 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway on Van Ness and California recently. We were very surprised and impressed. The rate for the hotel was about $120 per night, which was the cheapest by far among the Holiday Inns in the city. The reason is that it is not in the middle of downtown, Fisherman's Wharf, etc. But the terminus of the California Street Cable car line is at the corner and from there you can transfer to the Bay Street or Hyde St. lines going to Fisherman's wharf or Ghiarardelli Square. It also drops you on Grant which is the main street in Chinatown From there you have an easy walk downhill to Union Square. The reason it is such a pleasant bargain is that you can take a cable car ride or a taxi to the places you want to go. Or you can pay another $80-$100 to stay at another Holiday Inn!
We stayed at midweek and the desk clerk was very kind to give us newly-refurbished room on a high floor overlooking downtown. The views in the morning and in late afternoon and evening were just splendid. The room was very comfortable, clean, and with great amenities. There was a wonderful breakfast buffet I would recommend. The hotel is one block from Polk Street and in the same block as the hotel, one street away was a nice range of ethnic restaurants (Thai, Indian, Greek, etc.) My wife thought the Greek Restaurant was one of the best in which she had ever eaten. In short, the price of the hotel, the quality of the rooms, the proximity to nice affordable restaurants, and underground parking at the hotel made the Holiday Inn Golden Gate a real winner for us. We look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: If you join Holiday Inn's frequent stayer plan in advance for free, then ask for a room on a high floor facing the city. If it is available, the front desk staff is quite helpful. Our agent offered the room to us. We were delighted with it. If you ask politely, you never know.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrJimJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

A winning combination! Thanks for the thorough review of the surrounding restaurants, transportation, and kind staff. You’re welcome here any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We just had a fantastic stay at this hotel, staff were lovely and helpful and the location was great with ease of walking everywhere or if you dont like hills, bus and cable car very closely located nearby :-) the best surprise was the gym which is brand new and really good for a hotel gym, containing dumbells up to 50lb and a duel cable pulley machine, a few benches along with plenty of cardio equipment. The wholefoods across the road was very convenient as well having spent a few weeks on the road its good to have these options! Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I love to hear comments about the helpful staff. With almost 500 rooms, it takes the entire team to provide quality service to everyone. Thank you for also noting our new fitness room. It’s a fantastic space overlooking the pool. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for family vacation for my birthday and Christmas . The hotel was very clean and spacious . Very closed to the everything. We will go back to stay there again.one block is the tram station. It's nice area and safe. We were happy to picked that hotel to stay with my family.

Room Tip: Anywhere has views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mymygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We love to help people celebrate, and we’re happy that you chose our hotel. Thank you for considering us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I have just spent a week here - our first experience of American hotels. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good service all round. Room good size, clean and very comfortable. Fabulous view across the city from our room. Location handy for the cable car stop, and easy to get into the centre by taxi. Had a fabulous week in the city by the bay - absolutely love the place, it's people and it's atmosphere. Hope to get back one day and will stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonethegroan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

It makes our day to hear that the staff were so gracious to you and you wife. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I just stayed ten days at the hotel , the location is great, plenty of nice restaurants walking distance, you can get to fisher mans wharf in about thirty mins walk, my room was really nice, staff helpful. Laundry facilities were good, cost me 5$ to wash and dry my clothes, gym is adequate and pool looked nice! Weather wasn't warm enough to venture out. There is a lovely park ten mins away where I watched humming birds in the morning .

Room Tip: Room 2020 is great, away from elevator and not facing van ness, so quiet most of the time and a generous size room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

It sure sounds like you had a wonderful visit. I am pleased that we were a small part of your great experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews