We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #77 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pleasant surprise on the location and upgrades of this hotel. Rooms are all modern, clean, had an excellent view from the 20th floor. No Noise. We were very happy to have the California street cable car next to the hotel as well as bus service right out front. Would definitely stay here again, Poke street is one block for bars and restaurants. Hotel provided maps, info and staff were very nice, far different from other hotels I've stayed at in SF.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellyLvBulTer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

I agree that it’s the friendly staff that can set a hotel apart from the others. Thank you for pointing out so many great benefits for staying here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,893)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

The location for this hotel was perfect. There is easy access to public transportation, and the store in the hotel can provide you with all the tickets necessary. The hotel has a nice feel, plenty of "definitely not free" parking, good restaurants, and helpful staff. The internet speed was about average, but varies depending on your room's location. I didn't use the workout facilities, so I can't speak to those.

My biggest complaint was how cramped the rooms felt. It may have just been my experience because I had a room right behind the elevator, which probably results in an abnormal layout. So take that for what it's worth.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Our rooms do vary in size according to how many beds are inside. Two bedded rooms are larger than king bedded rooms. Next time you visit, be sure to use the new workout room as it’s as good as any gym.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway on Van Ness and California recently. We were very surprised and impressed. The rate for the hotel was about $120 per night, which was the cheapest by far among the Holiday Inns in the city. The reason is that it is not in the middle of downtown, Fisherman's Wharf, etc. But the terminus of the California Street Cable car line is at the corner and from there you can transfer to the Bay Street or Hyde St. lines going to Fisherman's wharf or Ghiarardelli Square. It also drops you on Grant which is the main street in Chinatown From there you have an easy walk downhill to Union Square. The reason it is such a pleasant bargain is that you can take a cable car ride or a taxi to the places you want to go. Or you can pay another $80-$100 to stay at another Holiday Inn!
We stayed at midweek and the desk clerk was very kind to give us newly-refurbished room on a high floor overlooking downtown. The views in the morning and in late afternoon and evening were just splendid. The room was very comfortable, clean, and with great amenities. There was a wonderful breakfast buffet I would recommend. The hotel is one block from Polk Street and in the same block as the hotel, one street away was a nice range of ethnic restaurants (Thai, Indian, Greek, etc.) My wife thought the Greek Restaurant was one of the best in which she had ever eaten. In short, the price of the hotel, the quality of the rooms, the proximity to nice affordable restaurants, and underground parking at the hotel made the Holiday Inn Golden Gate a real winner for us. We look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: If you join Holiday Inn's frequent stayer plan in advance for free, then ask for a room on a hig...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrJimJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

A winning combination! Thanks for the thorough review of the surrounding restaurants, transportation, and kind staff. You’re welcome here any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We just had a fantastic stay at this hotel, staff were lovely and helpful and the location was great with ease of walking everywhere or if you dont like hills, bus and cable car very closely located nearby :-) the best surprise was the gym which is brand new and really good for a hotel gym, containing dumbells up to 50lb and a duel cable pulley machine, a few benches along with plenty of cardio equipment. The wholefoods across the road was very convenient as well having spent a few weeks on the road its good to have these options! Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I love to hear comments about the helpful staff. With almost 500 rooms, it takes the entire team to provide quality service to everyone. Thank you for also noting our new fitness room. It’s a fantastic space overlooking the pool. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for family vacation for my birthday and Christmas . The hotel was very clean and spacious . Very closed to the everything. We will go back to stay there again.one block is the tram station. It's nice area and safe. We were happy to picked that hotel to stay with my family.

Room Tip: Anywhere has views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mymygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We love to help people celebrate, and we’re happy that you chose our hotel. Thank you for considering us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I have just spent a week here - our first experience of American hotels. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good service all round. Room good size, clean and very comfortable. Fabulous view across the city from our room. Location handy for the cable car stop, and easy to get into the centre by taxi. Had a fabulous week in the city by the bay - absolutely love the place, it's people and it's atmosphere. Hope to get back one day and will stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonethegroan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

It makes our day to hear that the staff were so gracious to you and you wife. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I just stayed ten days at the hotel , the location is great, plenty of nice restaurants walking distance, you can get to fisher mans wharf in about thirty mins walk, my room was really nice, staff helpful. Laundry facilities were good, cost me 5$ to wash and dry my clothes, gym is adequate and pool looked nice! Weather wasn't warm enough to venture out. There is a lovely park ten mins away where I watched humming birds in the morning .

Room Tip: Room 2020 is great, away from elevator and not facing van ness, so quiet most of the time and a gene...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

It sure sounds like you had a wonderful visit. I am pleased that we were a small part of your great experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#105 of 230 in San Francisco
1,033 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,017 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#65 of 230 in San Francisco
4,778 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £109 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing